The meeting of ontology and existentialism in Buddhism, Vairocana Buddha

in #culture7 years ago (edited)

20171009

I am not a Buddhist. It was an accidental opportunity for me to post on Buddhism. I happened to visit old Buddhist temples and find things I had never known before. I have visited various temples with such an opportunity.

At first I thought they were all the same, but everything else had a different meaning. There is a tendency in Buddhism trying to explain the truth through parables and symbols rather than direct explanation.

I thought that Buddha statues were all the same thing. As I have studied, I noticed that each Buddha statue had a different meaning. While looking at Maitreya statue in Gwan Chock Sa, I learned that there are several Buddhist statues nearby.

The first one was the Buddha statue of Vairocana. Word 'Vairocana' originated from Sanskrit language. I heard that the Buddha statue of Vairocana was located in front of the temple.

But even the residents in the village did not know where it was exactly. A lady informed me of the exact location. The Buddha statue of Vairocana, more than 1000 years old, was in the corner of the yard of a country house.

IMG_6457.JPG

IMG_6460.JPG

IMG_6467.JPG

IMG_6468.JPG

.IMG_6464.JPG

IMG_6466.JPG

A dog was looking at me with silent, it didn’t bark at me.
I thought this dog would find a way under the influence of Vairocana Buddha.

IMG_6470.JPG

There was no wall and door. Anyone could enter into this house without permission to look at Vairocana Buddha statue.

I did not know what the Vairocana Buddha was. When I looked up the data, I could find the Vairocana Buddha contained the ontological meaning of Buddhist world view point.

Vairocana Buddha seemed to have similar meaning to Aristotle's God. Aristotle thought that God must be mechanical existence and it would be similar to the principle or the law which is moving the world. According to Aristotle, God must be a non-personal existence.

This Vairocana Buddha was expressed in the form of a Buddha Statue. Originally, Vairocana Buddha is believed in non-personal and mechanical principles that make the world exist. It was explained as a light much brighter than the sun's light. Explanations and Interpretations were different according to the factions of Buddhism.

There are lots of hand signs in Buddha’s postures. In this case, it could be named of the finger and the fist type.
The statue wrapped the index finger with hand

IMG_6461.JPG

The meaning of this hand sign is said that Buddha and human are one.

Vairocana contains the ontological meaning of explaining the world in Buddhism. What is interesting is that in Buddhism, ontology is linked closely with existential philosophy.

Buddhism interprets the world in an existential way. In this aspect, Vairocana Buddha could be interpreted as a connection point between Buddhist point of view and ontology

Sort:  

This is a very interesting post, @slowwalker - I was waiting for it as you alluded to it in your previous posting, but unfortunately steemit.com was under a DDS attack and it has been spotty all day for me.

So, even though I'm late to comment, I still would like to respond to your excellent post.

I see a lot of commonality between the Vairocana Buddha and the Aristotelian Prime Mover (ie. Deus=God)

I know your mother is Catholic and it may interest you to know that Aristotle had a great influence on Catholic theology, particularly seen in the writings of Saint Thomas Aquinas.

Many of Aquinas' proofs for the existence of god center around the idea of an uncaused first cause, which is one of the definitions of God.

But God isn't just transcendent - like Buddha, he has a physical manifestation. For Buddha it was the historical Buddha (Siddhartha Gautama).

For Catholics and other Christians it was the Incarnation of God in the person of Jesus Christ who lived and dwelt among us before ascending back into heaven.

Interestingly, when the Catholic missionary Francis Xavier went on a mission trip to Japan he encountered the Vairocana Buddha and likened him to the Christian God, even adopting the Japanese term.

I just thought you might like to make use of this information, my friend.

I loved your post and photos

thank you so much.
I did't know about Xavier and Vairocana Buddha.
It is very interesting for me what Xavier did thought about Vairocana Buddha.

You wrote an excellent post, @slowwalker

Brilliant information about buddhaism,i have learnt some things in your post today,i now know that all statue are not the same they all have differnt meanings.

thank you for reading

@slowwalker you are well informed about Buddah ie for someone who is not a buddist and I like the
stone statue of Buddha -it looks beautiful. I see it in a cultural and religious view point which shows the rich history of Korea.
Keep up the good work and more success to you.

@charles1 plzz vote me and cmnt and reply plzz..also follow plxxx..its a request

There is no question that photography has played a major role in the environmental movement.

thank you so much

welcome and more success my friend...

very nice article about culture

We are one...
All of us... maybe that's why it's considered to be impersonal.
Because he is love... we are love... we are one...
Thank you...
Be love💌

So what are the differences?

Great, there are alot of things that i dont know about Buddhism serious, thank for sharing mate, but there are some Buddhist statue that are made with gold right?

lol
painted with gold.

Oohh lol.. I always thought its real gold, i been thinking how come no one has stolen this statue and sold them to black market.. Lool

Buddhism is the teaching of peace and love, I would like to call myself a Buddhist, but I'm not a Buddhist - I still have a long time to study, but I really like reading books about Buddhism, they fill me with warmth. Thank you for the photo.

thank you for reading

Thank you for sharing will resteem
this post hope you can do the same for me
you have my upvote
Keep smiling, reading, writing and voting!!!
@mannyfig1956

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86