Building Your SteemPower Without Writing Pulitzer Prize ArticlessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #curation5 years ago


I have begun to look at building my SteemPower here on the blockchain as a game...

One that I'm always try to win and improve upon :)

I'm getting some great SP because I'm choosing 100% Steem Power for rewards payout more often than not. And even without choosing 100% SP, the payouts have been fantastic....That is of course, if you are more interested in accumulating the actual crypto rather than what it's trading at :)

That being said...Creating content everyday is the number one struggle for new content creators on the blockchain. And regardless of what the popular opinion may be, STEEM still thrives as a place to create content and get it absorbed by the community!

I was attending the State of Steem weekly meeting yesterday hosting by @pennsif and was taken back by a comment made by @paulag and then highlighted by @therealwolf

"Steem needs more content CONSUMERS, not just content creators!"

To that I say...Amen!

Here's the issue....

The debate on what is 'quality content' will rage forever. One man's trash is another man's treasure and I don't think any one person has the right to decide what is quality and what is not. So this leaves new Steemians that are excited to build their brand on Steem in between a rock and hard place...

One one hand, they are told to create content and be seen by the masses. And on the other, they are told they are not Pulitzer Prize winning authors and should bow to the all powerful 'professional' authors and content creators.

It's funny because, I believe you get better at creating content over time when you actually...Create content over time ;) But here's my solution for anyone that is excited to build their Steem Power on the blockchain....Without hurting the feelings of the content police.

ENGAGE! COMMENT! ASK QUESTIONS! CONSUME!!!!

Take a look at this screen shot...

curation

Over the past 7 days I've been on the road and haven't been able to create the content I usually do. Sure I used some awesome apps like @appics over the past week but I enjoy writing...A lot!

So instead I used @partiko and curated some great content. Engaged with it. Made comments. Asked questions....And CONSUMED IT!

Because of that, I still earned over 10 Steem Power by....Not creating, but consuming content and curating it!

Now granted, the amount of Steem Power you have personally will determine how much SP you receive from your curation...But this was a wake up call for me.

We are so busy trying to CREATE maybe it's time we stop and appreciate the awesome stuff being created by others on the blockchain. Not only do we add to their journey but we also can generate Steem Power by simply...Enjoying what they are putting out there.

This solves some major problems for new Steemians....First it allows them to get a feel for what they would enjoy when it comes to content on the blockchain. They can ease their way into the community and engage with their fellow Steemians. But it also empowers them to 'get out there'...They do not feel the pressure of needing to write the prize winning article...They can just be themselves an d earn some Steem Power in the process.

As I progress further with the #RoadTo177SP initiative, I think I will focus much more on the consuming aspects of STEEM...The curation that makes STEEM so powerful! Remember, everyone wins when we curate, comment and engage with each other....

The Pulitzers will come....Right now, let's just build those relationships!


Want to learn how to maximize your time on the STEEM blockchain? We'd love to welcome you to the family...Check out SteemSavvy today for fantastic free STEEM education...



steem



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://plus1daily.com/building-your-steempower-without-writing-pulitzer-prize-articles/

Sort:  

We most definitely need more consumers. However, for newcomers with low SP curation isn't an earner. It's more the comments and then you have to hope for upvotes on them. Another issue with low SP since RCs is that you're limited somewhat with the amount of comments you can make. So it's still not the most rewarding place for consumers until they have that SP built up. It's a bit of a catch 22 situation really.

Posted using Partiko Android

Exactly. On one hand commenting is fun and it makes your name known in your niche for more votes + therefore SP - on the other hand you need RCs to comment...
One trick for saving a bit of RCs: if you want it reply to comments to a post of you wait two days - it's rare that meaningful comments come later. Than write all answers in one comment with mentioning the steemians. Even if there are only two people you writ to you used half the RCs ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

That's a good tip! Especially as we get more front ends which can alert you when you've been tagged, like partiko.

Posted using Partiko Android

absolutely. that’s why as a community developing strategies to get more rc and sp is critical if we want to build a stronger platform :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Agreed. You can't help others if you can't help yourself first.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think you can tell a lot about people's use patterns by looking at their top level post to comment ratio. For example, I have made 166 posts, and 3,145 comments... meaning that I post almost 19 comments for every original post, which I think would make me a content COMSUMER, by most counts.

Curation and engagement make a big difference! This is of course very much a niche blog, so building my SP has been a slow process; my "general interest" posts earn a lot more than my "cat" posts.

No, we don't have to post "Pulitzer Quality" content... I think it's more important to look at whether a post adds VALUE to the community, and "value" can come in many different shapes and sizes. I do like *originality," vs. copied or reposted content, though...

=^..^=

agreed. the content must be original for sure. i think steem does a pretty good job as a whole community to keep original content in the fore front. not a perfect job but it’s a good job :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I couldn't agree more and I am on the same page with you mate. I try really hard to build my account since I am a very big fan and believer of steem. So apart from my one maybe two daily posts, I read others' blogs to I mean I read...a lot. And also curate as much as I can. And Now that you've mentioned it I just checked steemworld only to realize that I have 10.5 SP pending curation rewards :O
I think its pretty good...

Creating is equally important with consuming. And as you said, you don't need to write novels...even microblogging which promotes engagement could be way more interesting than a super lengthy post. There is room for everyone

oh ya. this stuff starts adding up quick. i’ve been as high as like 15-20 steem power a week. just from curation and commenting. that’s one of the best parts of this blockchain in my opinion.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You are so right about improving with practice. I teach my students to write by having them write, giving them feedback, and having them read--then write about what they read.

Posted using Partiko Android

absolutely and that’s why i never understand why people get slammed on steem for at least trying. people get better with practice and encouragement

Posted using Partiko iOS

An example from my knitting class: I let the girls look through some of my books to pick their next project. After just a few months of experience, one girl picked some beautiful gloves--one of the hardest things to knit (10 fingers, knit individually!!!). I didn't want to discourage her, though, so I talked her into some equally beautiful mittens and told her if she enjoyed knitting 2 thumbs, she could then go on to make gloves. That's how my mom taught me--she let me dive in and figure things out and ask for help and sometimes unravel things and start over. To love the process as well as the product.

Yes it is so true. I have also been the writing type. Engagement through comments really matters. I'm gradually try to change that and trying to engage more through comments. Nice article.

Posted using Partiko Android

appreciated. ya man. it makes all the difference in my opinion.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Enlightening post, having always approached social media with the idea that why visit a post at all if you are not going to read it, absorb another persons point of view, writing, photography, DIY, gardening, leave a comment, who knows you may even learn something new.

Always learning, thoroughly enjoyed you post being one that ends up supporting many, reading commenting, replying, sometimes running out of time to do my own posts, at the end of the day I am satisfied one way or the other, people do enjoy a response.

Found this in Daily @qurator

absolutely. and thanks for the kind comments. i mean the least we can do on steem is to reply to people that take time out to reply to us. i appreciate it very much :) and i agree. we always need to be learning everyday ;)

Posted using Partiko iOS

excellent blog post. content creators stuggle because there is not enough consumers. Some topics do well, talk about steem and you have the audience, but try something else and well, you know your self how it goes.
resteemed

much appreciated. you mentioned this yesterday and i thought it was the perfect point. we need more consumers to see steem grow. that’s so important.

Posted using Partiko iOS

People want easy to digest content. If you want to do well on the blockchain you should be producing content that is good, but doesn't take hours to write, and content that is easy to read in a few minutes.

I'm a fiction writer but I very rarely publish my fiction on here because it simply doesn't do as well as a standard blog.

check out the writers block. that is. a community of writers that might be perfect for your fiction

Posted using Partiko iOS

Maybe do some featured excerpts, just a short piece to introduce your work?

I learned this very early as well! I recall getting more rewards for my commenting that my actual posts for the first couple of months! Curating is not only fun but really motivating for authors and I think that there is a myth that we should on curate posts we think will be worth more as I have seen that I often get more curation rewards from low valued posts than what I get from those than can get pretty high.

Posted using Partiko iOS

oh wow is it ever. i love. absolutely love. finding cool stuff on the blockchain.

Posted using Partiko iOS

There is amazing opportunity here to accumulate steem power by reading and commenting. I'm guilty myself of not really doing a good job of reading, commenting, and curating appropriately. It's a tough process for me but I'm spending some time here in January and really thinking through some things. Enjoying some photography, and adjusting my thought process. Thanks for always making me think, Jon!

loving the pics man. i’m still trying to master the microphone lol but lightning is next lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70