Is it ethical to use a curation / tip bot?

in #curation5 years ago (edited)

View this answer on Musing.io

An age old question and yet again, we all need answers at least here on musing :-)

Let me begin by saying that people have grown on Steemit by spending money on:

  • competitions
  • charity
  • sponsoring events 
  • buying delegations
  • ....etc. (this list is practically endless)

Bid-bot votes are not partial to good content. It’s a system where you pay to get votes - Quality does not factor into it. This is the primary reason that raises questions about ethics. 

I joined Steemit in January 2018 and visited the trending page quite frequently in the early days. Then gradually my visits to the  trending page declined, without me even noticing. The first time I actually consciously thought about why I didn't visit the trending page more, was when a guy I followed wrote a post about the low quality of  trending posts. Without even realizing I had given up on the trending  page.... (Although maybe things might have changed in the past few months that I have been inactive)

I think that people just don't read and listen to below average content. The truth is that most are not even reading the good content, so why would one think that they would peruse bad content much less upvote it. As of now bid-bod votes are only good for getting visibility on this platform. They are barely profitable but can give you enough boost to make a post trend (All my experience here points towards the fact that bid-bots are not profitable, at least not for the one paying for the vote)

One can clearly see that  posts in the trending section are almost all bot voted (Although maybe things might have changed in the past few months that I have been inactive). Following where the upvotes came from is pretty easy on the blockchain. I have seen selfie posts on the trending section (worth hundreds of dollars) and it wouldn't have been weird if the selfie was of a particularly good quality. Somehow even a selfie and a substandard one at that can be pumped enough by bot votes to reach the trending status. 

..... I will say once again that bid-bots and quality are two mutually exclusive  subsets of this ecosystem. I will also recommend that I have seen several great steemians grow organically and I am pretty sure that you can do the same as well (this is the impression I got from the detailing of your question on musing)

Let me say this as a conclusion - Posts, good or bad can be pumped and made to trend and become more visible. Bid bots votes are not all that profitable in terms of dollars, on the other hand there are other (organic) ways to spend money and grow on Steemit, if you take all that money that you might spend on bid-bots and use that as prize for a few small small competitions, than this can attract users to your blog and allow you to gain new followers.

Bid-bots are a bad deal (unless you are a sponsor/owner of that bot and it is partial to you), not to mention the bad Karma that it can attracts. Trust me you can easily make a mark here on the Steem community without bots. We have a great example in guys like @nathanmars (awesome thinker and networker), @reddust (great artist), @coruscate (content creator). You can take a look at their journey on the Steem Blockchain and trust me you'll find inspiration there.

Sort:  

if you take all that money that you might spend on bid-bots and use that as prize for a few small small completions, than this can attract users to your blog and allow you to gain new followers.

Nailed it.

Contests/competitions (I prefer not to see the 'you need to up-vote/follow/resteem stuff as it's considered spam/abuse in TOS anyway) even for a couple of monster cards, can gain decent traction and engagement.

The app owners are always looking to support content that promotes their work (free, organic advertising is always nice) and I think this is a decent method of gaining traction on Steem.

Good to see you around, I hope you are feeling better after recent events.

p.s. Did i miss the blocktrades/Steemfest 3 interview?!

Feeling much better .... thanks for asking man!

And you didn't miss it I still have to post around ten more interviews that I have left. I was just posting them in the order that I a took them ..... you'll be up soon :-)

No worries, glad to hear it :)

I did an interview? I don't remember!?!

Well Shit! Although I am feeling embarrassed for not keeping track of my own work but how did I miss you? ..... Next time then!

hah

I think you may have asked me, and I politely declined or changed the subject. But yeah, if there is a next time I'll be up for it :)

if there is a next time I'll be up for it

I'll have this comment open on my phone when I ask you for the interview next time!

I believe that bots destroy the „honesty“ of this community! I would NOT use them to keep fairness alive

Posted using Partiko iOS

Some bots ( surviving with delegations) help various members!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Not sure why I pasted this gif ...... maybe we need drastic action :-)

Aww thanks for the mention @hashcash! I think you did a great job of laying out some of the issues with bid bots.

Ps... I hope you are doing well!! It’s been a while since we last chatted! 😃

Yeah I have been on a sick leave. Although I am a bit unsure of saying that this is my re-entry post but I am hoping to be a little more regular.

Always nice to bump into my guys on Steem :-)

No one looks at trending anymore. It is full of the big upvote buyers we all recognize looking in steembottracker.com . Your feed is the most important source of checking people. PS I use bots as well myself as well.

True.....

PS: I have used bots a few times in the past but discovered their futility.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 191 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Awesome answer man thanks. I feel like this is some pretty great advice. I was thinking that on rare occasions I could use them to signal boost certain content, maybe something that I've been working on a lot... but even that feels kinda' cheap.

I'm still navigating the moral labyrinth that is this topic, but you've certainly helped light the way.

Thanks man! Nice to know that I could be of help :-)

There are no hard and fast rules here, except maybe to remember that you and I are the community. Helping it is like helping ourselves!

Hi, @hashcash!

You just got a 0.1% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

no..bots are not ethical

To the point as always.......nice to see you man!

Great to see you back at it! Look forward to seeing more of you. The bid bots are an interesting issue as they have a purpose but it seems it has gone too far... I have only used them 2-3 times and never felt the real benefit.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks man, I hoping to be more regular this time.

True...... That's just the thing. After using a bot you wonder why did you even bothered, since we all end up paying more Steem/SBD than the upvote that we receive. The whole issue becomes a no-brainer when we have better ways to build up your account - competitions, delegations and such.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94