@felixxx STEEM funded my cycling journey, what did I use his steem for?

in #cycling4steemit6 years ago (edited)

A few months ago @felixxx saw it fit to donate a quite nice chunk of steem to fund my cycling adventures that I am posting about here on steemit. Let me tell you the extra steem made a huge difference but instead of just letting it sit with my other money/Steem I decided to actually buy something specific that would help me documenting my trip here on steemit. While I do power up largely all of my own Steem that I earn I thought I rather use this on something a little more..

memorable.

36975847_2191100704457376_5795610125985120256_n.jpg

Yes this picture is of course taken with my new toy

So I decided a proper camera would fit me well


Yes that is right, before on my previous tour where I cycled Denmark to Greece I took the pictures with my phone. I did a pretty good job at it as well, but many times I felt limited to my options of how to take the exact picture I wanted.

I do have a hobby for pictures and feel like I actually have a good eye for it as well so it would only make sense to use this sudden donation to feed my inner photographer!

So the canon g7x mark ii became the choice. While it is not one of those big professional cameras this is by far living up to my standards. As you know I am travelling long distances and I have to carry everything I want with me. Because of that this small but powerful camera without doubt doing the trick for me.


Wonder how it performs? Here is a little bit field testing of my camera while I have been travelling across Europe the last couple of months


37055926_2191101274457319_7193892623902310400_n.jpg


37014727_2191101334457313_7755159225021497344_n.jpg


37003680_2191101071124006_1851478680962859008_n.jpg



36968054_2191101097790670_5559562928169943040_n.jpg


37022815_2191100677790712_3934292392206663680_n.jpg


37030238_2191100671124046_1490727086233485312_n.jpg

So thank you @felixxx! my journey looks a little better because of you!


This camera made my journey so much more fun and allowed me to be playful with what I have seen on the road. (Take these pictures as a little teaser of my journey that I have been through so far!)
The world is beautiful and it would be such a shame if I didn't have a proper way of showing it, I feel like finally I have that! Big thanks to @felixxx who seems to make Steemit just a little better place to be at! He does a lot more than just sponsoring me, he also runs as a witness for steemit and right now are creating a steem camp meetup in Germany! Awesome guy, check him out!

-holm

Sort:  

Steem well spent :)

Steem is valuable, better spend is wisely! haha:)

Graet gift from @felixxx - He is a good one ;) Maybe he will also support me on my journey someday :) Have fun!

Funny - i just remember you from my first days on steemit - must have been in march? Then i forgot about you and your bike ;-) Now - checking felixxx blog i happen to see you and follow you. I am looking forward to all the great pics you make from the tour! Seems to be very good ones. I like the bike on the road with its shadow... nice perspective! Gute Reise. Tak.

Ahh that is so cool! It's great to know I made an impression back then! :) Yeah @felixxx has been a long time supporter of my blog! See you around!

G7x is a great camera for travel. I believe "bang for the buck" it is pretty hard to beat and still gives some great portability. Picture of water droplets on the tent is fantastic!

It sure is going a long way for its money. also it feels sturdy, so it can survive a little bit of a rough life

Hi @holm :) Really nice pictures man, especially the last one!

PS. How about your tour? Did you manage do get to Africa yet ? :)

The tour is far from over lol. Not even got through Europe yet:) But the tour is not about reaching Africa, its everything in between

We're you at if I may ask ? :)

In regard to everything in between, I completely get your point! During my previous journey to Lviv, Ukraine, the most exciting moments were those experienced on the road :)

Also, in August, my buddy and I are going for a tour from Poland to Romania (the longest one yet).. and I was wondering if you're be able to maybe give us some advice?

I have just reached Romania, so in a little while soon ending my first "stretch" of the journey. In Romania I will stay a while in Brasov to gain a little money again. :)

I cycled Denmark - Germany - Switzerland - Austria - Hungary and now Romania!
My original route were actually also through Poland and eastern europe to Romania. I would give the advice to go through Slovakia and their mountains, it should be amazing there!

When you come into Romania try to go along the Carpathian Mountains range, you will love it! ALSO in Romania you will start getting chased by dogs daily, but they usually just bark and run after you a little bit, I have usually just kept my calm and biked slowly or completely stopped up. I have not met any that tried to bite me. The shepherd dogs are usually the most aggressive! So if you see a bunch of sheeps maybe prepare yourself.

Wow, thanks for an informative reply @holm :) Will you be passing through Syria and Israel then? I'm curious about the reality over there as I don't really believe in what the media says.

In regard to passing through Slovakia, we considered it but due to a limited budget we decided to try a cheaper and longer option - through Ukraine :) Here's a draft of our trail if you're interested: https://steemit.com/cycling4steemit/@piotr42/trail-update-2-a-cycling-trip-from-southwestern-poland-to-romanian-coast

There seems to be a nice elevation gain in Carpathian and Apuseni mountains btw :D

Also thanks for warning us about the dogs :) One night, while passing through a forest in Ukraine, we accidentally entered a private property and a dog chased us. We haven't seen it, but by the barking and the noise it made, we could tell it was a big one. Can't express how frightened we were at that moment :D I guess we need to have our pepper spray ready at all times :)

Ukraine is unknown to me but it has me intrigued!
No actually when I head on from România I'm planning going the other way towards Morocco. Basically a huge detour but I want to go along the western Sahara. it's a dream of mine:)

Ukraine is beautiful and Ukrainians are very friendly, in opposite to what some people might tell you - again it's the media spreading the false information! Also the costs of living are extremely low. A nice dinner in Lviv (in a restaurant) will cost you roughly 2 - 3 bucks. Do not forget about the beer (probably the best I ever tasted), which is less than a buck! Only the border with Poland seemed pretty sketchy :)

I'm planning going the other way towards Morocco.

That was my first guess, but since Syria is way closer, I thought that'd be your choice.

I want to go along the western Sahara.

I have a friend from Chad who told me a lot about Sahara :) He used to for the military picking up leftovers from the war hidden under the sand. I'd really love to tour over there as well!

Haha, that´s a dilema I have been struggling with - almost all of my photos that I ever published here on Steemit were taken by my phone (and they don´t look that bad after some editing I would say) but I still feel like I need a real camera, especially now when photography makes up an important part of my Steemit production :)

Anyway, your choice was great - those landscape shots look fabulous! :)

Yeah editing made my phone pictures also somewhat good. But when you then look at these photos(all of them without any edit), its amazing. Safes me a lot of hazzle and feels like I can capture exactly what I see. ! Thanks for the kind words man!

Great pictures! :)
worth^^!

That is some lovely pictures. Doing a bike journey like that sure sounds really nice.

It sure is nice, you should try it! haha:)

Very cool - I plan on doing some major traveling in Aug, around Canada and want to document and sketch each province I visit. Hoping to do some busking even. It is good to have a decent light weight camera like this. Good luck in your journey.

Sketching sounds so cool, wish I had the skills to do that! Thanks a lot man and good luck on yours!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17