Bhutan - Tour of the Dragon MTB Race (2): Up (and down) we go!

in #cycling6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-07-05 at 10.17.07.png

Screen Shot 2018-07-05 at 10.15.27.png
The Tour of the Dragon MTB race is held in exotic Bhutan in the Himalayas



In case you missed my first post on the lead up to this race: click here


Looking around in the dark I could see some of the people I met earlier during our social program of the Tour of the Dragon in Bhutan, the small Himalayan kingdom that strives for "National Happiness".

There was Sabrina, the Judoka that had come back from the Olympic Games just a few days before (!), Piet, the bearded fellow-Dutchy, a race-veteran that provided me with some valuable tips; there was Sonam, the local favourite, and there Cory Wallace - the favourite by far to win the race from Canada (he currently is the 24 hour world champion), and around 50 of the other competitors.

Screen Shot 2018-07-05 at 10.48.41.png
Piet, Sabrina, the Prince, 'et moi'

So everybody turned up in the centre of town, in the middle of a gloomy cold night; thank god the rain had stopped! The town was buzzing though, this is one of the major happenings in this little town, and everybody was up and about, chatting, making food and generally having a good time. I checked my lights for the hundredth time, checked my bike and myself, "ready as can be" - was the conclusion. Then a loud count down and we were off!!!

Screen Shot 2018-07-05 at 10.11.41.png
Start of the race

Normally my intention to pace myself in the beginning goes out of the window at the first minute after the start, but somehow that didn't happen this time, I know this was going to be a tough ordeal and wanted to 'ease into it'. The race starts with an uphill on a good tarmac road, and all was well. There were plenty of people around and you could see the road clearly.

Once we reached the top of the hill though, everything changed. Mist came in, the road turned to mud. I could hardly see anything and my glasses were fogging up. After a few sketchy moments, I decided to fully make use of my brakes on the downhills, I really had to slow down to survive. I passed some big black blobs at high speed, and it took me some time to figure out those were cows standing in the middle of the road. My heartrate instantly went up with 20 beats. I was slowly getting cold, even though I was wearing plenty of clothes. Normally it is the other way round, but this time I was looking forward to the uphills, as this would be a chance to warm up again.

Finally the sun came up, the mist slowly cleared and I was able to see where I was going. The views were amazing, I had done one of the 4 humongous mountain passes already and things were looking up. Then a car passed me and I realized it was the Prince of Bhutan cheering me on! I knew he would ride sections of the race, and I hoped to get a chance to ride with him later. He was riding a Specialized, specifically designed for him, with some cool “Bhutanese” markings, including a dragon.

Screen Shot 2018-07-05 at 10.18.37.png
The Prince of Bhutan cheering me on, captured on my GoPro

Screen Shot 2018-07-04 at 19.12.12.png
Race day, photo credit: tourofthedragon.com

Below a little more information on the race, keep on the lookout for my next post on the race!!!!!

The Tour of the dragon
The Tour of the Dragon is an annual MTB race (held around September) in the exotic country of Bhutan in the Himalaya region. The 268mkm race starts in Bumthang, central Bhutan (2610 m, 8560 ft), and takes you to Thimphu across 4 mountain passes. There are many numbers floating around in regard to the total elevation, but I think it is around 4,000 meters. Expect to do a lot of climbing on extremely long, gradual climbs, with amazing views, in a magic landscape.

Screen Shot 2018-07-04 at 19.01.53.png

For more information: http://www.tourofthedragon.com

@ultrabiker

photos are my own, unless specified otherwise
Sort:  

My muscles hurt reading about the climbs :D

And a word of unsolicited advice. When posting try to use some intro text first before any other text. It is more attractive to a chance reader who stumbles across your blog. Currently a reader sees a nice picture with this text:

My own photo, my own photo :D

Hi @twowheeledmonkey, thanks for that tip, will change it - was trying to put the pics on top for attractiveness, but then indeed that text appears... thanks again! Hope your muscles recover soon! ;-)

I've always wanted to visit Bhutan, love their culture and wouldn't mind learning some archery skills!

Hello @baglady, I would certanly recommend a visit to Bhutan! They are very passionate about archery, indeed....

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

In the fight of Humans vs Bots, @megabot defended you with 20.00% upvote courtesy of @socialbutterfly!

Support @Megabot by delegating SP to the bot and get a part of 98% of @Megabot's profit.

Direct delegation links : 10 SP || 50 SP || 100 SP || 500 SP || 1000 SP || Any other amount of SP

Join our discord group here.

Thank You !

You got a 9.22% upvote from @cabbage-dealer courtesy of @socialbutterfly!
Delegate today and earn a 100% share of daily rewards!

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @socialbutterfly.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ultrabiker
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=bhutan-tour-of-the-dragon-mtb-race-2-up-and-down-we-go


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You got a 100.00% upvote from @bidseption!

This post has been upvoted by @microbot with 7.6%!
You want higher upvotes?

Vote for my creator @isnochys as witness!

Did you know, that you can make some profit with your witness vote?
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @microbot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount
You like to bet and win 20x your bid? Have a look at @gtw and this description!

You got a 4.65% upvote from @moneymatchgaming courtesy of @socialbutterfly! Please consider upvoting this post to help support the MMG Competitive Gaming Community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61914.69
ETH 3017.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79