Walkthrough for Blocky - A Vulnerable Machine [HackTheBox]

in #cybersecurity6 years ago

This is probably one of the longest videos on my Youtube channel. Still waiting for @dtube to become a reliable platform (I've been waiting for months) so that I can keep uploading my videos there without getting an error at upload.

Anyway, this video is another demonstration for how to get into a server as unprivileged user (through some vulnerable service) and escalate privileges to the root account - ultimately owning the server.

The attack vector was pretty straight-forward: leaking credential within files hosted on the server. That's how I got in. Privilege escalation can then be done in more than one ways. I only demonstrated two ways in this video.

I hope you learn something from this demo, something that will enable you to better protect your servers.


To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad Self-Experimenter and Author

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86