I created an ERC20 token and "ICO" for my dad's birthday!

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

On the 8th of May my dad has his 59th birthday. He is very kind and supportive of everything I do. However, the best thing is that he is totally onboard with Crypto and Steemit.

The first time I have heard of cryptocurrencies was in April/May of 2017. I wanted to mine ETH but never actually purchase any mining hardware. Crypto went out of my radar and then in December when Bitcoin was skyrocketing I felt the urge to invest. On the 12th December I purchased my first Ethereum. I was quickly able to convince my parents to invest too… this did not turn out to be so great. We bought massive amounts near the all time high of Bitcoin and altcoins. Today our portfolio is at -50-55%.

Some parents would have reacted in a negative way but my parents and especially my dad still believe in crypto and even bought a little bit more when it was at $7000. My father never wanted to sell our holdings! You could say he is a HODLer himself.

When I started to post on Steemit he quickly became really excited and wanted to know how Steem works and what I’m doing. Now he even knows what witnesses are and he has read the Steemit FAQ. :D

When I release a new post on Steemit he quite often checks how many upvotes and comments it has. Reading all the comments under my posts, he once told me that I was a bit rude to one of my commentators…

WhatsApp Image 2018-05-07 at 20.51.40.jpeg


Such a awesome dad does not deserve a casual book as a birthday present! Don't you agree ?

I may be a little bit crazy but I created a token and an "ICO" for him!

The token is called Birthday Token or short BDAY. It is an ERC-20 token on the ETH mainnet. You can send it to someone you love as a symbolic birthday gift.

To be honest, I had no idea how to create a token or even an ICO by myself but I found two great tutorials:

These are both great in-depth tutorials by the same guy called Moritz Neto. I first did both of them on a Ethereum testnet and then did the one with the ICO on the Ethereum mainnet. I just had to do it on mainnet because a testnet is boring :DD

All in all I belive it took me a total of 2 hours but I basically did the tutorials 3 times in a row. I would highly recommend you to do it once on testnet because it is a great learning experience and after it you really know how an ICO or smart contract works.

However, if you want to do it on mainnet: DO NOT use too less gas for deploying your smart contract! I deployed it with a gas amount of 1000 000 so the transaction went through but it wasn’t enough to pay for the hole processing… I lost $30 because of it! Doing it all correctly it would cost you a total of $55.5 in gas.

If you want a Birthday Token for a friend’s or family member’s birthday or you just want to support my dad you can get 1 BDAY (token) for 0.01 ETH. :) This is the address for the Ethereum smart contract, the price is 100 token pro 1 ETH:

0x1Ef588811E1C69C448EcC551912741fe7A0E90A7

You can check out the contract here.

Note: All earnings from this post or the “ICO” will go directly to my father for his 59th birthday.

I hope you like my new token. We will see us on the moon soon :D

(Don’t forget to Resteem and Upvote if you liked it!)

Sort:  

This is so balla.

Thanks for the idea and the links. I hope to do something similar soon to accelerate my learning in the crypto space.

Any dad would be proud to have a son like you.
You are honestly something of a role model for me.

Great Dad, so young and already so involved in the crypto space. Also funny idea, good luck with your future endeavors.

Thanks man!

Note that the linked article says:
"First one is that the standard (and max) is 18 decimals, meaning that a coin can be splitted[sic] in 18 parts."

That's wrong. If there are 18 decimal places, each coin can be split into 1018 parts!

Let's see if the market cap of this coin gets to a million dollars or not. :)

there is no doubt about that :D

Amazing..i like this

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25