DAD-Chronicals : The daily dress-up discussion with my daughter

The daily dress-up discussion with my daughter - is something else than Elsa and Anna?

I am the father of two daughters whom I adore.

Boys are easier with clothes, right?

I do not mean the back and forth, when the pajamas should be pulled out. That is also possible with us. I lie with my big daughter almost every morning across, WHAT should be attracted. Because if it were up to our daughter, she would dress up every morning as a princess - no matter what the weather looks like and what is planned. Often my daughter understands for my arguments that the high heels for the playground are not so suitable and that the white-blue plastic dress would break in wild games - but not always. And at least an Elsa shirt, she thinks, has to be every morning.

frozen dad chronicals.jpg

(C) Disney pictures

Maybe I'm an atypical father, because I do not care what my daughters wear. The two have really nice, comfortable and practical Scandinavian and English clothes I bought them. But they almost always stay in the closet ever since Elsa and Anna stepped into the lives of our "grandees".

Perhaps at this point I should tell the boys 'parents among the readers that Elsa and Anna are the main characters in the Disney movie "FROZEN", which since the film's launch in 2013 has been haunting the nursery, wardrobes and little girls' dreams.

Where is the individuality of the Anna and Elsa mania?

To emphasize - I am not a fundamental opponent of Disney. I also have no problem with the movie and its heroines. But not always! My wife and I recently went to a children's birthday party where five out of seven girls were wearing the same blue Elsa dress. Where is the individuality left? Where the good taste?

Actually, my wife and I once had the claim to buy our daughter no pink clothes, etc. In the relationship I have already become much looser. But the plastic princess clothes with blue hand and high heels are almost the height of the Girlie delusion!

Everything just a phase or early childhood imprint?

The whole thing began inconspicuously with a dress that our daughter wanted and that my wife had brought her a year ago through the Nicholas. Since then, the wardrobe - thank my wife - filled with many other merchandising items from Disney. Even so I would not have a big problem if the other - beautiful - things are not left because of this. My wife and I already had some heated discussions on the subject. She has less of a problem with the whole thing - though it's actually very important to her to educate our daughters gender-neutral. When I asked my wife if she would like it, if we would dress a little son (we do not have) in Flecktarn, she said THAT was something completely different. For real?

My wife is of the opinion that this is just a phase and I should see the whole relaxed. Despite all the effortless lassitude I think it's a pity about the beautiful other clothes and I am also sorry for the daily discussions with my daughter, which is appropriate for the weather and activity. After all, I can still decide what to wear with our little ones.

But what really gives me food for thought is that it was one of the first words of our then 20 months old younger daughter "Elsa" and she can now unerringly identify the picture of the Ice Princess.

There is no escape! Hallelujah!

dad-chronicals 2.png

In addition to the clothing discussion, my 6 year old daughter is now beginning to paint her nails in the morning. But that may be a topic for another article ...

24835-5-horizontal-line-transparent.png

Other Stories round about the DAD-Chronicals

2000px-SciAm_Wavy_Text_Divider.svg.png
Bembelmaniac.pngFUR.png

2000px-SciAm_Wavy_Text_Divider.svg.png

helpienaut5.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72