Unexpected Discovery, The Iron Flagging Pole and The Stupa in Gapsa Temple,

in #culture6 years ago

20171206

Some times we can find the totally new things in the most familiar place.

In visiting Gapsa temple with my colleagues, I experienced that.
I saw the unexpected things in Gapsa temple. I had visited several times in this year, and whenever I visited I saw new things. In this time, I took the different road to the temple. At the entrance of Gapsa, I could see a small road, if not cautious, it would be difficult to find. With some fortune, I could take the road what I didn’t had taken before. At first, I was confused whether that way was right or not. At the end of road, a high iron pole came into my eyes. It was about 30 feet high.

It was told that the iron flagging pole was made in Shilla dynasty. It means that it was built more than 1300 years ago. The iron pole was made with 24 pieces at first, but 4 of them was destroyed by a flash of lightning 100 years ago. I don’t think the iron pole was original which was made 1300 years ago. It might had been repaired several times. But the stone holding part was original thing of Shilla dynasty.
The iron flagging pole had been used to show there was a ceremony in the temple.
At that time the iron flagging pole was not used for down voting. LOL

Passing through the iron flagging pole, I could see the stupa.
The stupa which was stood there looked some what different from other stupa what I had seen before.

The stupa was stood in front of the temple which was attached to the main temple of Gapsa.

Usually the main temple had lots of small temples which were attached to the main temple in Korean Buddhist History.

I had never seen before that kind of stupa. It’s style was quite unique. The explanation board told that this stupa was built in in early Koryeo Dynasty. It means that it was built more than 1000 years ago.
The Stupa was well balanced not like typical Koryeo dynasty cultures. It means that this stupa got strong influence from Shilla dynasty.

What attracted me of this stupa was lower part sculptures. There were several sculptures of men and the fierce animals. It was hard to understand the meaning of the sculptures. But it’s expression was very elaborate and precise.

It seemed that the fierce animal was biting in something.

Close shot

It was great pleasure to find the unexpected stupa. Especially it was not easy to see the elaborate and precise early Koryeo dynasty works of art.

Sort:  

Wow, Wonderfull !!

Interesting photo very nice. I have a few black-and-white photographs, stop by and check it out let me know what you think upvoted & resteem @mannyfig1956

Great work and nice photos, my friend @ slowwalker

Thank you so much

really u r fortunate to visit such historic and beautiful place-----

You need to visit Korea

gd history dear & beautiful photofraphy dear @slowwalker

@slowwalker
You post some of the most interesting subjects on Steemit for all of us to see.
What we would never see here where I am. You take your time and make an effort to show us the amazing finds and tell about the history of it.
Thank you

Francis

Thank you for your comment.
Visiting historical place is my hobby

Good job. These signs of the past are always interesting and fascinating ....

A monument with a lot of historical significance. It also shows that ancient people were just as intelligent as we are now, otherwise such a. Magnificent pole could not have been constructed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34