I'm Not Racist

in #culture5 years ago

Really: some of my best friends are black. My sister is married to an African. I love Chinese food... We all know these claims immediately following the one of not being a racist. Racism is a real thing, it happens, we can all see it's effects every day.


racism_small.jpg
source: The Blue Diamond Gallery

But I'm not racist, and neither are you, I'm sure. Still, as I mentioned, it happens and not only in western countries. I have a rather unique perspective on this matter of racism, on account of where and when I was born, and the color of the skin, hair and eyes I was born with. My mother gave birth to me in 1968 in Suriname, she being of mixed race and my father a genuine black man with a big afro (back then). They both had black hair and dark brown eyes, so it was kind of a shock for them to see me come into their world with the whitest blond hair, the lightest blue eyes and matching milky white skin; one of my grandfathers was a white man, and his "whiteness" decided to skip a generation and come back with a vengeance in me...

Back in 1968 Suriname was still a colony of the Netherlands, so technically I'm born a white negro on the colonial grounds of a white country. One leftover from being ruled by white people is this paradoxical Stockholm syndrome; somehow people with lighter skin are respected more. The drug stores in Suriname back then were full of products to give brown skin a lighter tint, and afro's were treated with a hot iron comb to "straighten" it, so people could have the white man's hair, be it black instead of blond or red. And I swear that nowhere in the Netherlands I've seen the kind of adoration of the Dutch royal family like I've seen in Suriname. Research among black children shows that when given the choice, they'd much rather play with dolls that have white skin, blond hair and blue eyes. My parent's initial shock quickly turned into pride, as they paraded their ultra light-skinned kid around town; I cannot consciously remember these baby days, but I was quite the spectacle, this little lily-white kid in a country predominantly occupied by African, Hindustani, Indian, Indonesian, and Chinese people.

This diverse racial mix in the country, and the color of my skin made it so that I was quickly introduced to the phenomenon of racism; like I said, this isn't exclusive to white people, and sadly colored people are racist among themselves to. And don't for a second think that black people, my people, aren't ever racist against white people; my fellow countrymen that don't know me, often begin talking among themselves in their, and my, native tongue, convinced that I can't understand what they're saying, and trust me when I say they have their version of the N word for whiteys. I just noticed how I'm perfectly comfortable with writing "whitey", which is a derogatory term, but dare not utter the N word... Best to be aware of the effects of social pressure and the politically correct rage of today. I'll have to deal with that somehow; never too old to learn I guess...

And I guess I don't even really know where I'm going with this. I just felt the urge to share some first hand knowledge on a touchy subject. Especially now the economies of western countries have forsaken their respective middle classes, and the manufactured political correctness that's killing real debate, which in turn is arresting mutual understanding, causing the need for some good old scapegoats. But I lack the inspiration to do so today, maybe because it comes so close to home. I'm lucky then, that Joyner Lucas said it all really:

we were all humans until
race disconnected us,
religion separated us,
politics divided us,
and wealth classified us.

His music video went viral in 2017, but I completely missed out on that; I only discovered this brilliant, in my opinion that is, rap song last week, when my son showed it to me. In little less than seven minutes we get to see and hear every stereotypical viewpoint from the white and black man's perspective, which I found a very effective way of explaining how mutual misunderstanding leads to mutual hate. I hope you can watch this without taking offense...


Joyner Lucas - I'm Not Racist


Thanks so much for visiting my blog and reading my posts dear reader, I appreciate that a lot :-) If you like my content, please consider leaving a comment, upvote or resteem. I'll be back here tomorrow and sincerely hope you'll join me. Until then, keep steeming!


wave-13 divider odrau steem

Recent articles you might be interested in:

Latest article >>>>>>>>>>>All Opinions Are Equal
The War On WarFleeting Essence Of Identity
Hitchen's Razor On CapitalismLock Your Internet!
Age Of HODL Reborn?NAFTA's Gift To Trump

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Just for Full Disclosure, I'm invested in these crypto-currencies:

Bitcoin | Litecoin | EOS | OmiseGo | FunFair | KIN | Pillar | DENT | Polymath | XDCE | 0x | Decred | Ethereum | Carmel | XYO

wave-13 divider odrau steem

@helpie is a WITNESS now! So please help @helpie help you by voting for us here!Helpie_01.png

Sort:  

This was a worthwhile post, the song inclusion was a bonus

I think everyone has racist tendencies, the fears installed by an older generation, the fear of knowing that privilege can turn into discrimination. the knowledge that people might look at physical statistics like age, sex, color, nationalism - then make assumptions about how we feel and what we believe.

That the US nationally ignores a topic that is so divisive, that we allow a president who is racist to voice anger inciting speech is disturbing.

thanks for this

Thank you so much @torico 😊 You're right, and Trump isn't the only populist leader, unfortunately, who takes this course... which is disturbing indeed. Thanks again for you great response! 🙏🏼

Men has crossed the distance to moon, but still not to another human beings.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's nicely said @luegenbaron; thanks for the response! 😊

Great post!

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it 😊

Curated for #informationwar (by @openparadigm)

Ways you can help the @informationwar!

  • Upvote this comment or Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP or Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

FreezePeach

If you feel you've been wrongly flagged, check out @freezepeach, the flag abuse neutralizer. See the intro post for more details, or join the discord server.

Thanks for the great support @informationwar and @openparadigm! 😊

Hi @zyx066!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.721 which ranks you at #5301 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 13 places in the last three days (old rank 5314).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 177 contributions, your post is ranked at #119.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75