Working Title (MSP Poetry Curation)

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

For the last sixth months I have been working for the Minnow Support Project curating poetry (and occasionally other types of fiction). The works that I choose will receive an upvote from @msp-curation and my top choice will be resteemed and featured on msp-curation's overview post from all of the curators.

QmTepewMKR7gKGy7e9sJ38X4KdgCrR7yUrwqsKE2tBPcUU.jpg

Duvet chrysalis twitches.
A languid hiss of breath
encased in pupal state,

Morning Chrysalis by @raj808
Here's the comment I posted- "Absolutely adore the lack of cheesiness in the butterfly analogy, no romantic cliches to be seen.... and yet the languor and the emotion are clear". Obviously I adore @raj808's poetry (I have featured him a number of times) but he is also doing some really cool things for poetry across the platform. Check out the Monday Night Literature curation he does at the Whaleshares discord, which is an excellent chance to find some awesome new poets and writers on steemit.

be-a-poem.jpg

The winner will see their poem written on myself, the human canvas.

A Stream of Consciousness Poetry Contest by @jessandthesea does have an example on it, so it technically counts as poetry. But everyone should go participate in that contest because its kind of fun to see what is sitting on the surface of your mind at any one moment (plus I need some competition).

Outside, the storm
Is taking liberties

While You're Away by @johnjgeddes is such a gorgeous piece. Here's what I said in my comment, "There's a sensuality to this that is so subtle. I love the juxtaposition of emotion throughout the piece and the final line resonates."

This masterpiece of fine linen
Strewn by hands of royal subjects

Spun with silk of the orient
Stitched by the finest tailors
From ancient shores

The Emperor's New Post by @mineopoly uses a masterful allusion to communicate his argument about steemit. I was especially interested by the reference to "the court of Dubar", which I had never heard before and had to research. Here's what wikipedia said: "Durbar (court), a historical Mughal court in India; also used for a ceremonial gathering under the British Raj. Delhi Durbar, assemblies in Delhi, India, to mark the succession of an Emperor or Empress of India under the British Raj." So there's a lot of layers to piece, based on the allusions, including racial bias and conquest, that are all issues on steemit. Honestly, there could probably be an entire analytical write-up for this piece. It's that good.

Spring and the flowers are blooming
But my poppies still sleep
Not a bud upon them as the leaves grow beautifully

Poppy in Bloom by @amrauthor is such a fun little piece inspired by a photo. I love her use of personification. No one writes nature poetry quite like @amrauthor. She's also going to Denver Comicon to talk about writing on steemit with a bunch of the Rocky Mountain Steemit peeps, so if you're planning on attending, you should stop by!


mspgif.gif


U5dqyTAW7HsXH7Ag6ipoiuqcfH9rTYS_1680x8400.jpg



Art and pullquotes are property of their respective posts
Reflections are property of Sunravelme

Sort:  

Some really great pics, Kara:)

Thank you! There are a lot of great things going on in the poetry world on steemit :)

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

Yes Virginia... there is a Santa Claus.

Thank you for reading and searching.

My youngest son used to cry a lot because of reading problems. His friends made fun of him at school.

Four days ago he read this book to me in Korean "The Emperor's New Clothes" and I saw the story in a whole new light.

Thanks to minnow support :-)

Kudos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84