Maximizing Curation Rewards from Trail Votes via Steemauto

in #curation5 years ago

steemauto.png
Source


A couple of weeks ago, I've made a change to my Steemauto settings that caused my curation rewards to increase to almost 0.5 Steem on good days. Now I'm getting to a point where I'm actually earning something automatically, just with my curation trail votes for Helpie and The Steem Engine.

Take a look at my most recent daily curation rewards:

Not too bad, right? I'll explain how I've maximized those curation rewards, without having to increase my Steem Power.


All I've done to achieve this, was change my voting weight method on Steemauto from Scaled to Fixed. I had noticed that I was casting a lot of votes that basically had no value, mostly on the curation trails of Helpie and The Steel Engine. By changing the voting weight method to scaling, I am 100% certain that every vote has some value and includes curation rewards.

I find that using fixed voting weight on curation trails, guarantees that you're not casting votes that are too low. Before changing this setting, the majority of my votes were less than 5%, since Helpie & The Steem Engine tend to upvote with varying percentages.


Keep in mind that you should always set your manna limit high enough, I currently have mine on 85%. Thus it keeps my Voting Power high enough for some manual curation as well.

I recommend trying to find the best settings for you. It all depends on how much Steem Power you have and how much voting you do manually. For me it worked out great!




View this post on Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Sort:  

I set my limit to 85% also for my fanbase, I dont follow any trails at the moment as I do a lot of voting myself, but when I take a break this is something i must remember when I set it to follow a couple of trails, thaks for sharing

No problem. I hope you have your fanbase set to vote at around 15 minutes? Otherwise you might also be missing out on the highest curation rewards. You probably know that though ;)

Cheers and yes I went and changed the settign to 15 Minutes a while back :)

Great information. I stopped following curation trails a while ago so I could focus more on manual curation. I might have to look back into it though. I need to get my account a little bigger first. It is awesome that you have found some settings that are working really well for you.

Yeah, it has made a huge difference. It's not like I follow that many trails anyway, though the Helpie trail drains a lot of VP :P

I bet it does, but that is probably where you get the bulk of your curation rewards from.

Posted using Partiko Android

I learn so much from your posts @daan! I used to steadfastly use manual curation, but I'm frequently away without a wifi connection, so auto-voting helps avoid wasted voting power. I will definitely take your advice on this.

Yeah, it's better than to just waste it. Plus, I think we can trust the trails that we follow. I don't have the time to read hundreds of posts anyway, but that doesn't mean that they don't deserve an upvote.

Thanks for the nice comment!

85% is a high limit, but then again I don't vote using curation trails. I prefer to choose who I vote on. You probably know I do use SteemAuto.. though but for specific people.

I first had it on 90% :) I only vote on the curation trails of Helpie and TSE, I'm pretty sure that they have pretty tight selection processes, so I'm not opposed to supporting posts I haven't personally read.

Very interesting trails you follow @daan!
I'll check these right away.

Yeah they're from the communities I'm most active in. I actually want to follow the Utopian trail as well, but that would just drain my VP too much I think.

Maybe I'll add it when I'm on vacation.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @daan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.752 which ranks you at #4841 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 215 contributions, your post is ranked at #49.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Yes true, I changed to fixed months ago and when my voting value changes I look to see if I need to adapt the % in the trails.. fixed will give you much more curation if you pay attention :-) great job!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 334 (12/08/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86