Traditional Cake Making in Market Place, WonJoo City, Korea and My Child hood

in #culture6 years ago

20171107

In WonJoo City, I unoccasionally came across a traditional cake making man in market place.

IMG_6852.JPG

I never've seen the traditional cake making prpcess for more than 40 years.
It was my home town where I had seen the traditional cake making process.

So it was very nice to see the cake making.

IMG_6861.JPG

I could see that only in the special holiday in korea, Chooseock(similar to the thanks giving day) and New year of lunar calendar.

In such a special holiday, they made the traditional cake for the ceremony of ancestors. The Kids could taste the cake at that time.

When I saw a man who made the traditional cake, it made me look back my child hood.
At that time, even though we were poor, I was always happy with love of my family.

In my memory, my mother was young and always kind to me.
I remember how much my aunt loved me. She always prepared delicious snack and gave it to me when we had met.
Now she passed away. I am sorry I could not see her again. But I still remember her voice and face. How could I forget her.

As looking at making cake, I had traveled to my childhood.

IMG_6867.JPG

Now Let's look at how to make the korean traditional cake.

IMG_6866.JPG

When I asked him to take the photo of him, he permitted at once and took a pose for camera.
He was very proud of making traditional cake.

IMG_6853.JPG

Sort:  

This is the piece of work amazing cake love it

This comment has received a 0.81 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @trumpdump. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

There is something special when people make food for you - it's as if they are offering affection.

On traditional feast days such as Thanksgiving, many choose to go out to restaurants rather than go through the effort of making a homemade meal.

But as skillful as commercial restaurants or bakeries might be, they can never replace sharing a home-cooked meal with people you love.

I think your aunt gave you more than cake, @slowwalker, and the trip to the Market brought back memories of past loving kindness.

Have a good day, my friend.

Thank you for your comment as always

you're welcome

Thank you @slowwalker for sharing such a useful, lovely post. Because of Steemit only across the globe sitting at home, we are able to experience unexplored, unheard and unseen things we've never dreamt of. God knows whether I'll be, by any chance, able to visit those place and have a bite those delecacies....

Thank you for your comment

you are so great,nice job.

Thank you so much

Wanna eat that cake. In Aceh, Indonesia. There are many traditional cake, one of them called #timphan. Its so delicious, @slowwalker.

this is really the process of making a very great cake, success is always for you my friend.

Great cake! Thank you and we showed how it is cooked! Now we have to try a piece ))

And this is for you

@slowwalker
It is such a delight to find and see something that is near and dear to our hearts. Memories of the past years.
As older humans living in a youthful generation. We know the culture and history from having experienced it as we lived and grew up.
Thank you for reminding us of ours and then showing us some of yours.

Francis

Thank you for your visiting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82