Cycling Denmark to South Africa: A little bit of Northern Germany

in #cycling4steemit6 years ago

So my cycling trip have been off to a excellent start with weather that made sure to hold the tradition of giving me I good old sunburn. The northern part of Germany is to me not the most exciting part of the trip because the nature are very familiar to what I know in Denmark. This means endless fields of flowers, tracks going through the fields and a little bit of forest here and there. It is by it self beautiful in a cute and harmonic way. Not the same dramatic feeling of what great coast lines and the high mountains gives you. I do really appreciate this start that I sometimes call "boring" because I feel its also a big part of the journey, to not only start out in the most epic parts but also getting to those places by effort. Let me show you a bit of Germany and my experience so far!

32337097_2148652355368878_484150471909441536_n.jpg

32384017_2148652322035548_8687849864844804096_n.jpg

Despite Germany actually having excellent bike tracks and lanes, I do mostly prefer to go into these kind of tracks that takes me away from all the noisy roads. Not only is it easy to make some wild camping happening, but it's also so much more peaceful and at times fun to see what these roads leads me to.

32314021_2148652485368865_1297334162117623808_n.jpg

I have this setting on my GPS saying "avoid unpaved roads". Usually checking this off means my GPS goes all in off road style. So I have officially renamed to it to "Adventure mode" setting. So every morning I am debating with myself if I should put this setting on and off depending on how adventures I feel that day.

Also did some testing on my camera and how will it handled closeup shots.


32384053_2148652398702207_7998854703028895744_n.jpg


32538526_2148652328702214_519670358253502464_n.jpg
I really love what my camera is capable of and it allows me to be much more creative with my photos than a regular phone. I'm still figuring out a lot of the stuff this camera can do but so far I think I got the basics down. Taking photos along the trip is almost as big part as cycling for me. I love trying to set up some good shots, it have become a big hobby for me and it fits well with cycling! I have also recorded a bit to do some videos in the future, although these might not come as frequently out I think it could be another solid way of documenting my trip.

32420669_2148652512035529_9167065019899183104_n.jpg

So far so good.. but still a long way to go!

This is it for now guys. I hope you enjoyed seeing some of my very first photos I took on the trip. As said nothing mind blowing have happened to me just yet but damn it feels good to spend my time cycling again! I feel I am off to a great start and within a couple of days I will most likely enter Poland! You will hear from me soon again!

See you on the road
-holm

Sort:  

I'm glad the start to your trip has gone well, keep us posted! New camera looking good!

Awww man, I just missed the 7-day window to give you a rewarding up-vote for this awesome post. Yeah, the North is flat, as they say in Bavaria (my part of Germany). Still, it can be picturesque. I also like your bike! Having built my own touring bike, I can't help being curious about it. How do you handle all the weight in the back? And the "most contentious issue" among my bike-mechanic friends: It has a kickstand!
Well, I can imagine that since you're touring yourself, it may not be the top priority to address any of these topics. In any case, I'm looking forward to your future posts. Happy trails!

wow looks nice i wanna do that cycling hha

Nice way to explore world beauty, knowledge of different cultures, heritage, traditions & living. Hopefully you had a lot of fun. Nice photography. All the best for your remaining trip to South Africa.

Hey, is there a map of your ride?

It's annoying with the roads: The continuous passing of cars can be quite stressful especially on an active road but on the other I just hate bumby gravel roads and the crazy tremor heats my temper even more. The perfect road is a small-ish asphalt road with only little traffic.

I like the small asphalt the most, but gravel roads also has some good moments!

cycling is a good exercise ....really you think so better....and choose the right way....to ride..all the best

What camera are you using? Are you using an app to find your way?

I use canon powershot g7x! The app I use to navigate is osmand, its really good for offline use.

Have you tried Pocket Earth for navigation as well?

Looks like you had huge fun! Wow

Thanks for sharing some pictures of my Heimat. I miss the wide sky over a fast landscape. All that marvelous yellow of the fields is heavily sprayed with poison. Good only for the eyes.
Take care. All the best for your journey Holm!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77