BRKR Thursday Ride June 7

BRKR stands for Black Rock King Rollers. We should really come up with a new name. We no longer meet in Black Rock. We are two bars removed from the original meetup spot. It's mainly a bar ride. We meet at McGarret's usually. But it being next to a park, we ended up over there instead. We usually do one or two outdoor stops before stopping at another bar, usually one with food.

IMG_20180607_193426750.jpg

I'm usually the organizer of this ride. The founder of the ride usually works Thursdays but will help with the ride when he has the day off. We have kind of turned it into a large group text for the core group of us. There's really not much to organize other than to pick a destination and post it on our F-book group. It's a much smaller ride than the Fwiendztay Ride. We are more a tight knit group just going out on the town on our bikes. Anyone is welcome. They just may find themselves sucked into our ongoing group text, being summoned for rides throughout the week.

IMG_20180607_202306032_HDR.jpg

This week six of us rode to just one outdoor stop, at Seneca Bluffs. It's a partially-wooded area of land located within a bend in the Buffalo River. A lot of people are unfamiliar with it because it looks like nothing more than a parking area next to an open field, with trees in the distance. There is only one sign, not-too-large. It located on a slight turn right next to a bridge. It's easy for motorists speeding by to not notice it at all. I came across it myself while looking over the satellite images on Google Maps. I have found a number of cool hangout spots this way, just looking for large open areas of green space on the satellite images.

IMG_20180607_202353452.jpg

IMG_20180607_204853987_HDR.jpg

After this we rode to Marinaro's for wings and beer (well I'm not drinking again). It opened under this name just a few years back but the building is still an older dive bar, the only affordable place left in an increasingly gentrified neighborhood. It's in Larkinville, where a bunch of expensive restaurants and bars have recently opened despite the residential area surrounding it being poor and unable to afford to go to establishments in their own neighborhood. Marinaro's is the only true neighborhood bar I know of near there.

IMG_20180607_214027164.jpg

IMG_20180607_214033244_LL.jpg

The bathroom had some awesome old school beer ads. Genesee is a local beer made in Rochester, NY. My dad drank this cream ale and so it was the first sip of beer I ever tried.

IMG_20180607_215440825.jpg

IMG_20180607_215433553.jpg

After we were done playing, we rode home.

IMG_20180607_222100186.jpg

Disclaimer: I use vote promotion and steem leasing services from Smartsteem and Minnowbooster. Both have approved me for their whitelist based on the content of my posts. I always wait at least one to two hours to buy any votes, so curators will have time to vote before any paid votes. I have leased steem to have more SP to upvote the cycling community. This means I must self-upvote to recover my costs and continue leasing steem. I wait a couple hours to allow curators to vote first. To sell your vote on Minnowbooster, use this referral link for an added bonus!

Sort:  

such a nice ride!! I can see you really enjoyed and that is what matter!
Hope some day I can share this roads! cheers!

I like the fun social rides. Its a bit different not to be drinking everybody, but I feel better at the end of the night, and in the morning. There's another group ride I'm organizing tonight. I'll post something late tonight or more likely in the morning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31