30 Days of Biking: Final Days *Pastry Ride*

mia2.jpg

30 Days of Biking is a challenge that started in my home city, Minneapolis, Minnesota and spread around the world. Cyclists pledge to ride every day during the month of April. In some climates, this is more challenging than others. This is my third year participating.

Days 27-30:

A highlight of the last few days of the challenge was the Pastry Ride. Each year Perennial Cycle in Minneapolis hosts group rides every Saturday in April, during 30 Days of Biking.

mia4.jpg

The destination is always a surprise and each week a different local bakery donates pastries for riders. This year one of the rides was postponed from April to the first weekend of May because of a blizzard. It landed on Cinco de Mayo and the treat was churros rather than traditional pastries.

biking4.jpg

I heard approximately 100 people rode the day I joined the pastry riders. Here's a shot showing part of the group gathering at the beginning point.

mia5.jpg

Our destination was the Minneapolis Institute of Art also known as Mia. The museum was featuring Art in Bloom:

View fresh floral creations and the artworks that inspired them. Enter a world of timeless art and fresh flowers... a FREE four-day festival of fresh floral arrangements and fine art... Delight in 165 floral designs that interpret objects from Mia’s collection. A Twin Cities rite of spring!

mia7.jpg


mia8.jpg


mia9.jpg

Back to the pastries! A local business Salty Tart Bakery provided both sweet and savory choices. I tasted a savory little tart that was delectable!

mia3.jpg

We also enjoyed complimentary Peace Coffee and a prize raffle. A highlight for me was talking with the founder of 30 Days of Biking and meeting his baby daughter. I also enjoyed conversations with a couple in their sixties (approximately) who had been cycling together for decades. Their stories were inspirational. It is really motivating to witness cyclists of every age, pedaling for both fitness and fun :)

mia6.jpg

It was a challenging year to participate in 30 Days of Biking, with radical changes in the weather and a wide variety of outdoor conditions. I feel proud and accomplished :)

Thank you to everyone who supported me both online and in-person. Each comment, upvote, and CHEER was appreciated. My love of cycling is growing stronger!

30dob4.jpg

More in this series:

30 Days of Biking: Day 26 Dangerous Man and Taco Cat
30 Days of Biking: Day 25 Gunshots
30 Days of Biking: Day 24 Birthday Day Trip
30 Days of Biking: Day 23 Cycling Socks
30 Days of Biking: Day 22 Lake of the Isles
30 Days of Biking: Days 20-21 Northern Coffeeworks
30 Days of Biking: Day 19 Irish Pub
30 Days of Biking: Days 16-18 Sick Days
30 Days of Biking: Day 15 Glitter Snow
30 Days of Biking: Day 14 MinneSNOWta
30 Days of Biking: Day 13 A Hail of a Ride
30 Days of Biking: Day 12 Waterfall Ride

Check out @cycling4steemit and @thankyoubicycle for more awesome cycling posts by pedaling folks!

thankyoubicycle.jpeg

Sort:  

Oh my gosh, look what you've been up to! You go girl! I sure wish I could join you on one of those rides. I am buried in life and kid sports and work, but I will cheer you on!

Thanks Jayna!!! I hope you'll fit in some rides this summer :)

Congratulations on completing the 30 days of cycling, braving storms, bad health and birthday parties!

Thanks a lot! Your support has been encouraging :)

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Yeay for the churros! More yeay for the flowers! (Okay, gotta admit, in Mexican slang both stand for cannabis, so I thought it was an especially funny coincidence.) Otherwise, I love coffee and pastry, and would participate in any ride involving them!

Hahaha! #themoreyouknow :) It really is a great combination: caffeine and carbs. Since the pace of the ride is really casual, it doesn't matter if you experience a sugar crash later ;)

I can never say 'no' to a baked good.

We have tasty and quirky shops if you find yourself in Minneapolis sometime :)

Oh that sounds great! I'm mad I have to miss the hostel breakfast this morning. I'll hopefully be able to next week. Every Wednesday in May the Buffalo Niagara Hostel hosts a bike breakfast with free bagels. scones and coffee. It's a fun morning gathering of different cyclists on their way to work. They host them sporadically through the summer as well. I didn't go to them most of last year because it's in the opposite direction of my work. But then I realized I could take my bike on the subway afterward and get off at a bike path that goes to my work. I'm still recovering from surgery this week though.

I love hearing about cycling events, organizations, groups, etc in other places. Keep the stories coming! It sounds as though it may be worth getting out to the breakfast now and then. Best wishes with your recovery from surgery!!! I hope you're able to ride very soon!

Looks like a fun ride, and that pastry looks delicious. Much better than the stale cereal bar that I after my ride this morning. Is it lunch time yet?

Nice to see a bike ride update :-)

Looks like the "30 Days of Biking" was definitely a huge success. Inspite of the weather changes and different situations or scenarios met in the way. Congratularions @mininthecity! Salute to all the riders who participated in the said event. A coffee and a pastry, most of the churros is very well deserving to everyone. Again, my congratulations.... 😄

Congratulations @mininthecity! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23