Dirty Shrimp and Cultural Myths

in #culture6 years ago

My wife and I were making lunch, a nice tomato sauce ravioli, and she asks me a funny little questions regarding the shrimp she was about to add.

”Is the black stuff in the shrimp really bad to eat?”

She was referring to the little black goo you find when you slice along the backside of the shrimp. Korean mothers will tell you that you have to remove that bit because it contains bacteria and poo and all manner of strange stuff that you don’t want to be eating.

I did a quick Google and found this -

Screen Shot 2018-05-12 at 8.38.43 PM.png

This confirmed my hunch that this, alongside many anecdotes, are one of many “wives tales” concerning food and sanitariness. Others include needing to remove the peel on all fruits, including apples and pears, and chucking out the little white goo of an egg yolk. For some reason(s), these sensibilities have been passed down (usually maternally) and upheld even by our generations today.

I bring this up to stir a conversation around cultural daily myths - the little, almost innocuous sensibilities that are not rooted in rationale, driven by historical anecdotes and experiences, and nevertheless influence the way we live our lives. I’m a pretty big believer of the butterfly effect and how nuanced cultural attitudes can compound into unstoppable consequences. For example, eating a hamburger as a typical lunch is pretty normal. But if an American family ritualizes meat eating (as many do), that habit can stack up (get it?) to produce systemic issues across different households. I’m curious to see if my hunch is correct and that many other cultures have these little ticks that help differentiate one way of life from another.

I think the reasons are diverse and very difficult to trace back to any real origin. Maybe there was a small Korean epidemic concerning shrimp that caused some irrational panic of the black goo. Maybe there was some economic tension with shellfish imports from the Philippines and a bit of state propaganda deterred people from the seafood. Maybe some street sage just conjured it up one day and the gossip spread like wildfire. Most likely is that this particular wives tale didn’t stem from any real Ground 0 but flourished in this weird network of the game “Telephone,” causing some cumulative idea that something is bad or some things should be done a certain particular way.

The next step from these little sensibilities is obviously superstitions. My mother always told me not to whistle at night as it would cause ghosts to appear. I found out later that this is a universal word of caution amongst all Koreans. I, being the stubborn American-born in the family, continued to whistle gleefully come nightfall. I found more and more of these as I paid attention and again, am curious if you all have grown up with these little things that you have debunked since.

Steem on!

Sort:  

Oh my, the number of these kinds of things that I've grown up with or seen around me. Coming from a culture steeped in superstition, I grew up around a lot of these do's and don'ts. The ones I mention here are specifically Hindu.

Here's a list off the top of my head:

Eating or drinking during an eclipse will upset your stomach because food gets spoilt during an eclipse. (Debunked. I've eaten during an eclipse and didn't shatter into pieces)

Hair should not be cut on Tuesdays because Mars might be in a bad position and it's bad luck for you. (Debunked. Apparently, most barbers just used to take Tuesdays off.)

Breaking mirrors on Friday will cause a break in your family. (Debunked. I once broke a mirror on a Friday by accident and I'm happy to say I'm still part of one happy family)

Nails should not be cut after 6pm. If other people happen to touch your cut nails, poverty will befall you. (Shit, maybe this is the real reason why I have no savings)

When on their period, girls should stay in a separate room, eat food off a 'period plate' and not touch any other members of the family - for her own health.

If you have a coughing fit, it means someone is thinking of you. (How do you even debunk this kind of thing?)

But you get the gist.

Oh my, I have a similar concern as well! Especially when the prawns were steamed or stir-fried, the black goo was kinda obvious. My grandparents will definitely remove it.

Haha, what's funny is that my grandparents taught me to remove the goo but eat the shell/tail. #priorities

Oh, it means that you have to eat the shell then only remove the goo while the shrimp is cooked 😂 shell=calcium?

Exactly ;). Actually, come to think of it, I've never Googled whether the shell is a legitimate source of calcium. I assumed my Granddad was just right...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00