The Spinning Buddhist Bible and The Patterns

in #culture7 years ago

20171005

In front of the main building, there was a turning Buddhist scriptures.

IMG_5761.JPG

There are Buddhist scriptures in the instrument.
It is believed that if you spun that instrument once, it would have same effect as reading once.
And you could wish for your fortune, when you spin this instrument.
To have a fortune, you need to write your wishes on the paper and put it into the hole of the instrument.

You can see this kinds of instruments in Tibet.
I heard that Buddhism between Korea and Tibet is different in many aspects.
In my guess, Buddhism in Tibet is closer to the original form of Buddhism.
Buddhism in Korea have developed it's own characteristics accepting korean traditional religion.

This kind of spinning instrument is not popular in Korea.
So the instrument is very unique with it's existence here.
I come closer to the instrument. It was well decorated with various patterns and ornaments.

The instrument has 8 sides
The eaves were painted with golden color

The main body was decorated with various patterns as below

IMG_5765.JPG

close shot

IMG_5770.JPG

IMG_5768.JPG

IMG_5769.JPG

IMG_5766.JPG

IMG_5771.JPG

The hole is the place where you put the wish paper

Each side has it's theme

What do these patterns mean?
In my opinion, they tried to express a paradise of Buddhism.

These 4 patterns are duplicated in 8 sides

Beneath the body, Dragon was engraved on the upper part of the body of the instrument
Dragon is common subject in Buddhist Art.

IMG_5762.JPG

In the lower part, there were 2 kinds of colored face in blue and yellow.

I am curious what these faces mean.
In my guess, it seems to be dragons of blue and yellow.

IMG_5763.JPG

IMG_5764.JPG

At first glance, it looked like the evil things in my eyes.
But the shape of the horn was similar to that of dragons'

Maybe the dragons are keeping this instrument from the evil things.
It seems that They are protecting the Buddhist Bible.

It is interesting to read and interpretate hidden meaning of the patterns and ornaments.
We can estimate the thoughts and minds of people who had lived before us.

Thank you for reading

Sort:  

an interesting post today, @slowwalker, regarding turning the wheel of Dharma.

The teachings of Buddha are not meant to be merely recited, or 'turned' but to be realized in one's consciousness.

I see this practice as mystical and not at the heart of what Buddha taught although some will argue that illiterate people can't read the mantras and turning the wheel substitutes for reciting the texts.

But these same people claim that if an insect flew into the shadow of the turning wheel it would be blessed, the same as a turning water wheel blesses the surroundings etc. I see this as mysticism in much the same way as the simple philosophy of Lao Tzu has been turned into a mystical religion.

This is simply my point of view and if anyone disagreed I'd simply tell them to continue on their way and be blessed :)

As for the elaborate paintings of the wheel, they did bless me - so lovely and colourful!

Thank you so much for your comment as always

Buddhism is pure and free from miss concepts.

Wow... @slowwalker once again you hipnotize me with your excellent narratives, amazing shot and historical places ...Tibets Buddhist are truly one of a kind... your statement that... I quote
"To have a fortune, you need to write your wishes on the paper and put it into the hole of the instrument'
Unquote
Got me thinking...since i wanna have over $10m Steem .... Can you help me write and put my wish from @kenhudoy into the hole of the instrument' 😋

Great post as always worthy of my upvote and expecting more from my great steemian and motivator...

Awesome post you have my upvote
Keep smiling, reading, writing and voting!!!
@mannyfig1956

Once again, a lovely post. The pictures you take are beautifully shot. The colours used in building these places are phenomenal.

Thank you so much

Amazing culture :)

interesting one...have you spoken to a monk? maybe he knows even more about it?

I could not find the monks

Man! how I wish you could take me with you! My dream is to travel the world and see these places that you have shared with us...

Thank you for sharing!!!!

Upvoted!
@hallie25

I respect to Buddhism. Common word in Buddhism "NAMO BUDDHAYA"
Great and respect article @slowwalker

very good post my friend..

where is that friend ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87