Bicycle Tour, Day 13: Had to give in to the elements

in #cyclefeed6 years ago

No updates from days 10, 11, and 12, because they were rest days and spent at Tampere in my friend's place, and now I'm back on the road again towards my next goal which is my grandparent's place. Though it was probably stupid to leave today because the weather was promised to be rainy almost all day, should've stayed at my friend's for one more day... because after 40 kilometers I had to stop to a gas station because my extremities were feeling stiff and I was soaking wet - mainly on my legs though, because my poncho covered my upper body - I was twisting my socks dry on the entrance. It's 12 degrees so rain coupled with that is a no go for cycling - from now on I have to go around it and progress only when the sky isn't falling on me. Well, at least I know now where my own limits are: 3+ hours of non-stop rain under 15 degrees. Will respect the weatherman more in the future, even though they always get it wrong, except for today.

The weather should be getting better towards the night though, but I still would have 56 km left to my grandparents - 4 hours of cycling give or take.

DSC_08632022x1517.JPG

Tampere gave me a lot: a place to sleep (other than woods, lol) conversations with my two friends living there now (the other being my host), housewarming with even more familiar faces, baking, eating and perhaps most notably, meeting @tarazkp and @momone. I can say that Tampere has given me a lot.

Btw, something amazing just happened to me at the gas station: sitting here typing, one from the staff of the station comes asking if I have a bit "unfitting vehicle for the weather", probably suspecting I was with a bicycle because of my looks. She said that the house could offer me a coffee. "Dark or light roast? Milk, cream sugar?"
Bringing me a warm dark roast cup of coffee with cream - and a greet of good luck for my journey - I thanked her a lot for this random act of kindness. This reminds me a lot about @eveuncovered's incident. I cannot help but be baffled that such people exist and go off their ways, to make someone's day bit better, especially for me who didn't even order anything, but is instead just stealing electricity from the building, lol.

DSC_08641516x2021.JPG

Ok, the weather seems to be clearing, I think I could make it to my grandparents for the night.

Later.

Sort:  

Hope you made it? Wonderful to see great people still exist

Yeah, I did! With more rain on my back, but that was completely fine when I knew I'd get to sleep inside for the night and dry my clothes and eat well.

Hervanta!

Aivan oikein!

Noista maisemista en erehdy, koska asuin siellä tai lähikaupunginosissa 30 vuotta.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your high quality cycling content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in the form of an upvote and resteem. Keep the pedals spinning, fellow cyclist. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the weekly round-up of our Cyclefeed blog. Thank you for using #cyclefeed



Learn more about our cycling project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13