“Let's Talk Curation” (Video Series) | Part One - What's A Curie And How Do You Get One?

in #curation6 years ago (edited)



862087DE-1C8F-4215-B386-BB6596B24256.jpeg


I get asked a lot of questions about curation while out working in communities on the Steem Blockchain. (For those that don't know, I am pretty passionate about curation. I am currently a Curie Curator, while also a Co-founder of the @c-squared Curation Group). Some of the most common questions I hear over and over have to do with how the @Curie curation group works.

Curie is a well known name here on the blockchain, but I have found that many people aren't exactly sure about some of the specific details. While all this information can be found in the whitepaper, I thought it might be helpful to explain it here as well. So, I have compiled some of the most frequent questions that I hear and will try to answer them the best I can in this series.

What Is A Curie And How Do You Get One? | Part One - A Look At The Process Behind Receiving A Curie Vote.

In this post I will try to cover what happens behind the scenes before an author gets that awesome upvote. In the future videos I will touch on some other aspects of Curie, but am specifically focusing on What is a Curie and how do you get one in this post.

Before continuing, Please go and check out Curie’s White Paper. I will try to include quotes below, but it explains the official inner workings of Curie and will answer many questions you may have.

All liquid rewards from this post will be donated to @curie to help them continue to help uplift authors.


A video was requested... so you guys get to hear me ramble again...

So, Let’s get started...



What is @curie exactly?

IMG_3983.jpeg
Curie is a community curation initiative made up of a diverse group of individuals. They focus on improving the platform through rewarding under rewarded authors that are adding value through exceptional content. As well as direct curation, community building support, and development.

Curie is a community witness and a meritocratic community curation project. Following are Curie’s main goals:
• To discover and reward undiscovered but exceptional content by persistent creators with limited success.
• To empower quality curators.
• To develop a curation community on Steem.
• To build communities.
• To serve as a community witness.
All of this with an absolute commitment to meritocracy and transparency with an aspiration towards zero corruption.


Who started Curie?

It was started by a group of like minded individuals over 2 years ago. I think this post best describes The Who and why Curie was initially founded;
https://steemit.com/steemit/@donkeypong/announcing-project-curie-bringing-rewards-and-recognition-to-steemit-s-undiscovered-and-emerging-authors
Many of these individuals are still involved and even though things have changed slightly as the platform has evolved, the core goal is still the same.


What was the history of the @curie community's progress, through the inevitable difficulties faced, to become what it is today?

Curie has definitely had its ups and downs as far as support goes. In fact at one point getting a Curie vote would put you on the trending page, and to be honest.. I really wish it still would. In the past Curie has gotten a lot of community support through delegations, which allowed it to make quite the impact. Currently, while it does have some wonderful support, it desperately needs more to continue.


What does Curie do with the Steem it earns?

Curie is non profit, and always has been. It is not focused on growing its own account and all additional funds are put back into the platform through either community support, community building or development of helpful tools etc. (https://steemlookup.com/#/ is the free Curie made search engine development for the blockchain and https://www.becquerel.io our Curie developed and open source submission platform). 100% of Curie's profits are distributed back to the community, always has.. always will be.

Curie’s ownership and governance is decentralized, as expected of a community project. Curie earns revenues largely from curation rewards, with author rewards, witness rewards and donations accounting from trace amounts. 100% of all revenues are distributed back to Curie’s contributors.

Curie will be around as long as it’s needed and has the support to continue. Every individual involved is passionate about what they do, and will fight to continue to support authors as long as they can.


Who are the curators? How did they become curators?

The current active list of curators can be found in Curie’s weekly update published each Sunday, and are archived in the Curie Discord Servers announcements channel.

To become a Curie curator you essentially join the discord and are mentored by someone. We are required to achieve very high acceptance rates (% of posts submitted that are approved), because each rejection actually costs the project money.. and wasting resources that could be used to up lift authors is just unacceptable. So, while anyone can be a curator.. there is a bit of training involved.

Previously, Curie had completely open submissions. However, this proved to be unsustainable due to unmanageable volumes, so currently new curators need to be mentored and recommended by existing curators. Existing curators are offered a generous reward for recommending new curators, to incentivize on-boarding new curators.


How did hendrikdegrote find out about the @curie community?

This is a question I hear a lot, and who can blame them? His vote carries a pretty big punch and everyone wonders how he is involved with Curie. All I can say here is he has been a supporter by following the @curie vote since I have been with Curie, I’m not entirely sure how long before my time he joined the trail but his support is the main reason Curie votes still have the impact that they do. He’s a silent supporter you could say, so I can’t answer too many questions to be honest.. because I just don’t know.


How/where do curators find posts?

This one has a lot of possible answers, but essentially they spend a lot of time searching. As curators, we manually search the platform looking for those hidden gems that match the Curie criteria we are looking for. They follow authors they think produce high quality content, search feeds, resteems etc.

One of the most helpful tools for curators is the Curie developed (and free to the public) steemlookup.com, which is a search tool designed for the Steem platform. It allows you to select certain tags and search filters to find those hidden gems. It’s also great to for the everyday user to find those topics that interest you!

So, while there are many ways of how curators find posts, it all comes down to.. they look pretty hard for them.

The goal always being, To uplift under rewarded authors who add value to the platform through their content, consistency and engagement.


What happens after they find a post?

After a curator finds a post they feel is exceptional they have some work to do...

You see, It’s not about just deciding if a post is good or not, there is a lot of background that goes into it. And that starts with the curator.. here is a breakdown of what goes into that;

  • They then look at the authors history. Are they engaging with other members of the platform? Are they consistently contributing content to the platform? Are their rewards minimal for what they provide? (Current rewards level is under $5)

  • Then they do a thorough check for plagiarism, which is again all done manually.

  • Curie wants original to Steemit, so then the curator must search to make sure it’s not posted elsewhere. There is a 7 day window for other social media platforms, but it cannot be anywhere else older than that.

If all of that checks out, and they feel it is truly exceptional, they submit it for review on the Curie developed (and open source) https://www.becquerel.io


How does the review process work?

Then, the reviewer that is on shift does all those checks again.. and they are even more thorough due to their experience.

  • They check for plagiarism, repost, and ultimately decide if it fits criteria and is in fact exceptional.

  • If approved, they decide percentage and place the vote. Which is followed by the extensive trail, which includes that Hendrikdegrote name that many people recognize.

After a curator submits a post to Curie, a reviewer verifies its quality before voting on it. For some posts, the reviewer may seek second or third opinion from fellow reviewers. Poor quality submissions are disapproved by reviewers.

Sometimes the review process can take a few minutes if a reviewer is on shift and sees that the post is in fact exceptional. Or it may take a few hours for many reasons.

Also, if a reviewer just isn’t sure about a post, they may leave it for the next reviewer to review.. and that I believe this adds another level of ensuring inclusiveness and ensures there is no bias shown or issues with personal taste.


Who are the reviewers?

Reviewers are long term top curators who have excelled and therefore earned a promotion to be a reviewer. Many have been with the project since the beginning and are extremely passionate about uplifting authors. They have the experience needed to keep Curie high quality standard while being fair and unbiased.

Curators with sustained high curation scores over six months are promoted to being Reviewers, as per demand. Through excellent quality curation, anyone can be a top curator, and anyone can be a reviewer. All thresholds are predetermined, so there’s a great degree of objectivity and meritocracy.

Long term top curators qualify for becoming reviewers. As with Curation Scores, there’s a predetermined qualification criteria for reviewer qualification. Currently, this is 250 Curation Score and 95% Approval Rate over a period of 6 months.


So, as you can see... the process is all manual and includes many sets of eyes to ensure Curie is voting on original content by under rewarded authors that are producing exceptional content. Having curators and reviewers from many different backgrounds ensures that it is a very inclusive curation initiative.

Curie’s sole goal is to improve the platform, and will be around as long as it is needed.


Do you feel it is still needed?

I personally feel Curie is needed more now than ever. In a time where our trending page leaves something to be desired, and many valuable authors are slipping through the cracks. Curation initiatives like @Curie are doing what they can to improve the platform, but they need our help. Curie depends on community support, and without it many authors may stay undiscovered.


unnamed.jpg

If you would like to delegate to Curie you can do so by clicking on the following links:

50 SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.


I hope that answers some of your questions while also giving you a look into the work that goes on behind the scenes of this amazing initiative.

If you have any other questions you would like me to answer just drop them in the comments and I will do my best to answer them. Stay tuned for Part Two...


Much Love and Steem On,

Justine

All quotes taken from the Curie Whitepaper
Also, I’m not a official Curie rep, but have been with them for about 6mths curating. This is just my personal opinion and experience based on that.

Sort:  

Oh wow .. this ''ramble'' ( as you say it :P ) was quite enlightening , as I had a general idea on how the Curie system worked this video tackled many things I had no idea about ! From the whole process of how a post is reviewed to the actual Curie goals when it comes to it's account.. I never went to see how big the Curie account was since I assumed it was a big SP stakeholder .. so .. that came as a surprise and hey ! it's not a small thing to put into weight in the big picture! It was great to know more of the in and outs that go between the levels of members too , big respect ! There's a lot more work that I thought it was with all of you.

Though I'm not what you could actively call a curator, I try to do my thing here and there with little initiatives , most die , some stick around longer , I've been a @curie supporter pretty much since I found about it . My vote has been there for as long as I can remember ( ever since I learned how to set up a trail vote , though it must be a dust nowadays.. ) as I am also very into the idea that the most important value of the platform should be the people and quality content they provide and engagement to the community ( though unfortunately we are still not there in my opinion , but hey.. we are trying and of course Curie has been on the lead for as long as I can remember) .

Also , I've said this dozen of times .. Curie is the reason I stuck around .. When I first joined and submitted my first song it got a very big Curie , about $100 at that time and it kicked off the though of ''Oh wow.. someone actually thinks my art is worth something'' .. I first only thought that ''hendrikdegrote'' was a music enthusiast , I learned about what Curie was later on .. and for the first months around here ( like many others) I had no idea on how to network , meet people , etc. I did not have a discord or knew where communities ''hanged out'' .. none of that . My whole mindset for the first months was : " If I put enough effort and make content good enough it might get curied'' and I did very extensive music articles and lessons... I basically ''worked for a curie'' those times hahaha.. and I got it quite regularly .. to which I am very very grateful .. it's at least 70% - 80% of the reason I am still around a year later :D .

My content and activity has changed a lot since those days since the more I learn on the in and outs of this platform I find myself doing quite more work on the background while trying to ''keep a front page'' . But well you know about behind the scenes work 10 times more that I do :P ..

OH! and btw.. just checked ...

Screen Shot 2018-10-13 at 4.50.46 AM.png

this just happened on my last big post! , on a song I released almost a year after the first Curie .. so .. thank you @curie for still being around .. it is tremendously appreciated!

Thank you for all you do @llfarms , your efforts are greatly appreciated by many on the platform and I know you are one of the people trying to ''make this place work'' and take it on the right direction , others will follow the lead I'm sure ;) .

And unrelated ... I like the video location :) ! If I had some green around my place I'd totally set a camera there hehehehe!

Lastly : "Chocolate cake is life'' .. BOOM

much love

Pechi

Thank you! I think you are an amazing curator.. curie of course is not the only curation group or just individuals busting their bums to try to uplift authors.. I think it just one of the names people recognize, so they have questions. I think the work you do equally helps to keep those authors here and improve the platform.. thank you for that ❤️

I think it surprises many how small the Curie account really is right now. I think it is a good thing to note, because many might think it’s got all the support it needs etc. So, while talking about an accounts size is not something I do often.. I figured it was a good to make people aware of.

I love you Curie story, and even more that a year later you are still here and adding so much value! You are a huge community supporter and quite frankly the poster boy for engagement... both on the platform and your many projects behind the scenes.

You rock Pechi, thanks for the support here and for Curie.

and of course chocolate cake is life ❤️

Thank you for spelling this out @llfarms! It obviously took you a while to put this together, and I'm very thankful to you for that :)

Bookmarked! It's my go-to for anyone who asks me about curie ...right now I want to call @roleerob and @janton over here for a look. This might answer some of your questions guys :)

Thanks again @llfarms :)

Awe thank you!! Some of Roleerob’s questions helped inspire this post a bit! I’m glad you found it helpful and thanks so much for the support ❤️

Glad to learn, via @lynncoyle1's reach out, you have created this post @llfarms. As mentioned to her, not a world record response time, but ...

Looks like excellent content. You've done a nice job on the video taping, which I'll come back to, as time permits ... If you don't mind my asking, couldn't help but notice this was on YouTube vs. dTube?

Anyway, while I can't upvote your post, I can upvote your comment ...

Looking forward to hearing from you, once back from SteemFest 3, on your experience there!

Thank you @lynncoyle1, for the call out. Certainly not a world record response time, but I've not had the time to be involved in Steem over the last several days. A lot going on "out there" in my life ...

At a glance, this looks like an answer to a lot of the questions I posed about my experience with @curie some time ago. I am going to bookmark this post, when I can go through it carefully, for future reference!

Appreciate the thoughtful reach out! 😊 👍

My pleasure @roleerob :) Hope things slow down a bit for you "out there", so I can see more of you "in here" :)

That surely was a mouthful and pretty sure it took you quite some time to put together this post. I can picture you getting up from the pc and taking a good old strech in between lol

I only recently discovered curie because one of the accounts I follow got a massive upvote one day and I went through all the posts curie upvoted and found some pretty cool authors in the process. Its been so helpful in improving my personal feed and connecting with active users too since its been a bit of a ghost town lately

But now that I know the actual process behind it I appreciate it even more! Keep up the great work guys :)

Lol.. I was definitely a labor of love.. thank you for acknowledging that 🤗 haha.

The Curie feed is such a great place to find amazing authors! I know steempeak now has the ability to easily view the posts curie upvotes.. and essentially can become an alternative trending page... which is amazing.

It’s true, there is so much that goes on behind the scenes and I know people have questions about it.. hopefully this helps a bit.

Thanks so much for the kinds words ❤️

This will be the post I link whenever I see people asking questions about @curie.

What a huge undertaking, well done @llfarms 😇😁

Thank you 😊... yes hopefully it can be something uses to inform those that are curious about Curie.. I have answered the questions so many times it seem only right to make a post about them. Ha. Thanks for being such a huge supporter of Curie as well as so many other curation initiatives, you make a difference.. and that doesn’t go unnoticed.

Thank you 😊

I'm trying, and I think you and many others are too.

amazing work justine, this is a tiny preview of sf3 i take it :)

Thank you!! Well, I think if I talked for 15mins just about now a vote is submitted.. Roelandp is likely to smack me. We have 20 mins for the whole thing! 😬 sooooo think Curie/curation in a quick and to the point 15mins with 5mins for questions.. I guess the rest will have to be done in the bar with beer in hand 😉

😂

Don’t worry GG, for part two I will be riding a unicorn while firing rocket launchers at the nearest drama loving whales.. it should be more your speed. 😁

Big yes for a unicorn, no for drama. :)

:'(

Awesome job! The level of care and research you put into this post is amazing. Like what Ashaer said, I'm going to point to this post whenever I hear someone ask what Curie is.

Really glad you made this. And I love your video. It felt like having your good friend explaining something difficult to you - always patient and even soothing. Everything is on point, even the frog noises in some parts haha 💖

Hahahah the frogs! They came out of nowhere all of a sudden 😂

Thank you for the love Jazzy ❤️

That was really fantastic. I've always wondered about how Curie works. It never occurred to me that it was a non-profit. That must account for the level of dedication that the Curators have, they all know that they are not enriching a whale, but are making the Steem platform better.

I also didn't know that Curie needed more delegation, it is certainly worth more, but I put up a small delegation.

Keep up the good work and thanks again for posting this.

I delegated 100 SP too just now.. I kind of missed the delegation part completely :P ! every little bit helps I guess ! thanks for mentioning this professor !

Awe Pechi!! Thank you!!

Thank you so much! Your support means a lot!

You are very welcome.

Do you think you could do a video where you review some Curied posts and show how they met the Curie guidelines? I think a lot of people would benefit from seeing examples of how particular authors have created Curie-quality material.

You have a charming on-screen persona. I'll bet you could make a very popular dtube channel by reviewing exceptional posts, especially if you could get the author to chat with you via Discord or Skype for a few minutes.

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has been upvoted for free by @millibot with 0.1%!
Get better upvotes by bidding on me.
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @millibot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount
You like to bet and win 20x your bid? Have a look at @gtw and this description!

@llfarms this is great, thanks! @curie is who we love to see, thanks for explaining the process that took place for us to get that visit.

You’re so welcome! Let me know if there is anything else specific you are curious about. Thanks for the support 🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87