My five favorite curators on Steem: @acidyo, @ausbitbank, @canadian-coconut, @teamsteem, @thejohalfiles.

in #curation6 years ago

I've been on Steem for over a year. I've been watching the development of the platform. I'm seeing SMTs coming out soon and communities. I'm hosting some nice groups on mspwaves.com (search trending for the latest). I have good things going on, but I don't frequently talk about curators. I've had to have a lot of discussion around curation lately as talking about bid bots seems to naturally segway into a discussion of curation, curation rules, and curators.

Curation is really hard to do well

If you look at my wallet you'll notice I have 56k Steem Power and Delegate out about 55kSP. That's all going to things I believe help new users on this platform be successful to fulfill my Witness mission and charter of the Minnow Support Project of helping spread the values of Peace, Abundance, and Liberty, help Steem grow, and train and retain new users on teh platform, but that's not the only reason that I do it. The other reason is that good curation takes an assload of time and is hard to do well. You have to read hours of material and if you have a large stake you're constantly going back and forth between thinking of what is best for curation rewards and what is best for the platform. It's just really hard to do well and takes forever. So, I wanted to give a shoutout to some individuals that do a really freaking good job at this (and who have some pretty hefty balances such that their curation efforts make a big dent too).

@acidyo

As much as I rib him on his wall or in steemit chat or Discord I have enormous respect for this guy. I think he reads more articles in a day than every employee at Steemit combined. He's always around, he's always reading, and not only does he curate himself he's inspried a whole group of curators called OCD. You don't have to go far to see his fingerprints on the chain just pick a post at random and he's probably read it and commented on it. He's a role model for all Steemians to follow and I'm proud to call him friend.

@ausbitbank

He's the cofounder of the Minnow Support Project, a talented dev, a little shy, and bright as a whip. He's using a combination of manual and automatic curation to effective hit hundreds of posts and authors every week. His work ethic is nothing short of fantastic, and he seems to have the best intentions of this platform in mind as he's curating. There's hardly a minnow in the pond that hasn't received a vote from @ausbitbank. He's thoughtful, kind, and has a pretty exacting method that he applies to make curation happen. If you don't know he's a witness and you can and should vote for him!

@canadian-coconut

This lady likes to hit some posts pretty hard. She has a range of interests including homeschooling, alternative education, western medicine safety concerns, and most recently trying to help families in duress. She's a voracious reader and a wealth of knowledge. She's kind hearted and has shared multiple stories of taking people into her home and trying to get them back on her feet. She's a mother and she's been my friend on this platform practically since the day I started on it. When she's not hitting posts with some mega ups she's also curating a ton of minnows in the pond. Many of you may not realize that despite not taking a highly vocal role in MSP operations nearly half of everyone tagged as registered with the bots was tagged by ca-co as she silently lead her quest to help organize the Minnow Support Project (much needed because it's not always my strong suit).

@thejohalfiles

This guy is amazing. I see him touching posts from the smallest minnow the biggest whales. He's a one man army ensuring high quality content has whale support, and seems to take a deep interest in making sure good authors are rewarded on the platform. I don't have much more to say because he's one of the most hidden whales on the platform, but I think of him as a friend, and am grateful for the support he's given to me personally and many of the minnows in the pond.

@teamsteem

Who doesn't know @teamsteem? He's one of the original founders of the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network. His French Canadian accent is immediately recognizable as well as his face and love of mangos. He's funny, charming, friendly, a growing presence with the Minnow Support Project, and one of the best curators on the chain. You can find him in multiple discord channels socializing and spreading good will for our Steem blockchain. He uses his steem power to help high quality content and high quality people from minnows to whales. Like @ausbitbank he's using a combination of automatic votes and manual curation to be highly effective reaching a large number of people. I'm proud to call him friend and thankful for his work.

honorable mentions

@gmuxx- This guy has been talking about minnow posts through muxxy bot for a while. He's a charming brit and if he had a little more Steem Power he'd be on the above list without question.

@berniesanders- For a while he was using the majority of his steem power to run engagement which was curating the shit out of this place. If you were here as far back as 6 months ago you've highly likely gotten a vote from them and didn't even know that it was bernie helping your ass out. He's got his fingerprints all over the blockchain. The only thing that keeps him out of my top five is his flagging. It's not that he flags shit content, that's actually an incredibly valuable service, but it's that he calls them cunts afterwards (in his defense he recently flagged one of my posts without calling me a cunt afterward so maybe he'll be in the top list of mine next time).

@transisto- Another solid curator with a ton of power, but also didn't quite make my list because of his flagging. In his case it sometimes seems random to me, but on the whole despite being prickly at times he's a great investor in the Steem platform. He takes curation very seriously, and when he's doing good flag work he's actually doing a great service to the platform to return shitpost rewards back to the hard workers and quality content producers on the block. I'm not sure I can call him a friend, but I can share that he has my respect. Thanks for what you do bud!

More to come, but I've just delegated 1k SP to a MSP curation effort and plan to pump it up to 10k before too long

If you're interested in high quality curation talk to MSP moderators @isaria and @juliakponsford as they are sprearheading the msp curation effort and will start having more power soon. Check @minnowsupport for details.


This post was written on mspsteem.com a steemit.com clone hosted by @netuso with a 5% beneficiary to @minnowsupport.

Sort:  

This is such a great idea for a post, I love what he wrote about you. And I pushed your comment up as much as I was able :) Not enough people know what a champion for the platform and the little people you are, hopefully a ton will read this and learn.

THis is very true. About @ausbitbank has really encouraged minnows to steem on by curating their content. You forgot to mention @donkeypong and @surpassingoogle
They are really helpful and a big encouragement to the new steemains
I appreciate their works
Lastly @blocktrades is the reason why I’m here typing this
I nearly gave up on Steemit until he visited my blog somehow, upvoted one of my post and that changed my story. I got the motivation and zeal to steem on. This post is really nice
If they could get to see this
I just want to say they have been doing a good Job and have touched a lot of lives and in the process encouraged many minnows to steem on.
Thank you for sharing it.

Totally AGREE @Aggroed... Linda aka @Canadian-Coconut is just simply one of the BEST, very generous, kind AND as You suggested....

"She's a voracious reader and a wealth of knowledge. She's kind hearted and has shared multiple stories of taking people into her home and trying to get them back on her feet."

BIG Kudos to You Linda AND @Aggroed !!

Cheers !!

PS-I gave a 100% UpVote to Linda's comment above and it didn't even show up in the Top 20 UpVotes... Because Linda is so well known & liked within the Steemit Community....

he's SO right! I don't know how you do it to be honest!

It is well deserved Linda! Resteeming this post so all of you curators will continue to get credit and appreciation for your work!! I thank you Linda, @acidyo, @ausbitbank and @teamstean for every time you all have curated my posts. It really encouraged me and helped a minnow like me to stick around and I am so glad I did! 😊

God Bless you Ma'am Linda @canadian-coconut

Thanks for the nice words.
Most of the flagging I do is barely visible to most people. Reward suckers like to do it stealth mode. They do self voting during the last day or on their forgotten comments or just below the threshold to hit the main page. I sometime flag just to break old voting trails.
I take posts for what they are not for the people behind them. For example I just flagged one of @papa-pepper post, I'm sure he's a great guy but IMO the reward was too high relative to content.

It's a tough balance. I think you do a great job and I'm glad you're here!

1azb44.jpg

The tough part in regards to Steemit from the perspective of a new author is gaining exposure while wading through the shit pond of garbage posts in order to gain a following. There are so many junk articles out there it can be off putting to find your solid effort in writing an engaging and detailed post swallowed by a sea of bullshit articles consisting of regurgitated links and unoriginal thought that are for all intents and purposes spam.

I find it particularly frustrating when the aforementioned bullshit articles are nothing more than an aggregation of links copied and pasted from various sources such as Google news on a topic. It reminds me of Magpie, the old content aggregation code that we would use to vomit key word relevant articles into a feed on a site in order to move of the SERP and game the Adsense system.

U5dqv1bPasu2zHfppc8G4BoL3MPPPBV_1680x8400.jpg

This unfortunately creates a situation where talented authors or those that have the requisite grey matter between their ears to write solid content must debase their character and engage in link spamming comments or whale posts in the hopes of getting some love.

I’m not quite sure what the solution to this issue is. Perhaps a category of up and coming should be created where new authors are featured based upon a ratio of positive feedback relative to posts; though even that would not work as it again fails to address the issue of initial exposure in order to gain the needed positive feedback. Perhaps a metric needs to be applied to number of words vs. links, or number of words total. Longer more engaging articles would receive a multiplier based on the likelihood of them containing good content. Whereas posts of aggregated links would receive a penalty as they likely contain nothing of substance.

This may even address what I as a new user have come to see as “lazy whale syndrome”.. I’m a whale, I made it.. I’m just going to post articles full of links with the mentality that the legion of dung beetles following me will upvote in the hopes of gaining curation manna the turd I just produced.

I’m not sure what the actual solution is so I’ll just keep lurking in the shadows ambushing whale articles with link spam until I’m all grown up and can venture out on my own.

Also on a side note; Steemit seriously needs a larger text input box in the comment section for folks like me that actually like to type detailed responses… 

Aha! I think I will use that meme pic on spam comments on my post from now on.

You are a great man!

@transisto - If you're finding that your rewards are too high on your own post, what can you do to rectify it before other users see it as a potential issue? You can't reduce your own rewards as far as I know, right? I can't imagine coming across this on my own posts anytime soon, so asking for the future.

It is not in the ui but it is possible to set maximum payout using the steem package for Python.

I find it distasteful to flag for reward. It is like doing a Cyprus bail-in. Five dollars seems like a real high amount for a comment. I was here in 2016 and I saw rolelandp get thousands of dollars for their makeup tutorials so who am I to go ahead and flag somebody for $5 comment? No I will not flag this comment.

You do a LOT of good for this community and while I could easily see how a lot of people may not like your actions I think its mostly just selfish reasons. I have seen a LOT of actions that prove you care a lot about the success of this community and platform.

Thanks

I am honoured to be mentioned. One day I will make your list, you can count on it.

You do a great job Muxxy. Hopefully this can call some extra attention to what you're doing and get you even more support!

Many thanks dude. Fingers crossed.

As for your list, I agree totally. All mentioned are worthy of your accolade.

This is great info.

This is filled with the highest element of truth. I personally can say @canadian-coconut is not just the greatest curator I know, but a awesome reader and a greatly compassionate individual. My short time here on steemit has been overly sweet and positive. I came on steemit after reading some of her amazing posts and the recent project she and @markwhittam are involved with to help children.

She even went as far to read and give me constructive critics to be a better writer here on steemit. She is just awesome, Big-Hearted, and a natural fighter for Good. Thanks @canadian-coconut, words can not tell!.

Thank you @aggroed!

I really appreciate the person that you are. You've been a very positive influence in my life and a positive influence for Steem.

You're awesome and I'm glad to call you a friend too. I feel a deep connection.

So again, a big sincere thank you!

Again Totally with You @Aggroed regarding @TeamSteem !!

Who doesn't know @TeamSteem? He's one of the original founders of the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network. His French Canadian accent is immediately recognizable as well as his face and love of mangos. He's funny, charming, friendly, a growing presence with the Minnow Support Project, and one of the best curators on the chain. You can find him in multiple discord channels socializing and spreading good will for our Steem blockchain. He uses his steem power to help high quality content and high quality people from minnows to whales. Like @ausbitbank he's using a combination of automatic votes and manual curation to be highly effective reaching a large number of people. I'm proud to call him friend and thankful for his work.

I gave another 100% UpVote to @TeamSteem and barely made the Top UpVoters for TeamSteem...He is just simply one of the BEST Steemians and hopefully soon will be a Top 20 Witnesses for Steemit. Currently #33 on the Witness List.

Please consider voting for @TeamSteem as a Witness... please click on the link below to vote.

Respectfully Requested ---> https://steemit.com/~witnesses

BIG Kudos @Aggroed for Everyone mentioned in this Post !!

Cheers !!

Looking forward to working together even more in 2018. Should be fun!

I hope I can join in on the work too boss! ive been pulling my own weight on curation too, i actually try to emulate some of them (ausbit ,johal, teamsteem) by checking their voting on steemd, i looked for how they do it, its amazing.

Funny enough, everyone there got my witness vote, well except canadian-coconut.

Also, i would recommend @curie for your next top 5, along with @sndbox, @donkeypong, @kevinwong, @hanshotfirst, @surpassinggoogle.

These guys touch great community authors that would otherwise struggle on the platform.

Go TeamSteem!!!

I and we here at The Garden of Eden LOVE YOU!

@canadian-coconut is an angel here on Steem, definitely an example for other Steemians to follow.... I continue to be inspired by her drive to help others and of course bring some light to the issue of vaccination...
I must she is slowly winning me over to the anti-vaccine camp, I come from a medical science background, so I was very much pro vaccine but these blogs have really open my eyes to the many dangers that vaccine pose and how we still need an open dialogue on the issue...
Thank you for bringing the awareness

Yep. Second (or third, or maybe more...) that. @canadian-coconut has upvoted many of my posts on unschooling, and been a friend to those parents who are trying to find their way outside of the mainstream government education system. I count her as one of the top steemians about, and am really grateful for her support.

Very few people recognize this is a real problem

These people are very familiar to me. Thank you for pointing them out. They deserve the kudos they get for making really good posts more popular than the other ho-hum posts.

If one day I have enough SP, I'd like to do what they do (more than I can with what I have now).... I think it can be rewarding to know you are really spreading the daily rewards where they need to go. It's unfortunate they don't get thanked more than they do.. but you've just proven that we do care and I'm very thankful you wrote this post! 100% upvote.

You can always start anytime! As long as you have above 500SP, you can vote round and manage VP, a great guy will always be a great guy. I have see your works too, and unfortunately the flags given to you too, just keep at it, and put more more effort.

You have really mentioned great people. @teamsteem is awesome! Selfless and has a good heart. I would also like to add @donkeypong and @kevinwong in my own list as they arw part of my awesome curators.

Am glad people like these are always there for tge yoing generation like us on this platform. They have always got our backs and am proud of them all. Shout out to @johalfiles... you rock!

@canadian-coconut and @markwhittam on the #familyprotection where I first knew them are wonderful too.

Thabks for compiling this wonderful list.

Yes, @donkeypong would most certainly be added to this list in my book, he was my first champion, and an all around champion for steemit with a huge heart :) And right with him is @surpassinggoogle.

Totally Agree with You @GloGlo about everyone You've mentioned in Your comment above.

Cheers !!

Great Post @aggroed, i can absolutely agree to the list above :) I talked at least to a few guys in there and they all care a lot about the well being of this blockchain and curate great stuff.
This is the spirit!
Thanks alot guys
Jan

...helping spread the values of Peace, Abundance, and Liberty, help Steem grow, and train and retain new users on teh platform...

This is damn near poetic....and should be the motivation for everyone on steemit. Sadly, it is not but it is a good goal.

Steem can be the blockchain to freedom for hundreds of millions of people. Few take the time to look at their motives. If we operate exclusively from self interest, that will cause us to encounter others who are doing the same. However, when we come from a place of spreading abundance, we find that our lives are filled with it.

I thank you for all you do on here and your year of giving back to this community to help it grow.

I am going into my 4th month here and look forward to doing what I can to help it grow. Steem has a huge future.

Right on! It's really inspiring and motivating to see this sort of attitude on here.

I'm originally from YouTube really, but the demonetization of the smallest things has really started to push me away. Here I can keep sharing what I know and what I'm passionate about for free, and even potentially be rewarded for it. The whole time meeting well meaning people because it seems like everyone can win together here.

Oh you didnt share it for free...it was monetized....just YouTube took all th emoney.

Welcome and I hope you find this place a lot more to your liking. You might want to start posting on D.tube.

The posts appear in your blog on here automatically too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78