Does Pot Legalization Contribute to the Dumbing Down of Society

in #culture6 years ago (edited)

Here's my opinion on "Weed Culture"

I realize I might offend a few liberals, libertarians, and even conservatives, but the truth is rarely convenient. Facts don't care about your feelings. I understand that everyone wants freedom, but what's with the glorification of pot? How does smoking weed, and knocking off a few million braincells, stick it to the man?

How did marijuana become a collective resistance against authority? Instead of growing drugs, maybe we should get into gardening, and learning how to grow organic food. Why waste all the time and energy, growing something just to show off and get high? If we're going to buy hydroponic equipment, why not grow food?

Why is this little plant becoming the end all, and be all, of western identity? Smoking a plant does not help you find your identity. It makes you generic like everyone else. There's so many beautiful things about being human, that we shouldn't really cannabis culture, to figure out who we are. If we are going to educate the public against new world order, why do we support a substance that dumbs people down? We need clean sober minds, in order to be strong against the new world order.

Sort:  

I usually will just not respond to a post like this. The reason is that most people who say these kinds of things, don't actually know, but are taking somone's opinion and parroting it out. In this particular case, however I use to think exactly the same thing.

Then one day I decided to do some real research into pot and the actual effects reported by so called reputable research studies. What I discovered was basically paid for opinions that really didn't have the evidence to back up what they where claiming. When I followed the money, I ran right into the pharmaceutical industry. I also discovered that most of the so called Scientist were actually priest, of what I now call Scientism.

Try going on Google Scholar and put in "Why Most Published Research Findings Are False" You will find stuff like the following.

Why Most Published Research Findings Are False
http://journals.plos.org/plosmedicine/article?id=10.1371/journal.pmed.0020124

It is not for me or really anyone else to tell you what to think. I just think that the only thing your post lacks is proof for the inherent claim "that pot destroys brain cells". Maybe your right and it does. However without that proof "well?"

I use to smoke Marijuana once a week, and I can tell you my brain is not as good as it use to be. For 3 or 4 days after I smoked, I felt brain fog, and it was harder to think effectively and write. People smoking marijuana get blood shot eyes.

Now i'm not for the pharmaceutical industry, and I believe that the oral consumption of THC oil can help with epilepsy. Lots of my friends who smoked it, said they had long-term memory problems. The liberal establishment wants us to believe that all the side effects are positive. This isn't the case. Not only does it mess with your brain, it blackens your lungs.

I want to see neural scans of the brain released, and the best imaging so we can figure out precisely the harm that it does. The liberal government, under Justin Trudeau just wants to make money. They won't talk about the damage it causes to your health.

"The liberal government, under Justin Trudeau just wants to make money."

Totally agree.

How does this prove that pot destroys brain cells?

P.S The truth is brain scans wont prove such without a double blind study and direct evidence that it was the pot and not something else like the stuff they give you to make the scans pop out. Something the pharmaceutical industry does not want to be known, isn't known. This is why I supplied you a link to the real problem. The fruit cakes have infiltrated all areas of our society. This is also why I didn't claim that you are wrong. I truly don't know and with the current state of science, I don't think anyone can trust what is being put out there.

The most disturbing fact I know about pot is that no one has ever been accused of harming someone else because they where high as far as I know. I too use to smoke pot a lot. Maybe more than you. Don't know? What I do know from experience is that I never harmed anyone even by accident while I was under the influence. I never saw anyone else that was under the influence harm another either. This doesn't prove that smoking pot doesn't kill brain cells.

It raises the question as to why it would be important to try and control others over it?

I worry we're entering a time of drug glorification. People are giving the sunny side of the equation, but no real effort has been made to look the neurological implications. With advanced imaging, we should have a good understand of what it does to the brain.

At least in the 1980's the government put out public service announcements on drugs. Their strategy was to use education, to kill the customer base, by reducing demand. The liberal government, does the exact opposite. They glorify it, by praising legalization.

They are and have been glorifying drugs. They also have been using fraud to prove they are right. They have also been calling that fraud science. I comprehend your worry, but have to use what I know to decide things. What I do know is I, can not trust what is being claimed as science. That being the case the only thing I do have is my experience. So that is what I am going with.

I remember after smoking heavy joints, I would feel a bit off the next few days. I would get brain fog, and it was harder to think deeply.

A side effect. The problem is that side effects normally are not the same for everyone. I agree that the research needs to be done. I think making decision about use for others based on what is known is actually not a good idea. As long as a person is not harming someone else it is actually criminal.

Curated for #informationwar (by @wakeupnd)

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation and other false narratives. We currently have over 7,500 Steem Power and 20+ people following the curation trail to support our mission.

  • Join our discord and chat with 200+ fellow Informationwar Activists.

  • Connect with fellow Informationwar writers in our Roll Call! InformationWar - Contributing Writers/Supporters: Roll Call Pt 8

Ways you can help the @informationwar

  • Upvote this comment.
  • Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP
  • Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15