Curie Author Showcase (October 11, 2018)

in #curation5 years ago

  • In the spirit of Curie's mission to promote undiscovered but exceptional content, we wish to use this twice weekly section to provide an author showcase for some of the outstanding authors who received Curie upvotes in past week. Curie curators and reviewers nominate authors for inclusion in this showcase and author approval is sought and attained.

  • For those new to Curie, please follow @curie, and join us on Discord: https://discord.gg/jQtWbfj

  • Follow @curie's votes to support the authors. Please consider following our trail and voting for curated authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @curie is an available trail to follow.

  • Vote for the @curie witness to support Curie operations (all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations).

  • If you would like to delegate to Curie you can do so by clicking on the following links:
    50 SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
    Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Featured Author: @mibreit-photo
Photographing Vietnam - Sapa


Images property of @mibreit-photo

One of my favorite things about the Steem Blockchain is the many amazing travel and photography posts. I am likely never going to travel to places like Melbourne, Australia, the mountains of Europe, or Sapa, Vietnam. Through the blockchain we get to see others on adventures all around the world in many exotic locations, as well as some that people think are ordinary locales which can still be fascinating to those unfamiliar with them.

Today's Author Showcase takes us to Sapa, Vietnam with @mibreit-photo. Along the way they capture a great 15 minute long video and so many stunning views throughout the countryside of Vietnam.

@mibreit-photo shared the following with us -

When I visited Vietnam for the first time nearly two years ago I instantly fell in love with the country - even though it was winter and the landscape didn't look nearly as vibrant as I had seen in photos. So I knew I had to come back, which I did this September. And the conditions around harvest time were just perfect as you can read in this article and see in the accompanying photos and video.

Go check out @mibreit-photo's photographic journey in Vietnam

Featured Author: @wilins
Steemit Openmic week #106
No preguntes por mí // Do not ask for me
(Original song by @Wilins Méndez).


Images property of @wilins

Another thing I love about the blockchain is the many incredible and creative musical artists on the platform. Today I share one of my favorites, @wilins. I think I have personally gotten him three or four big Curie votes in the past. While I wasn't the one to submit this post, I am still happy to be able to share it here in the Showcase with all of you who may have missed it.

He comes out week after week with amazing songs and much more. At times he might do some cover songs, but when he really shines is when he performs the songs that he has written. His soulfulness, and emotion come through so much more in his own work. I often point out how it doesn't matter if you understand a single word of Spanish or not - you can still enjoy his work. It is so great to hear that his talent is actually "paying off" a bit and will allow him to improve his current life situation caused by his failing native country of Venezuela, as he shares below.

I am very grateful to you for your consideration. Just at this moment of my life, it is vital to find these signs of affection: for me and for my artistic work. I live in Venezuela and, as you know, the social and economic situation are unfavorable. For that reason and more, this October 31 I will emigrate to Spain ... thanks to the help that Steemit has given me, through @Openmic, @Curie votes and other contests, on the platform. As you know I am a musician composer and writer of songs, poems and novels.

Go listen to @wilins newest Open Mic song.

Featured Author: @edouard
Battle of the Brush: Super-Hero


Images property of @edouard

Next up we head out to a "Battle of the Brushes" competition where @edouard gives us a rundown of the competition and his own in-depth critiques of all the works entered. While this isn't the normal art related post we see on the blockchain or here in the Showcase, I do like the idea of a post from an art critic. We often see reviews of movies, television, restaurants, and much more here on the site, so why not a critique of an art show?

I think for my personal favorite I agree with @edouard. I really like the Metropolis painting from Soda Leavey and Chris Watson, even if it doesn't quite fit the Super-Hero theme.

Go read @edouard's critique of the Battle of the Brush: Super-Hero

Featured Author: @grimjim
What the GOBLIN SLAYER anime can teach us about low-level monsters


Images property of @grimjim

We now move onto a melding of anime and tabletop RPG. @grimjim gives us an in-depth look at the Goblin Slayer anime, and more importantly the fundamentals behind creating a game that players will enjoy being a part of. He explains what pitfalls to avoid, how to structure the game play to make it both enjoyable and challenging to the players - especially in today's culture.

Go watch the full video here - and always remember - "Goblin' ain't easy!"


Featured Author: @tomschlaiss
Innocence


Images property of @tomschlaiss

We finish up today's Author Showcase with a rather unique piece of art. As I said in my comment on the post - I am not quite sure why I like this piece, but yet I am drawn to it and just find myself staring at it each time I revisit it. I really do think that great art can do that, and never really needs to explain itself in your mind as to why you like it.

My name is my name, word is word, art is art. This is obvious and unobvious. Art is seeking answers and finding questions. The process is the artwork and not the product. Life is the process and not death. It only has to end for something new to arise. The same cannot last forever but every end has a beginning. An unchanging change. Intuitive thoughts. I better stop writing and take a pen.

Go take a closer look at "Innocence"

This Curie Author Showcase was written by Curie Curator @randomwanderings (Gene) at times with input from other Curie curators and reviewers. All images and quoted texts are the copyright of their respective authors.

Sort:  

This are some wonderful people who deliver the quality we like to see in posst.

Thank you

I enjoy reading and spend my little vote on each

Congratulations to all featured authors and posts. Thanks to @curie

Thanks for the consideration! It is an honor. "Curie Author Showcase (October 11, 2018)". The publication is beautiful, @curie.
REVERENCIA (10).png

Merci!! I thank you for sharing my art.

Congratulations @curie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added
Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Amazing!!! thats amazing, is a great oportunitty for grow up as an artist, and a good way to share and know about different artists, is AMAZING!!!

Wonderful curation, as always :) and I love that last piece of art as well. Why it works so wonderfully is the negative space that which is left open for our eye to rest gives us the pull of the curve of the piece from center left to finish on lower right. This curvilinear line gives one the progression of time and finality much like reading a good story, we arrive, go on a curving tour of possibilities and we end, as do all roads and lived, in a final flourish.

There is much good in this piece and I love 'story' in art work, as I am always going on about, and one could get lost in this for quite awhile always finding new means to interpret it.

I love art for this the most, the journey we take. I love to write and used to write more actual stories, but with art I feel I can write an opus in one piece, a chapter can be the curve of a line or the splash of paint.

I can go o ( but won't don't worry ) about how much I love art and how much it means to all of us and to humanity in general. It is the place to go when even someone has no real place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76