Fwiendztay Night Bike Ride on June 6

in #cycling4steemit6 years ago (edited)

It's Fwiendztay so tonight we rode. Well, not that far this time. It's more just fwiendz who all ride, finding fun stuff to do together. There were about 20 of us this time, half as many as last week.

IMG_20180606_202459001.jpg

We rode to the foot of Forest. I described another ride to the foot of Forest a couple months ago, but that was to the other side of the creek.

IMG_20180606_202516717.jpg

There is usually a homeless camp under the highway, but we only came across a family of Canadian Geese, who all swam away when they saw us.

IMG_20180606_202716865.jpg

IMG_20180606_202753406.jpg

This is a small beach area under the highway filled with driftwood. It's an easy spot to find wood for a fire, which we did. It's also apparently a good place to find a Christmas tree to decorate, which we also did.

IMG_20180606_204902963.jpg

IMG_20180606_203200201.jpg

There is unfortunately a lot of garbage at the foot of Forest. We carry out whatever we bring in and usually try to fill a few bags with more garbage to carry out.

IMG_20180606_205019190.jpg

IMG_20180606_202845376.jpg

IMG_20180606_212011420 (2).jpg

That sneaker is by the fire because I'm an idiot and stepped into the water. There is so much driftwood that it floats in a layer on top of the water. I stepped off a log thinking it was dry ground. It wasn't deep, or cold, and the fire was enough to get it fairly dry. Another guy did the same thing but got both feet wet.

After this the ride split up. Some went to a bar for a DJ night. I'm back to not drinking. It was late anyway. So I decided to ride home with a few other people heading my direction.

Disclaimer: I use vote promotion and steem leasing services from Smartsteem and Minnowbooster. Both have approved me for their whitelist based on the content of my posts. I always wait at least one to two hours to buy any votes, so curators will have time to vote before any paid votes. I have leased steem to have more SP to upvote the cycling community. This means I must self-upvote to recover my costs and continue leasing steem. I wait a couple hours to allow curators to vote first. To sell your vote on Minnowbooster, use this referral link for an added bonus.!!

Sort:  

Great to see you riding a lot these days.

Drying shoes so close to a fire normally spoils them. The temperature of the fire destroys the glue used to paste the shoes together. Since shoes today aren't stitched but stuck!

Thanks! I'm trying to ride every day. Sometimes it's just to the store, which isn't really worth posting about.a Ihope they're ok. Luckily they weren't my cycling shoes.

Thanks for the 'Fwiendztay', I'll put it in my bag of favourite words... In Kenya they have "Furahi-day", which is derived from the word "kufurahi" - Swahili for being happy. I'll try to collect all days of the week in a similar way, 5 days to go.....

That's great, happy day! I don't know who named the ride. It was just the Wednesday ride for a few years then someone renamed it last year to go along with a new starting location.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82