How to Solve a Crackme the Right Way - [Gynvael]

in #cybersecurity6 years ago

Gynvael Coldwind makes a lot of live hacking and computer security demonstrations on his channel on Youtube.

He and his team are frequently ranked high and reach the podium in CTF-like challenges, one of them is, of course, the one at Defcon.

I've watched a couple of his video demos because I'm interested in reverse engineering. And this demonstration is just about this topic. So, Gynvael is going to go over and try to solve a couple of crackmes using WinDbg.

Crackmes are these binaries created with the purpose of being reversed (finding flags inside the code, finding keys, patching, or bypassing registration).

Anyhow, this is yet another very good demonstration for a key player in the field of computer security.


To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

I am not much of a computer guy and didn't really understand much in the video. I am not sure why I am still watching it but perhaps it is my fascination with hacking :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86