It's Not You, It's Me

in #cycling5 years ago (edited)

A friend and I wrapped up a seventeen mile bike ride this week along the Mississippi river. The weather was sheer meteorological perfection, low 70’s (F) with only a slight cool breeze off the water. When you’re a cyclist living in America’s equivalent of Siberia, you have to take advantage of the nice weather when it appears.

We took our time to enjoy the sights and finished in about an hour and forty minutes, averaging a leisurely ten miles per hour.

Some of my regular readers might remember how I’ve restored my 1959 Raleigh Sports over the past few years. I’ve put a lot of time and effort into the bike and I love it, it’s built like a tank and is a work of art (I would hang it on my wall to admire if I could) but it’s weighs as much as two modern road bikes.

The Raleigh is amazing for flat trails, riding around the neighborhood, and the occasional trip to the store but it’s HEAVY.

My friend Fong (@vangfo) is a decade younger than me and has a modern bike that weighs half as much as my sixty year old, forty pound British beast.

Today Fong let me know that when he rides alone he averages around sixteen miles per hour instead of the ten mph that we averaged. This left me feeling like the old guy that people had to wait up for.

The universe seems to be pointing me towards a new bike. My brother (@cwalton2) just scored an amazing deal on a used Masi road bike and has been extolling its virtues. He’s hit thirty-one miles per hour on it and averages around eighteen on a typical ride.

All this has led me to consider buying a lighter, modern road bike for longer distance rides. I know it’s stupid but In a weird way it feels like I’m cheating on the old Raleigh for just thinking about getting a new one. I guess it is easy to get attached to things we put so much time and effort into.

So to my old Raleigh...it's not you, it's me but you're about to get a new stablemate.

Question, what brand/ model of modern road bike would you recommend?

Happy Peddling,

Eric


alt text

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Hello Eric, how are you doing? I enjoyed reading your posts about your cycling activities with a friend. This must be very pleasant because the weather is also very friendly. I don't think you need to think about your bike being heavier than your friend's bicycle. .You have to love what you have, buddy. And your question is if I have $ 400 if I would buy a lighter bike, the answer would be no. Maybe the money can be used for other purposes because my old bicycle is still comfortable to use. Enjoy your day, sir.

.

Hi Eliana, the week was a good one. You're right, it's important to appreciate what you have. The one fear I have is if I get another bike this one might rarely get ridden. I hope you have a good weekend!

Hmm don't know, I don't really peddle :D I usually rent a bike in the park whenever I feel the need. You know, once every few years :)) So dunno. I guess it depends if you really want it or not :D
If you feel this bike would make you happy, go for it. If you feel you could go without and would rather spend the cash on something else, do that instead. Go with your gut.

Lol, renting is a smart move for someone who doesn't ride often. I've been a cyclist on-and-off since I was twelve years old.

When I have these ideas about buying something new (especially large purchases) I tend to wait them out and they eventually pass. In the end, I'd always rather spend the cash on travel.

I think that's a wise move, honestly :) Waiting usually tells you what would have been an impulse purchase and what you truly want.

In the end, I'd always rather spend the cash on travel.

I can relate to that <3

I'd recommend you keep your existing bike and add a battery assist to the front wheel. The Battery would fit nicely on/under the rack behind the seat.

Something similar to this ... https://www.ebay.com/p/Voilamart-26-Front-Wheel-1000W-Electric-Bicycle-Conversion-Kit/10030521227


It's the best of both worlds. The Electric assist will make it "feel" like a light-weight bike ... but you will still have the classic look of your masterpiece.

Good idea! I retrofitted a modern cruiser bike with an electric kit back in 2012 or so and it was a LOT of fun. It had a top speed of around 32mph and a range of 30 miles. The tech has really advanced a lot in the last seven years. Some of the eBikes are mind-blowing now.

Fashion and Function ... all in one bike.

:)

Yes! I’m not sure the wheels/tires could hold the weight.

@ericvancewalton Hello dear friend. Excellent images of the places they have visited with their bike ride.
I am one of yours, with $ 400 I would compare a used bike and condition the axles, I would change the ammunition for wheel bearings, so it will be lighter to ride.
I wish you an excellent weekend

Thanks, @jlufer! I hope you have a great weekend as well.

I’ve used Trek for about 10 years. It holds up well.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I really like Trek. I owned a 1990's Single Track for a few years and loved it. If I was lucky enough to find a good used Trek road bike locally at a fair price I'd be tempted. The Masi brand is impressing me a lot. You can find them with aluminum frames/carbon forks and with good components on the used market for $200-$500. The reviews are mostly positive too.

That feels like the best of the days to enjoy ; )

I like to ride bicycles, I used to ride a bike once.And you see but many cutes.!

Posted using Partiko Android

Cycling is very good for health . Hope you and your friend enjoyed this trip. Nice article

Ouch, am sorry am not a fan of road bikes, I can't bear the rushing mighty winds that comes rushing at you at full speed all in the name of driving a windscreen-less car on two tires 😁.

Wow ! It was interesting journey .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73