I Got a Speeding Ticket, and I'm going to pay it with Steem Backed Dollars!

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

So I got caught. A few days ago I was pulled over by the police on my way to the airport to pickup my wife!

He got me. 👮 🚔 I was going 58 mph in a 40 mph zone, or so he says. I wasn't really paying too much attention to my speed, so I didn't have much to argue with. Although, I did say, "I thought the speed limit here was 50?" He then told me, that even if the speed limit in this area was 50 mph, which it wasn't, then I would have still been speeding. Haha. I guess he's right.

He did give me a break and let me off pretty easy. He only wrote me a ticket saying that I was only going 5 mph over the speed limit. Which was 45 in a 40 mile per hour zone. So I guess I got lucky in that aspect. I'm sure that the ticket would have been a lot more than $125.00 if he had charged me with my actual speed.

fullsizeoutput_542.jpeg

I finally got the ticket out of my glove box today. I didn't really want to deal with it. I sat there in the front seat for a minute and my mind started wondering. I thought, "Wouldn't it be cool if I paid this ticket with Crypto!?" I mean, it really sucks to have to pay a ticket. That's a $125.00 that I could spend on something fun or take my wife to dinner with. Maybe I could have bought the kids a new toy. I would honestly rather spend that money anywhere instead of paying it to the city.

Hrmm, it would really suck less and be kind of fun if I made it a goal to pay this ticket in Steem Backed Dollars. Just to stick it to the man!

So I decided to make a post and have a bit of fun. What do you think? Should I stick it to the man?

Leave a vote, leave some comments, support the cause. Then in a few days I will make a follow up post. Showing how I converted SBD to USD and payed the court!

Thanks Friends!

-steemengines

steemengines_blue.png

Disclaimer: I have promoted this post with 45 SBD via Bidbots to increase visibility and curation rewards for my upvoters.

Sort:  

Crypto's, Lambo's and tickets .... it all goes together.

Im fully upvoting to help you pay cus I know that cheap feeling of getting a ticket.
Cheers !

Haha I like that Combo! Thanks for the support man, much appreciated.

I think, if it is wrong then accept the punishment. Although forced to pay a fine from an unconscious error.

It's good to take the positive side of this incident. By paying a ticket with cryptocurrency which will become the state income. I wish I had.

Thanks man. I have now accepted it. :) Keep working on it, you will get there. You are still early to the game.

Hahaha , Eric please a bit careful. 125$ Not at all
You want Pay SBD hahah , reaally ?

Lol yess, I thought it would be a neat idea. :)

Caught.
Red handed. Hahaha. Lol.
I'm glad you are okay. We should never compromise our life and you know what over speeding can do.

And yeah, paying the money out of pocket sucks, but that's the cost of breaking the law. In some states you can pay at the time the citation is issued, either by cash or credit card. Note for foreign visitors this is not a bribe; this money is paid to the state treasury and you get a receipt.

Thanks man. Lol yep. It probably was a good thing that I was forced to slow down... I was going a bit too fast. ;) It does suck, thats why I decided to have some fun with it. :)

I paid only once

You're lucky. haha It's actually been awhile since I got a ticket, I guess I was due.

Yes, police do not need to contact and drive the car carefully because he cared for both you and the people who were on the road.Upvote + restimed

You are right and that is a good way to look at it, he was just doing his job and looking out for the safety of everyone.

Thats been caught red handed.. like your hand got stuck in the cookie jar. Dont do that ñext time.. the same cop might catch you

I know... lol I have actually been more careful on the roads lately. I don't live in a large city, so there aren't too many police. If I do it again, it could be the same cop!

$125 is really huge man, nice idea to take your wife on a dinner, happy family time mate 😊
atleast your hatd work gets paid
..

I would honestly rather spend that money anywhere instead of paying it to the city.

man ,no one likes to pay city
when you know you can use that money anywhere else

Great update sir 125 seems thanks for share sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83