Crypto News - Byteball Does a Steem Airdrop Which Results in Chain Freeze!

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

My mates recently stumbled upon a pretty cool airdrop concept run by Byteball for Steem users. Basically they are or were offering free ByteBall tokens (bytes) for people who connected their Steem accounts. This interested me as I'm sure it interested many others and I decided to investigate this more deeply.

I learned much of what was there to be learned from this article posted on steem :

https://steemit.com/money/@furious-one/byteball-gives-all-steem-users-free-moneys-and-poloniex-opens-steem-wallets

The article was titled 'Byteball gives all Steem users free moneys and Poloniex opens STEEM wallets' and it seems that the offer was quite legit.

Byteballs, a neat crypto project, as many of you might already have heard, is giving away free bytes, up to $160 worth, to all Steem users. Your reward depends on your Steem reputation, additionally, you get half of the return immediately and the second half is locked up in a smart contract for a year.

What I really liked about their promotion was the fact that this airdrop was based on reputation rather than Steem power. This is way more progressive than other airdrops I've seen in the past. Admittedly I got to the promotion a bit late in the day after the post had already been running for over 10 hours. When I went through the process nothing happened!

It seems Steem users managed to crash their little bot and all the dumping that users intended to get into was prevented as Bittrex decided to shut down their Byteball deposits. The fact of the matter is that Byteball is still pretty cool for giving this airdrop a shot and I appreciate them wanting to connect the Steem community with their product.

What do you guys think about this airdrop? Interesting way of going about it eh? Let me know your thoughts!

Source:

https://steemit.com/money/@furious-one/byteball-gives-all-steem-users-free-moneys-and-poloniex-opens-steem-wallets

Sort:  

I think that the idea is pretty cool and it is clearly an honor also for the seem blockchain. The fact that the system has collapsed is tragic - from what I have understood this does however not really have to be a sign of missing scalability. At the moment there is not so many nodes - which is probably the problem. With more nodes the system should scale - at least that is what they claim.

I think in the end they have underestimated how many steemit accounts would participate. From my view this is most likely a result of historical airdrops to bitcoin holders. The main difference to those is however, that steeemit is also a social media platform - and people that are on steam are thus easily reachable - and like free money.

Let's see what happens - the chain freeze is obviously not a good sign - but hey: didn't we have one recently as well?

I agree with all of the points made here! You are right and I'll cut these guys some slack because they had the right idea they just under-estimated the sheer number of accounts and the viral nature of Steemit. We are a powerhouse in terms of numbers and when people see there's benefit for a little hard work they jump on the bandwagon. That's what Steemians do in general with their posts! Outstanding perspective, drop by anytime, your comments are appreciated!

Thank you for the feedback and let's hope that they get their act together quickly. It seems as if the problems result from them allowing to spend unconfirmed transactions - no clue why they did that or if that was a bug.

It crashing my window!!!!!
First time I feel the hangover of Byteball Airdrop circle in my PC...
OKKO4VVVWU3ZWMSJYD23J73SXLEOBXL3 is my address and please sent minimum bytes for registration friend.

The wallet is on maintenance. Bytes cannot ne sent for now

So, when maintenance over please sent me.
Thanks for info

@jibupune its working again!

Get Upvotes from 350 members!

Join Our Community now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11