You Got Snekked needs your INPUT!

in #curation6 years ago

Good day fellow Steemians!


When you are building something, a house, a shed or even a community, it's a good idea to stop what you are doing, take a few steps back and look at what you have at that time. Let your eyes see what you created and have a really close-up scan of what is going well and what is going wrong!


152762368555583999.jpg



Building a community is hard work.


One day you wake up and you think let's built a community! Just because it's fun? No, Because you want to make a difference, to offer your help in many ways. You start with a smile and a body full of passion to set everything up. You dream that it will all come but this is far from the truth. Building a community is hard work. It's not a throw it in the air and it grows a tree just within seconds kinda thing! It's not done in a few days or weeks.


Building something strong and solid takes months if not years and I am willing to put all my blood, sweat and even tears into this project! I started this project back in January when I won the Mam contest from MSP and with that I got a delegation of 10.000 SP. I wanted to do something good with that and the only thing I believed in at that moment was curation. I knew that there were already curation projects running but I also believe that there should be many more. From the moment I started, I fell in love with my project and when I lost the delegation, ( It went to a new winner which is amazing) I kept going even though my vote was far from high after that point!


For two years, I have been working my ass off to get where I am now. Almost 10.000 sp of my own and I am really proud of that! I will never stop dreaming about becoming a whale or fat orka around here. I still believe in working together and helping those who need a guiding hand. My vote can make a change to those in need even if it's a small vote.


15153526194949375.jpg



I Took a break to see where I was and saw there needs to be a change!


While I loved building the You Got Snekked community I also got tired! I was trying my best to make everyone happy and it became too much. I realized that it was time for me to put on the pause button and reflect on what was built so far.


While there are amazing peoples in the discord group it still is not as active as I would love to see it. I wanted to avoid becoming a new link drop group where people only come to drop a link and never speak a single word. Sadly, this is what the group mostly has become. Not what I want, so I need to change things up, again. And even though I am still tired, I will do it! Today I made an announcement in the Discord group to let everyone know about the changes that are coming and also asked for their feedback!


Curation is still my number one love!


You got snekked will still do Curation twice a week, that will never change but everything else will be shaking up. I strongly believe that working together, making connections is what makes your Steemit journey a lot better. I believe that an upvote is nice but building an audience is even better. Right now I am asking myself a lot of questions.


Do I want to offer a reward in money for people to be active? Will I send upvotes their way when they talk more? What can I offer besides my friendship and my votes? Do I really want people to join my community only for the money and votes? How do I see the future? What can I do to make this work?


vertical-pan-of-red-lentils-on-white-background-2-this-video-was-shoot-using-custom-light-set-up-with-additional-custom-build-underneath-light-system-to-eliminate-shadows_nkcfxbgmx__F0000.jpg



Time to change!


Today I will start with the changes in the discord channel. First thing will be the removing of all the link drop channels! I think they give the wrong impression for what I really want to do. I will still offer a way for the members to drop links but in a different way. I tried it this way and realized it's not working the way I would love to see it work!


I am also talking with someone about how we can provide votes for those who are active in the general chat! Those who help and are willing to spend some real time with us. This will not be done in just a few days because I want it to be solid and good.


Also thinking about contests for members only!


feedback.jpg

Image source


Your feedback means something!


You Got Snekked is just starting, only 6 months running. So, this means there is a lot of room to grow! There for your Feedback really can mean something! You can reply to this post or send me a DM on Discord to let me know what you would like to see, what you miss and how you see the future of a community! All the feedback is welcome!


Do you want to join You got snekked?


We are looking for active members!
Admins who are willing to help out at times!
Curators who love to find great content!
People who believe in working together!



CLICK HERE TO JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY!


Thank you for reading my post!


Best wishes
@poeticsnake


logo (1).png

Sort:  
Loading...

Manual curation is GOODNESS on steemit... you're a good "Snekky" and it's a ratty here :). I think "challenges" are a fun idea... also as I commented that the shoutouts are maybe dropped in the radio show and in advance you can leave a message to the selected ones... and well LET US ALL do a bit of shout outs! :)
All my best wishes for this and yes THERE ARE NEVER enough manual curation... I don't have any kind of power and still I was thinking about doing also a selection of my weekly favourites (random).
I'm forwarding this to a couple of friends that I think belong as they truely support underrated content.

Hey Snek , I think you are dogin a great job and your heart is golden . For someone who has been on Steemit for almost a year I have found that when I have focused my interests on Steemit and what I want to achive I have had my greatest success. I didnt think skateboarding would take over my steemit posts but it has and has helped me focus . I think what I am saying is your quest seems rather broad or maybe with your new project you can delgate different people to upvote different subjects . I hope this kind of makes sense.

speaking as one of the people that got Snekked in the past i see how good your work is the curation vote and the prize i won from being featured really help me a lot cause i live in Venezuela and well even a small vote here is such a huge help! i joined the discord channel but leave after i saw none was active and people just dropped links i now know better i should have stayed and start a conversation to help make the community more active!

i will join again i want to help in anyway i can to such an amazing initiative! as a suggestion i would say maybe adding curation on other languages will help improve the community making it larger? is just an idea i dont know if it helps lol.

see ya in discord keep up the awesomeness you have been doing all this time!

This is a good initiative from you in helping your fellow steemian who are still minnow to succeed in this platform , I will join your discord channel to become part of that your project and also to be active @poeticsnake

Hi, I'm new here. Not really understand what your community is about. But I like you, through this post I see your efforts, your lovely heart. I will join you anyway.

Every Discord channel i ever joined ended up just being a place people dropped links.

altho I love da Snek, I have not been on her server much. for the longest time I have been in PAL because I felt at home there. but lately i see a need for change, for branching out, for community.

I love how Snek is always positive and optimistic and cheerful. change is good. reflecting on what has gone before and how we might do better is also good.

my mission is to help people and create community. this is hard when we see things go sour and fall. but in time we pick ourselves up, dust off and start again. thank you snekky for reminding me of this!

You work very hard @poeticsnake and I am sure it is much appreciated by everyone. I look forward to being part of all that you do in the future! Peace and love x

Hi @poeticsnake I joined the discord channel! I would also like it to be more active. I hope to help you do that! Join the discussion and make new friends. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30