[Blog #9] Cyclists Are Masochists | Training Into Headwind & A Bit About My City

in #cycling6 years ago (edited)

Hooooooah Readers! How are you? Crazy training this morning, with insane headwinds and all!


lagoa dos patos
Click image to enlarge!

As per usual, Mondays is a working day for me, just as any other day... If I'm not at the school teaching the little monsters some english, I'm working on Steemit. Be it on the weekend or on the "terrible" Monday.

Most of my colleagues at work feel depressed when Sunday is gone, while I feel happy. Because I know that I'll wake up motivated no matter what. The first step, at least for me, to start the week like a champion is to simply quick the blankets away and jump out of bed, but don't leave your room messy. Organize your bed and fully open the window. Do it! You'll feel better when you get used.

But this is me, and as my friend @twowheeledmonkey defined: Cyclists are a bunch of masochists. He is right.

And I'll tell you, today I've already done my masochism session. Hold on! It doesn't involve whips, you naughty fetishist hahaha. It involves the simple act of cycling.

Since the past weekend was kinda rainy, I've spent it mostly at home; between cleaning the bike, eating like a Lion and writing for steemit. Have you checked the fun game I've started? It's called Mighty Steem Explorer (thank you @riverflows for helping me out, you are the best!). All that meant no cycling at all, which made me feel bad, lazyness is not my thing.

However, this morning I woke up with a strong case of itchy legs; a common problem when cyclists are unable to cycle. Do you know what I mean? So I fully openned my window and *Bang*, super master blaster sun outside. Lucky day! - I though. I did all the morning routines, breakfast, I equipped my helmet and off we go baby!

DUDE! When I opened the door it felt like I was in open seas (actually I wish I was - another fetish of mine \o\).

The wind was intense coming from East with 15 knot (27,78 km/h) and 25 knot wind gusts (46 km/h) , that meant strong headwinds for 15 km, from my house to the beach. What a pain in the 'behind'! But now I was commited, I would let my masochist self take control of the situation and just hope for the best.

What usually takes 30-35 minutes to cycle 14 km, took me 47 minutes today! I know that I hadn't cycled on the weekend, but why sending such a punishment dear God.

I guess I just have to stop comparing my own times on Strava, that'll drive me nuts!!

By the way, if you'd like to follow me on Strava, here is My Profile.

But I'll not complain though, the weather, besides windy, was beautifuly blue and quite dry, after so much rain on the weekend. The lagoon was not crystal clear and flat as it used to be during the summer and even going out with the Laser boats wasn't advisable.

Those small waves can destroy a boat if you are not careful enough on deep waters.

lagoa dos patos
Click image to enlarge!

Click image to enlarge!

Image Credits: NASA/GSFC/LaRC/JPL, MISR Team

The beach I always refer to, is actually a lagoon called Lagoa dos Patos, meaning it has connection with the Atlantic Ocean.

Did you know that it's the biggest lagoon in South America? 

Its water is mostly fresh, however, it has this amazing characteristic of changing its salt content, depending on the ocean tide and rain season. Through there drains all the rivers in my state, that way the rain season influences a lot on the current and water flavour. I wish I could give you a more detailed explanation, but I'm no geologist and bibliography online seems to be quite vague.




I took some time to visit the local sailing club and then head back home, 20 km downwind, YEAH! What took me an eternity to go, became pure joy when coming back. Wish I had a camera to record.

After all that, I've felt ready to go to school for a session of teaching!

THE JUICY INFO FOR BIKE GEEKS


I would love to hear from you. Do you follow any super power mega blaster routine to start your week? Feel free to leave your comments down below.

If you liked this post, please, consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer:  The author of this post is a convict broken backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

You may also want to read:

Monday Morning Quote: "Difficulties are just things to overcome, after all."

Mighty Steem Explorer Game! Discover the Location & Win the SBD

Photo Series #63: Wild Horses | Would you try to ride them?

TRAVEL: 5 DOWNSIDES OF HITCHHIKING

A Man Consumed by Wanderlust | Have you been a victim? | My Story

A proud member of:

Sort:  

Congratulations @mrprofessor! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Awesome! Thank you very much. Upvoted.

30-35 minute for 14km is good... Is it mountain or road bike? (or something else)

Hey ho my friend, thanks for passing by!

It's a Scott Aspect mountain bike. But I do that time without the strong winds of today.

No worries.. it was fun! Anytime!

We'll have to bring hardcore pirates next time, the mighty explorers are too good. hahahaha

Hahaha. So you enjoyed a session masochism today. Lol :D

Bed organisation seems such a waste of time, when you are going to mess it up within hours again!

Every time I see Arthur the hitchhiker, i cannot help but picture you holding a big towel with 'Don't Panic' written in nice friendly letters :p

AHAHAHA!! Love it!

image.png

Sorry Arthur, still have to get a handle on this re-sizing rubbish haha

You two! You guys make the best comments ever created in history of funny comments maybe ever!

Do I need to say again that I love you guys? HAHHAHAHA
Don't worry with the resizing, call me one day on discord and I'll teach you photoshop

Guess what!!! I figured it out!! So.. I can do ONE THING on Photoshop.

ps I love you too x 😄

Bed organisation seems such a waste of time, when you are going to mess it up within hours again!
Same goes to washing a bath towel. Why washing it, if I've just left shower. So many misteries in this life xD

Towel, the most important item of a backpacker! HAHHAHAAH If you ever find one of those (needs to be with cool letters) send it to me!!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17