The Reason Why There Is a Steep Steps in Buddhist Temple.

in #culture6 years ago

20171104

You could find a steep steps In Korean Buddhist temple easily.
I complained about steep steps in Buddhist Temple.
It was because old aged people visited the Buddhist temple more than younger persons.
Buddhism in Korea is turning into the old people’s religion.

So it looked dangerous when I saw old people up and down a steep steps.

20171005_152951.jpg

I took this photo in Soo Deok Sa temple.
People bent down their head to watch their steps.

20171005_153102.jpg

One day I asked the reason why the steps in temple was steep.
A monk answered the reason why.

20160508_143333.jpg

There was a special intention of making a steep steps.
It was forcing people to focus on walking the steps.

Concentrate what you are doing is one of the most important teaching of Buddha.

Before praying to Buddha, you need to concentrate your mind.
Concentration is seemed as if a process of purification of one’s soul.

Actually, concentration is not only the first entrance but also the last exit in Buddhism.
The most difficult thing in our life is concentration.
My mind is full of worry
I know my mind is always fluctuating from here to there
When I have a dinner, I worry about tomorrow’s work in office.
In the office, I think how to enjoy this weekend.
It means that I am not own my mind and myself completely.

If I were owner of my self, I could control my mind.
But in my life, I couldn’t ’ve controlled my mind as I wanted.

Do you control your self ?
Not ?
Then I recommend to walk to the steep steps.
But be cautions.

Sort:  

It seems so very obvious reason to make the steps steep .

you can imagine how diligent they are in worshiping to fulfill the call of the creator. it is a very self-serving act and always thankful to the creator. truly a very persevering culture of faith. i like your post. i always follow you.

Your post very interesting.
Really like it

It seems to be allegory; it holds strong meaning to life. You have really impact to me great information to success in life. Life is the act of focusing and the mind is the controller. What you did not add is how to stay focus. I will be pleased with that. Thank you

Interesting thought, I have to admit set very often I'm not concentrated or focused myself.

What do I have to do next, after finishing this task? There is often something very different in my mind as it should be.
Probably, if you really enjoy what you're doing right at the moment, then your full concentration is focussed on this action.

Maybe time for me to climb some temple stairs myself. Luckily I don't have to look so far, here in Japan I can find heaps of them

I don’t really concentrate when I’m walking, let alone walking on steps. It’s when I lose concentration when I’m crossing the road that is dangerous. Because my mind is always full of worry about the present and future. But I guess Buddha is right when, talking about about concentrating on what you are doing right now. I guess it’ll probably save my life one day.

you are right , Concentration is very important in our life , i also should learn to concentrate what i am working on , so try to be the owner of myself , thanks your post !

Nice concept for step steps.

Beautiful place to visit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17