Bicycle Tour Day 34: Mom, I'm home

in #cyclefeed5 years ago

Yeah, 34 days – almost 5 full weeks – and 1300+ something kilometers later, here I am back again. At home. And I gotta say, that it felt bit weird, especially using my computer; I grabbed my mouse when I realized that "right, you actually use this thing to move the cursor on the screen" (had been tapping only my smartphone during the trip). And now I'm amazed how much faster I can type with a keyboard (still remember touch typing!).

DSC_0296.jpg

But still, I'm kinda happy to be back home again, because autumn is starting to roll over and the weather's getting colder with occasional minus degree nights and mornings, like today when I did my last stage from Lahti to Kerava where my home is – 76 km. But that was probably my easiest 70+ km in a while because the general profile was downhill and flat road, so I managed to make it in under five hours.

Btw, I was kinda surprised that I weigh exactly the same now as leaving: 64.5 kg. I would've thought I had lost couple kg's but apparently I managed to eat well enough to prevent any weight loss (buffets might've helped with this) :D

Now, I'm sure you're interested on how this trip has changed me or how has it affected my life, and I have some thoughts about it that I'll probably unveil soon + some other material too, but right now I think I'll take couple of deep breaths while relaxing for a change.

DSC_0294.jpg
Early bird catches the worm, or avoids the rain, like was forecast for afternoon.

DSC_0295.jpg

Oh, @eveuncovered, I finally tested the magic apparatus you gave me – the finger warmer. I only took one pair of thin gloves with me – should've taken another pair to put on top for chill weather like this – so it came for a good use; got my fingers, numbed by the cold wind, back warm again quickly.

DSC_02971516x2021.JPG
It turns solid when it's activated and back to liquid when it's boiled.

Thanks, Eve, once again!

Though I still suffered from cold feet despite wearing two pairs of merino wool socks.

"So what next?"

Well, the next adventure is right around the corner: Steemfest. But do not start thinking already beyond that, then you'll start to sound like my grandparents who are getting too ahead of themselves. Steemfest is already a big enough factor which can change the course of the ship by itself, so it's better I make no plans beyond that yet.

PS. I think I can skip couple leg days with good conscience now.

PPS. Still remember the food challenge I did? Well I'm now in the hall of fame :D

halloffame.png
Covering my last name cause you don't need that.

Sort:  

Lol knew you'd win the challenge.

Great expedition tour all round. Think you showed a lot of character going through it all.

Have a much deserved rest and prepare slowly for Steemfest

Lol knew you'd win the challenge.

I was quite confident myself too, but it came really close in the end, and had I not prepared well enough, I think it might've been a failure.

Great expedition tour all round. Think you showed a lot of character going through it all.

It definitely at least built some character.

I was meaning to ask you if you got to try it yet, I’m glad you had good use for it! 🤗

Yeah, I remember you wished me to try it, chill morning gave a good chance for it.

I accidentally upvoted your post with only 1% so I'm upvoting your comment instead.

Never skip leg day.

Fuck you @kryptik, go around US with bicycle and come tell me that again 😂

I’m going to do it on a unicycle.

Waiting your posts about it.

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.707 which ranks you at #4956 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 44 places in the last three days (old rank 4912).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 302 contributions, your post is ranked at #29.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! Your high quality cycling content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in the form of an upvote and resteem. Keep the pedals spinning, fellow cyclist. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the weekly round-up of our Cyclefeed blog. Thank you for using #cyclefeed



Learn more about our cycling project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73