Ride to the Movies!

in #cycling4steemit6 years ago (edited)

Perhaps it's because the theaters are all accessible mostly by the busiest streets in town that I never think to ride there. Maybe it's because I look at the schedule at the last minute before deciding to see something playing in 20 minutes. Or maybe it's because I'm often going on a date or with a friend who wants a ride. But this time I was meeting somebody there, I had plenty of time, and I hadn't ridden yet today.

We went to see Ocean's 8 at the Amherst Theater, which is an older theater with one large main screen and two smaller screens on each side. Luckily this was in the main room. They have the comfortable reclining chairs as well. It's run by a small local chain that shows some arthouse and independent films often buying old theaters abandoned by national chains.

IMG_20180610_154011299_HDR.jpg

I'll probably write a review of Ocean's 8 later, depending on whether that comes together. I forgot to take notes so I have nothing to start with. I don't actually write about every movie I see. I almost went to see this the other day but decided to see the new Avengers movie instead. Notice that I never reviewed it. I kind of have a rule about not reviewing movies that put me to sleep. Perhaps I missed the good part. Really, it's just something about too much CGI action with a plot I don't care about that bores me.

Well this movie was good. I'll have to see if I have anything to say about it. Afterward I met up with some friends at at Mr. Goodbar. They have wing special on Sundays. Just $6 for 10 wings. It's Buffalo. We can have great debates on who has the best wings and the best deals. These are pretty decent wings for such a good price.

IMG_20180610_170645706_BURST000_COVER_TOP.jpg

After this I stopped at a couple parks to read. I finally finished reading The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test! I got back to reading Desert Solitaire by Edward Abbey today. It's about Abbey's two seasons working as a park ranger at Arches National Monument. I had started it over the winter, but really wanted to read it when I could be outside rather than stuck in our break room at work. Yeah it's much better to read this in a park.

IMG_20180610_191648525_BURST000_COVER_TOP.jpg

The time below is wrong as it kept the time going while the phone was turned off during the 2 hours I spent in the movie theater.

Disclaimer: I use vote promotion and steem leasing services from Smartsteem and Minnowbooster. Both have approved me for their whitelist based on the content of my posts. I always wait at least one to two hours to buy any votes, so curators will have time to vote before any paid votes. I have leased steem to have more SP to upvote the cycling community. This means I must self-upvote to recover my costs and continue leasing steem. I wait a couple hours to allow curators to vote first. To sell your vote on Minnowbooster, use this referral link for an added bonus!

Sort:  

When you access strava on your computer it normally shows two different timings. One is total time and the other is ride time.

Right, but it thought I was riding for the 2 hours I was in the theater, because I turned off my phone. It thought it was a glitch and recovered where I left off.

Ah, okay. You didn't pause the ride.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89