Metamask Warnings: Total Loss Or Total Lesson? The Takeaway

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

So I lost my wallet access last night. It wasn't the first time. When I created my metamask for the first time, I backed up my passkey, private key and seed phrase. About two weeks ago for some reason my password didn't work. Initially I panicked as this was the first time this had ever happened to me. I restored the wallet with my seed phrase and all was well. Then last night happened.

My computer had some critical error and decided to shut down. My metamask wallet again signed me out and the password wasn't working. After trying several times, a recovery was obviously needed. I went ahead and used my seed phrase as I did before but to my horror, new addresses began to populate. Short story long, my private key file was in a batch of files that were corrupted. What are the odds this? This would be one of the newest and most rare errors affecting 1% of 1% metamask users. I followed every help guide until I stumbled on the solution that I feared most. Start over, it's a total loss without the private key.

I could cite every article and third party support article that came to the very same conclusion, but what purpose would that serve? I lost 2 ether. Nearly $1,500 worth of crypto gone.

Takeaways, a warning, and the lesson learned.

First rookie mistake I made was not making a backup of the backup private key. I followed good practices and stored my private key in a password protected file just in case I ever needed it. Unfortunately I didn't do something more intelligent or layered like save an extra copy offline. If you haven't done this yet, go do it now.

Second rookie mistake was trusting Metamask. Sure I read the warnings, but never the horror stories of Metamask's inability to solve the persistent bugs even they create with updates. Even more alarming is the fact that there is no recourse for lost funds due to errors they create. Inasmuch as this is my fault for not backing up my private key, the strong argument(however misplaced) that metamask continues to tell everyone all you need to restore wallets is the seed phrase is blatantly irresponsible when their own efforts to recreate this error have been successful with bounty campaigns. Although the error is confirmed, and totally their fault, there will be no compensation for the losses incurred.

So, are my 2 ether forever gone a loss? No. There were things I could have and should have done to layer my protection from such outcomes. I should have created backups of the backups. On and offline of the seed phrase, private keys, and password. I feel this was a valuable lesson. I needed to tighten up on my crypto security and take responsible for my own shortcomings instead of throwing shade on Metamask with some lengthy rage article( They get a bunch of them according to one tech and they go something like this, "You lost all my money, you cus!"). This could have been much worse, I could have been naive enough to have 10 or more ether in this wallet and lost an even greater sum of crypto. This was eye opening enough that I will lay out a simple checklist to ensure this doesn't happen to anyone else.

  1. Backup everything

    • Wallet Password
    • Seed Phrase
    • Private Keys(FOR EACH ETHEREUM ADDRESS CREATED IN THAT METAMASK WALLET)
  2. Back them up again, and again. At least 3 times, and for sure 1 or 2 offline. Offline either print or write them down, regardless of how many copies you have on your hardware or were silly enough to email to yourself..

  3. Don't trust metamask or any other software wallet. If you haven't done so yet, or have been putting it off, repeat steps 1 and 2 for each and every wallet and 2fa application you use for crypto. Neglecting this can be very costly, as it was for me, but I think in the long run this lesson will have saved me a ton of money. Hopefully if this article reaches you, it won't happen to you, and a few minutes of your time reading will save you a ton of money.

Thanks for reading. If you enjoyed this article, please consider a resteem.

Sort:  

SCAM ALERT! I lost my Cryptokitty and some Ether because of MetaMask. Don't use MetaMask. Total SCAM!
8EDC3366-90D2-4825-A355-98CB30D35420.jpeg

I'm not in agreement it is an outright scam, but rather a rare error caused by new updates or something. I also pointed out the problem would have easily been solved by having my private keys backed up with more care and redundancies.

The more alarming problem is that users are being told that the seed phrase is ALL they need to regenerate their wallets. (Not true in some extremely rare cases.) Seed Phrase is not exclusive and private key is better. Couple this with total loss and no form of compensation and you have a real pickle. Scam is a bit strong.

I´ve been using Metamask for round about 4 weeks on three different browers / machines and each installtion doesn´t work properly. I have always to add my tokens / contractdress ... somehow it disapears by time and I don´t know why. I guess it has something to do with the fact, that it is a beta version. I ´ve heard, that only smarthone versions / etherwallet were exploited ...

I hear trust wallet is pretty good. I find that mobile apps are far more stable than any chrome extensions. There are so many things that can interfere with them and I've been reading about the occurrences ever since I had my problem with metamask.

I´ve have never tried a mobile alternative, but I will install one soon, because I want to "work" from everywhere. Wasn´t there a scam/exploit round about a week ago with trust wallet?

I feel your pain brother, I stopped using meta mask a while back as I lost some crypto. I only use desktop based and hardware wallets. Resteeming

Yeah I definitely need to get away from it. I have my private keys to my new wallet address now which you can use along with MEW to access your wallet should any problems occur with MM in the future. Save the private Keys, save the world. :)

Thank you for the heads up, I have been using MetaMask for a while now, without any issues. On another thought, I will print an extra backup.

Definitely wise!

Thank you for the heads up, I have been using MetaMask for a while now, without any issues. On another thought, I will print an extra backup.

I'm glad you found this painful lesson valuable and useful. #SaveTheETH campaign is in effect. :)

Congratulations @sku77-poprocks! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Damn man, so sorry to hear that.

Thanks for the safety reminders.

Ish Happens. We Move On :)

This is quite crazy to read.

Last week, I tried to get my crypto back from Metamask and I had the same thing happen to me. Glad to see i'm not the only one. I lost about $26 in crypto (probably more).

What happened to you is what happened to me also. I tried to transfer my ether from there to BTC but it was giving me the blues. I'm never using that wallet again, myself.

Yes it amazes me they have no solution or compensation. Reading the reddit post of the person who originally had this problem was just painfully agonizing.

Only use meta mask for stupid crypto kitties that I can’t sell! I feel for you though.

Yeah definitely feel you as well. Problem is these fads come and go. I wonder if the games are just a neat way to get people to use the wallets for dapps.

I think the idea behind crypto kitties was to expose more people to concept of blockchain.

Agreed, blockchain is still in the infancy stages. Will be amazing to see 5 years down the road.

hey, this post resteemed by @manikchandsk to over 7000 followers and voted. good luck
thanks for using our service.
send 0.300 sbd or steem to @manikchandsk and keep post link in memo that you want resteem + 60 upvote.
click for details..https://steemit.com/manikchandsk/@manikchandsk/post-resteem-upvote-service

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12