Cultivating an Auspicious Mind

in #cultivation6 years ago (edited)

A few months back I went to a talk from a visiting Buddhist teacher. The main thing that I took away from this talk was that the meditative or auspicious mindset is something that we train and work toward.

I have been thinking about this since that time in terms of my own mind and my own life.

This particular teacher used the metaphor of a Jungle. Our mind is a jungle which we navigate every day, in the jungle there are some well worn paths that we habitually use. The process of 'carving a new path' (a more auspicious, compassionate, or aligned path) takes strain and effort at first, but eventually it becomes well used and very natural to move through. Similarly the old habits and paths we want to discontinue eventually grow over with vegetation, and we have no desire to go back there anymore.

pexels-photo-596891.jpeg
image source

It could be a simple thing like choosing to not use any plastic bags, or buying a re-usable coffee cup. A small mental shift, yet it has permanently altered the mode of operating to something that makes more sense and aligns with our real values.

The jungle metaphor seems like an immensely helpful way to look at the mind, and how we can cultivate an internal state that we want to be in. It is true that you can cultivate a state of mind which allows you to live an auspicious life of joy and abundance, FACT. We just need to firmly make that decision and stick by it.

Following the teachings of the no-dual master Mooji I have been developing an attitude of disregarding a lot of my thoughts, the ones that are not auspicious. This has been very helpful. However I think in terms of establishing ourselves in the world, manifesting, and doing our part to create the new earth then we need to use our minds in effective ways. So as well as doing that practice of 'emptying out' or 'not giving the attention to the mind', I am now also working to implement my ideal mind state by practicing it and embodying it as much I can.

pexels-photo-257840.jpeg
image source

With anything in life, we can change and grow and develop. Life gives us so many poignant metaphors for how we can cultivate ourselves and our minds. We need look no further than the natural world to see limitless examples of how things can work in a natural harmony which is continually self balancing and creating ever greater diversity and abundance. Do we want that for our own lives and our own minds? Hell yeah we do, so why not aim for that and see how far we can get.

I find that being clear about what I want is very important. I can let that guide which thoughts and internal states I give my attention to, and I can also let that guide my decision making. Surprisingly when we are quite clear about what we want, and we back that up with some integrity in how we move through the world - then life will often meet us with those things we have decided on.

I have found this process to happen quite dramatically with many things in my life, the most recent being my transition onto Steemit. I have had a vague sense for many years of my dissatisfaction with our economic system, and just how unhappy we become living in cities and obligated to jobs. Our freedom to directly do things that make a difference is so much limited by our financial obligations! Our precious time and motivation get wasted. I have been yearning for people who also think this, and better yet are working toward creating lives and communities that work outside that paradigm in beautiful ways.

pexels-photo-206650.jpeg
image source

So you can say I was in for a pleasant surprise when I came to Steemit and started reading the great content by so many creators here. It blew me away, and I have also been blown away with how kind people are in showing me the ropes. I have recently been brought into an amazing community abundance generator called TribeSteemup, and for that I am truly grateful. All of the creators within the tribe are making exceptional content, which is pushing forward highly auspicious and well aligned mindsets. With this kind of information being made available - it creates opportunities for other minds to come to this place.

If we haven't yet seen examples of a thing, it's harder to become that thing. That is not to say that it wont happen, but it might be a while to just happen spontaneously or by willpower. So when we look into our Steemit feed and see information which promote abundance, sharing, and creating a sustainable world - then that is an auspicious climate for our own minds to grow in.

Where my mind is at currently, is that the mindsets of communal abundance and sustainable living will become the dominant paradigm. They have to, there's no two ways about it. The dissatisfaction is becoming so high, and the evidence of the unsustainability and mass deception is becoming too obvious.

pexels-photo-1089438.jpeg
image source

So the best quality information becomes the crucial thing, allowing people to change their own minds and their lives. If you are creating this information that liberates and inspires then you are doing exactly what you need to be doing on planet earth right now. I guess it's just a matter of sharing this information, and finding ways to do this effectively.

I know that not everyone is on Steemit, and not everyone is likely to respond well to some of these radical ideas. That doesn't diminish the fact that we can grow strong and stable in our convictions surrounded by like minds. And with that steady base we can venture out into other places. Personally I plan to start using Facebook a lot more to promote this platform. I did that a little bit when I first shifted, and was met with some resistance. I think that now; with a better idea of what is going on, I will be able to make some very convincing and well informed posts about what this is. I can just drop direct links to awesome articles people are putting forward. People can't help but respond to a whole new paradigm, one that offers more freedom and abundance.

Coming back to where I started. I feel that it's very important to cultivate an auspicious mind, and through that you will more fully enjoy life and become an example of that freedom. Even without all of these words and speculations, people will look to you and think "hmmm that person seems to be very happy and stable - I want to be like that". Furthermore it effects your subtle body and the bio-energetic field that you generate. The area around you will be like your internal state, be that angry, peaceful, or joyful. You don't have to be spiritual and 'woo-woo' to know this, it's a simple observation. So just like this, your own cultivation is a great gift to the world. And I think for this reason spirituality or the inquiry into our inner nature has always been a highly important thing for human beings, it still is today, and it's definitely the top priority in my own life.

my banner.jpg

Sort:  

Good article! Something to think about.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71