Buffalo Bike Party Flower Power Ride

in #cycling4steemit6 years ago (edited)

This was my first ride since my surgery last week. It's so great to be riding again! I might have to take it easy for the first few days or so.

Bike Party is a themed ride I help organize that happens on the second Friday of every month. For this month we went with a flower power theme. Being May, we thought it would be a nice warm day, but it barely broke 50 degrees and rained lightly when we first started riding. We meet at Colonial Circle each time. As usual I was the first one here. I try to always be on time just so that someone who is new doesn't leave thinking they are in the wrong spot.

DSC01601.JPG

After about 20 minutes the group had grown to about six of us. I bought a bouquet of flowers the day before so that everyone could have at least one flower.

IMG_20180511_210357255.jpg

DSC01603 (2).JPG

At 8:00 we were ready to roll. We had our traditional pre-ride group photo first.

DSC01605 (2).JPG

Our first stop was at a community garden on the East Side of Buffalo. We always clean up after ourselves and warned people to respect the garden and not pick any flowers. We made sure the people who ran it were OK with us being there.

DSC01608 (2).JPG

DSC01611 (2).jpg

Our next stop was the Japanese Garden in Delaware Park. It was hard to get good photos in the dark.

DSC01613 (2).JPG

DSC01616 (2).JPG

We still had about 15 people left when we were ready to leave for the last stop. One of our group volunteered his backyard for a fire. I would have stayed later but I wanted to get home to create this post and get some sleep. I'll tell you all about what happened earlier today in another post tomorrow.

IMG_20180511_231137395.jpg

This is the playlist I made for the ride.

I forgot to turn Strava on at the beginning of the ride so the map is missing the 2 miles from Colonial Circle to the community garden.

I use vote promotion services from Smartsteem and Minnowbooster. Both have approved me for their whitelist based on the content of my posts. I don't use bidbots that sell votes for low quality content. To sell your vote on Minnowbooster, use this referral link for an added bonus.

Sort:  

Is the bike in the first picture yours? It is gorgeous. Ready to roll touring rig. With the racks and even the Ortlieb panniers. Love the combination of the camo green and brown tape and saddle. I notice these big cycle locks on your bike and other people's bikes from America. Are cycle thieves that rampant? Which brand is this bike?

Nice ride as well!

Also, I have noticed you have used vote promotion services previously as well. Could you do a post about how that works. If you already have, could you share the link. Thanks :)

Yes! Thanks! That is a 2017 Fuji Touring Bike. I bought it just over a year ago. It was probably the best deal you could get on a touring bike but the price went up about 30% on the 2018 model. Those are actually cheap Venzo panniers but they worked really quite well so far. I bought Ortliebs a couple months ago but I still use the cheap ones if I'm just going around town or to the store as I don't feel like having someone steal the expensive ones. And yes, bike thieves are a big problem here. There is a whole Facebook group dedicated to people from my city looking for their stolen bikes. I had my Falcon Strada stolen last year and was able to recover it through that group. The person ditched it after crashing it. I assume they couldn't figure out the SPD pedals. I think I just need to true the wheel and then I should be able to ride that one again.

I haven't yet made any posts about actually using Steemit. I'll consider doing one on vote promotion (which is just buying votes) someday. I wouldn't bother gambling on bidbots though. I at least like to stick to ones that have standards for what kind of content they will promote. I don't know how far I want to wade into the debate on here, but Steemit has so far decided that they are allowed on here, which makes it about the only way for people get exposure and make anything off a post. I generally get back about what I spend plus steem power.

Oh lovely. I just bought a used Fuji Touring last week! I am still waiting for it to be shipped to me though.

That is an added reason to go clipless then, thieves won't be able to ride it!

Yes, that's why I would like to read about your experience. Promoting good content and not just posting rubbish and paying bidbots. Look forward to this post!

Do you know what year it was made? You will love it. I took it on a 335 mile trip last summer and it was a great ride.

Yeah, a lot of the debate on bidbots and paid votes has centered on the garbage that gets promoted. But there are bidbots that blacklist those users. The services I've settled on using have whitelists for people who have shown they post quality content. I've started sticking to those rather than bidbots. Still, there are bidbots like buildawhale that publish a blacklist of users they will not allow to use their services and limit the ROI to 10%. So it's not just a get rich quick scheme to use them. By making Steemit a system to invest into, it's always going to favor economic transactions. The problem with relying on upvotes from the community is that most users have no upvote power. I'm slowing building mine and use it to upvote cyclists.

Not sure. I saw the advert online, the guy wanted to sell because he was moving abroad. The price was fantastic. I bought it without asking for any details or even seeing the bike! Currently it is parked up some 4000 km from me. Need to get it shipped before i can start enjoying it.

Yes, I have noticed your posting and promotion and have found it very interesting. That is why i would enjoy a post with all these details for people like me. I would love to promote good content which i produce. I have no interest in seeing the trending page, because it is filled with trash!

It mostly does somewhere between breaking even and ten percent. But it pays people for curating my posts. It helps attract new followers. I hope more people see the cycling posts and become curious. I don't put enough in to make the main trending page but it helps to get noticed on the trending page for the film tag for my movie reviews. I'll be scaling those back as I start riding again.

It's a very awesome bike..I want to have it ... and definitely our trip is great fun

Thanks! It's a 2017 Fuji Touring bike. They raised the price a bit for the 2018 model. It's a great deal. I would have loved a Surly Long Haul Trucker but I didn't have the money. Then I saw someone selling one used for less than I paid for my bike but I had already spent a lot on this one and all the extras.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This post has received votes totaling more than $50.00 from the following pay for vote services:

minnowbooster upvote in the amount of $56.39 STU, $100.76 USD.
danzy upvote in the amount of $0.71 STU, $1.26 USD.

For a total calculated value of $57 STU, $102 USD before curation, with approx. $14 USD curation being earned by the paid voters.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform and is by no means a judgement as to the quality of this post.

Please stop. I have links to the services I use in my posts.

Nice to see you riding the bike again :-)

Unfortunately I have to rest again the rest of the week due to some complications with my healing from surgery. I have a ride coming up this Sunday that I can't wait to make a post about so I'm going to rest with maybe a short neighborhood ride on Saturday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11