At Minimum I Should Be Riding 20 Miles a Day

in #cycling4steemit6 years ago (edited)

I'm not usually looking to go training every morning. I don't race or anything. But I do need to start getting used to riding all day if I want to bike 50-70 miles a day on a tour. So I am going to aim for at least 20 miles a day minimum for now, unless there are heavy rains. I'll still try to get some riding in if that's the case. I give myself most of the day to do this. I hit that today pretty easily during my afternoon ride with stops to eat, drink coffee and read.

I started by meeting a friend at Wilkeson Point. From there we hit up Pizza Plant for lunch. It's a local chain. I worked at one when I was 17, as a dishwasher, so it's not the most exciting place for me. We split a salad as neither of us was super hungry.

IMG_20180611_142448152.jpg

I rode around a bit more then stopped to see friends at Taza, one of my favorite little coffee shops.

IMG_20180611_144236810.jpg

I said I wasn't hungry but I ended up getting another salad at the Co-op. Alright, I really just needed to use the bathroom but I figured I'd get something while I was in there, and take a moment to get some reading done.

IMG_20180611_163319757_HDR.jpg

I really just wanted to read in the park, so I found a secluded spot under some trees alongside Hoyt Lake in Delaware Park. I'm really enjoying reading a book about the wilderness as a bit of inspiration to get outside more on my bike, and only driving for work.

IMG_20180611_164639802_HDR.jpg

I rode around a bit more on the paths to get some miles in. It's not like 20 miles is hard, especially with breaks to read and eat. I'll start upping the minimum ride after a week or so.

Sort:  

Rob when/where are you going to go touring?

I have a few routes in mind. Around Lake Erie, Buffalo to NYC, Buffalo to Pittsburgh and possibly do the GAP/C&O to DC again. I have time throughout the summer. I thought I had a roommate lined up to watch my dog but that fell through. So I'm working on figuring out dog/housesitting to line up a date to ride. I just don't know what to do with him as he has neurotic aggression issues.

Great man, keep the wheels turning! The more time spent on a bike, the healthier and happier you'll be!

Super! Guess we have more or less the same goals, I tend to train something like 25 miles 3-4 a week with bigger ones on saturday or sunday.
I'm aiming for a big 1600 km trip next semester, better get those legs prepared.

This is the beauty of traveling by bike, we can just stop if we want, only need time.

I'll follow you on Strava.

Cool! I am only doing Uber 3 hours a day for money right now so I have plenty of free time to do longer rides. during the week. I mean to take advantage of this free time. Posting them here gives me the motivation I need.

That's the way to go! I'm working at a school for some bucks. Loving your reading posts, I have so many places here to explore and stop for a reading. Need to follow your example haha

20 miles a day is easily doable. Especially if you are riding with plenty of breaks. But if you do a intense 20 miles one day, you might want to take it easy (or even take a break) the next day.

While training, a lot of people make the mistake of not giving their muscles sufficient rest to recover and rebuild. Without which your exercise is doing a lot of harm!

If you are planning to do some specific tour, over the mountains, flats etc., you can then train accordingly, depending on your requirement.

Good afternoon! I most recently on Steemit, like you. I decided that together we can achieve much and develop faster. Let's increase the power of Steemit together. I followed you hope and you follow me. Glad to new acquaintances! ;)

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25