Granny's Thai Banana Snack 🍌🇹🇭

in #culture5 years ago (edited)

19conoq36e.jpg



First of all, no one can't beat my grandma's style :)

The photos on this post have been taken for 3 days straight so that's why her clothing has changed a bit day by day.. and yes, that also means, she's pretty much been working every single day even in her 78!

wqubh2xvzc.jpg



It's always been like that..

Since I can remember things, I have been seeing my grandma has always been working so hard in her own style. By that, I mean, not in an intense business way trying to get the highest profit possible but more like self sustainable.. and frugal way of living.

Back then, just like nowadays, our family run a small family business selling food and also the small grocery store attached to it. She helps out with both and in the evening when she has free time (and maybe also free banana - or at least the cheap ripe one from a market), she makes these Thai banana snacks to sell.

Some of you already are curious what the heck is this 'Thai banana snack'?



kgxkb0g95b.jpg



Banana Snack (ขนมกล้วย)

To pronounce in Thai 'Kanom-kluay'

Kanom means snack or some sweet stuffs
Kluay means banana

You don't see this so often here in Thailand unless you go to the local markets. Oh! even that, it's not that common anymore so..

Oh! Is that why my grandma's snacks always sold out?? I thought it was yum.. hmmm..



It's ripe bananas mix with floor - Mash it real good then add young coconut meat. Put it onto the banana leaves, fold, and steamed it till cooked.


j7xhwa26ug.jpg


ojv08ciy6u.jpg


ohdycbjl2p.jpg


tzpphceu1j.jpg



Tastes just like ribe banana but with this firmer texture with young coconut meat and the great aroma of the coconut.


I love my grandma's banana snacks! I have tried it elsewhere but never like the ones my grandma makes. Not even kidding! We sell them for a such reasonable price too. It's 5 THB (0.15 USD) a piece


Funny I just felt like writing about this today.. Maybe it's time to go home..




Mo ❤




I DO USE. I DO LOVE ! ❤

vaq5x9vdnu.pngwt786mgexg.png




Bangkok

Bangkok

Bangkok

Bangkok

All copy and photos are original content by me.

© waybeyondpadthai.com


k9cn9zmuib.png       jnrhf8i8l4.png       ihk2gf42un.png       8q8v4gmdh1.png


TO SUPPORT WITH LOVE 💙 PLEASE SUBSCRIBE!!! TO MY SUPER DUPER AWESOME YOUTUBE CHANNEL :)

Sort:  

This cake is also available in my area, Aceh. It's called a timphan. Made from flour and banana crushed then in the middle it is filled with shaved coconut which has added palm sugar. The way to cook is steamed .

Ohhhhh!!! Serious??! That's pretty much the same thing like this one then. Awesome!! :D

กินด้วย น่ากิน อยากกิน หิวเลย 555

ฮ่าๆๆ คถ.อาม่าเลยเนี่ยพี่ หิวววว :D

Chúc mừng @waybeyondpadthai, bạn đã nhận được một upvote 25%. Tôi là con bot của cộng đồng Việt Nam trên Steemit. Tôi được tạo ra bởi nhân chứng @quochuy và được uỷ quyền, tín nhiệm bởi các thành viên Việt Nam, hôm nay tôi vote cho bài của bạn để ủng hộ bạn. Tôi hi vọng sẽ được thấy nhiều bài viết hay từ bạn.

Chúc bạn vui vẻ, và hẹn gặp lại một ngày gần đây.

Oh they are so tasty. I remember when I was a kid my mother used to make them as well :) You brought my memory back <3

Hahhaa same here. When I was a kid I eat it almost everyday!!! :D

But later the thing happens when we grow up our mother stop making those things
I am not sure when was the last time I ate it

hahahaha lolol Glad mine just started making them again :D

Mo

You have such an amazing family

Mo you have truly been a blessing to my soul

Thank you for being you

2019 is going to be so exciting

I can't wait

Drop me an email for details

As long as you haven't went full vegan

My generosity is only for carnivores

Ha ha 😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Bwahahahaha I love veggies tho. Papaya salad is so yum but oh! can't be so yum without raw shrimps in it. Dang it!


Hmmm.... I am sure this old woman make this food tasty good :)
and seeing the price it is very cheap.... I am very sure if I try get it here... then I pay 3 euros for one this piece :)


Hahhahaha That's so expensive for piece! You could live easily here for a day with that amount. (exaggerating of course)

Are you sure ... 3 euros one day ? .... hmmm ... ok..ok... this sound good.

Hahhahaha I said I was exaggerating lolol

Wow! Looks so traditional and local, I would like to try some.

Posted using Partiko Android

You sure could try if you come visit here and I will bring you everywhere.. like not promise but yes.. :D hahhaa

Hahaha, I remember now

Posted using Partiko Android

Nothing is ever as good as granmummy can make it, hopefully you paying attention so you know how to do it can keep the magic alive! Makes me miss my grandmas cooking, she’s off traveling because apparently that’s what old people do nowadays!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahhahaa prolly it's not gonna alive, poor recipe lol and oh! that's cool your grandma travel. Mine just love working and being home hahaha :D

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @waybeyondpadthai!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.127 which ranks you at #921 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 230 contributions, your post is ranked at #23.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28