E. M. WALKER CHALLENGE #03 - YELLOW BAG

in #curatequality6 years ago (edited)

‘As I’m about to open the yellow bag, my mind drifts to the events that brought me here...’


images.jpg


‘I walked down the passage and I could feel the concern etched deep into my own face. I would’ve appreciated the contemporary look and feel of the place had I not been so pre-occupied - keeping all the loose ends fresh in my mind. I intuitively picked up the break in pattern - each door had opaque glass casting light into the dimly lit passage. All except one, light seeped into the passage along the entire length of the door; it was ajar... My gut told me it was number 13, the unit I was meant to meet Edward.’

‘My mind flashing back to the conversation I had with my son, less than an hour ago; sifting for more detail. There wasn’t any; Edward was careful to omit detail. His conversation was one-sided and brief,’ “Hi Dad, It’s me... Edward! I don’t have much time. I need to meet with you urgently. I will be at Crystal Complex, on the corner of 5th Ave and Lexington, unit 13 on the fifth floor in an hour. One last thing, if anything happens before we meet, the key is the name of my first dog.” He then hung up. ‘Looking at the numbers, my immediate reaction was, his still into this occult bullshit; the issue which led to our parting argument five years ago.’

‘As I approached the door to unit 13, I took a deep breath, before I knocked and called Edward’s name... but there was no response – only dead silence. I waited for a few moments and composed myself before opening the door and entering the unit, further announcing my presence.' The apartment was empty. ‘I scanned the apartment still expecting Edward to respond; there was still none! My years as an officer in the LAPD made me well qualified to read the scene. There was no evidence of a struggle or of a crime having being committed; which led me to conclude that he had noticed a pursuer and had to leave in a hurry; and somehow enticed his pursuer away from the room. How else would his pursuer have missed the quickly scribbled cipher on the glass of the portrait on the passage wall?'


cipher 01 x 960.bmp


‘I removed the picture from the wall and left the apartment with it.’

‘Once back home I started the process of deciphering the message. The significance of Edwards’ words, “...the key is the name of my first dog, started to make sense. ‘I would have to insert the key into the original cipher matrix to read the message!’ ‘I hated that fucking dog; scrawny stray mutt; but how could I say no to my four year old kid?’ The problem was, I hated that damn dog so much; his bloody name had long since been erased from my memory, particularly since Edward had a procession of dogs since. It was only after “stitching” a few options together with the missus that we both agreed on Scamp. I retrieved the old dusty code book from the bookshelf in the corridor; the one I had given Edward for his twelfth birthday. He had delighted himself in sending me codes in pig-pen cipher; even more so when he included a key. Pig-pen cipher was his favourite. I familiarised myself with the symbols and proceeded to rearrange with keys.’


pig pen orig - 960 x 613.jpg


'My efforts were briefly disrupted by the door bell; from my study window I could see the brown UPS van. I was perplexed as I hadn’t been expecting a delivery. I met the delivery service agent at the door.’ "Good day, a parcel for Mr Gerald Mortimer." "That’s me," I responded." 'I signed for the parcel and returned to my desk. I opened the anonymously sent parcel, which contained a key and no further instructions. I turned my attention back to the code on the portrait.'


pig pen 001 - 960 x 613.jpg


‘By inserting the key, "SCAMP" into the cipher matrix and observing the rule that the dot indicated the second letter in the depicted sector, I was able to lift the message.’

SAFE DEP BOX FNB CEN

‘The expanded version was most likely, SAFETY DEPOSIT BOX, First National Bank – Central Branch and that would probably be what the keys were for; however I still had the other part of the puzzle to solve.’

‘The second part of the puzzle was equally tricky. It appeared to be written in chess algebraic notation and the first part seemed to indicate its parameters; a four by four matrix. Which had nothing to do with chess, as a chessboard is a sixty-four by sixty-four matrix - The word ‘door’ thrown in for good measure. Only after pondering the clues for several hours did the break through eventually come; in a brief moment of lucidity when I remembered a brief discussion with Edward many years earlier about; Albrecht Dürer’s - four by four magic square. Dürer means door in hungarian. By recreating Durer’ magic square and following the algebraic notation on a note pad, I soon got my confirmation as the numbers 5 and 13 emerged.'


durers magic square 001 - 960 x 791.jpg


'I now had the keys to the safety deposit box, 513 at FNB Central. By the time, I had finally deciphered the message it was late. The Adrenalin that oozed through my veins, compounded by the anticipation of what waited for me in the safety deposit box, prevented me from shutting down to sleep.'

'When first light peeked in at the windowed I rued the lost sleep. My circadian clock instantly thrust into an eight hour deficit; straight into jet-lag mode.' “Fuck! I feel like shit,” I muttered to myself. 'A fifteen minute shower and a cup of strong coffee barely pulled me me back into functional mode.'

'At nine am when the bank opened I was already there, waiting. I was pleasantly surprised that Edward had opened the box in my name; so passing the security checks were a breeze. Standing in front of safety deposit box 513 was a relief; yet a deep anxiety, which got me trembling. I had no idea what the safe contained or what awaited me. It took my trembling hand a few moments to align and insert the key. Once inserted, the well oiled mechanics of the system was extremely responsive to the twist of key. The draw popped open, just wide enough for me to see the yellow bag. '

'I proceeded to open up the draw fully; it contained nothing else other than the bag. The bag contained a letter, some cash and a CD disk. I proceeded to read the letter...'


Hi Dad,

By the time you read this letter they may have gotten to me
OR I’m back in deep hiding. I've changed my identity and
crept off the grid; so please don’t try and find me; for your own
safety. I will not make any further contact unless I know for
certain, that those able to hurt us are no longer able to do so.

I never explained everything back then, but it was for your
safety, and mom’s too. I needed you to be mad at me. In this
way they wouldn’t come after you. Yes, I was heavily involved
in the occult; but not for the reasons you thought. I couldn't
simply walk away because I knew too much, I had to remain
active in the organisation. If not we would’ve all been “taken
care” of.

The CD in this bag, contains evidence of a human trafficking
activities, conducted by the organisation. There should be
sufficient evidence; such as the names, dates and wire
transfers, to put the ring leaders away for good. You'll know
what to do with with the CD. I vowed to gather as much evi-
dence as I could before breaking ties with the group to prevent
any more children be harmed than necessary.

Use the Twenty Thousand to take mom on a cruise, It’s been
her dream.

Love you both much.

Edward
XXX


'I couldn't have been more proud of my son...'


ABOUT @emwalker

1 - He is my mentor and guide; he sets me writing challenges which he pays for. Here are some of the challenges.

Challenge 03
Challenge 02
Challenge 01

2 - Check out some of his cool, cinevlogs here!

3 - Now let me show you some of his true life kindness that I have been boasting about right here

4 - Let’s give his mom a shout out for her kindness

5 - If you have a quality post that needs some love, attention and kindness give his tag #curatequality a try...

You, may not agree with me, but I think this dude here, @emwalker is ready for the stratosphere! Cheers dude...

image.png
Pixabay

Sort:  

Hi rlt47,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

@curie community curation project and associated vote trail.

I'm honoured that my work has been found worthy of such an
esteemed and valuable prize. I wish you more power for your
great work, in the days, months and years ahead!

BROOOOOOOOOOOO - I'M ON MY WAY OUT - I JUST SAW THIS - WILL READ IN A BIT -YOU GOT A FUCKING CURIE VOTE !!!!! YESSSSSS!!!!! IM SO HAPPY FOR YOU MAN - SEND YOU YOUR REWARD - NOT THAT YOU NEED IT NOW !!!!!

I've created a discord server - Join it and we can talk more
https://discord.gg/esY9UW

Hey E - It's ALL YOU dude!! Your challenge made me sick
to the gut... I've crashed after posting, so I've just seen it
too. All I can say you're to 'blame' for this one, Hha, Hha...

Cool - I'll hook up with you on Discord, in the afternoon...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73