Dad Tip of the Day: Chase the Bacon

in #dad6 years ago

Dad Tip of the Day: Create memorable ways to play with your kids, which will have them begging for more in the future.

I am a big bacon fan, which is probably no surprise, as I think most people are. But there is just something about the smell and taste of bacon that brings happiness to my soul (especially when paired with black coffee for me!). I read an article where it said the average American eats 18 pounds of bacon a year. I am not sure how accurate that is, but I probably eat 2-3x more bacon than most people, so I would probably by in the 50 pounds of bacon a year range? Sure sounds like a lot to me, but maybe it is right! (hopefully I don’t die too early, but if so, the life insurance should cover everything right?)

But I digress… time to get to the dad tip. Well my love for bacon is known by my son, and his grandparents bought some pajamas for him a few months ago that had the wording “Wake me up for Bacon” which had a picture of an old fashioned alarm clock with a bacon dial hand. Here are the pajamas:

E7E69BE5-EEBD-42EC-A580-86DC3E6BA392.jpeg

Naturally, I loved the pajamas, and told him that he better start running because I AM GOING TO EAT THAT BACON UP! This started an insane game of chase around the house with me trying to catch the bacon and eat it! We had so much fun, and created such a memorable experience, that he now wants to play the bacon chase game every time he wears the pajamas. He will even tease me and say “Dad, look what I am wearing..” in the cutest way as soon as he puts these pajamas on. There was even one time where the bacon pajamas were dirty, but he wanted to play chase the bacon so bad, that I took some of his play food bacon and taped them to the pajamas, and then we played chase the bacon! So fun, so memorable.

Thanks for reading, and I would love to hear of any similar games you played with your kids (or your parents).

Brian

Sort:  

You're raising him right! There really is nothing better than bacon! And I love that game too.

So, I found out something interesting yesterday about a game I'm sure everyone has played, Monopoly. Yesterday, I was on Sporcle (a fun trivia game site if you haven't been on it, one of my favorites), and a Monopoly trivia game came up. They've had a few of those over the years and I've always struggled with knowing the player tokens (car, dog, thimble, etc...) The reason is that the version I had growing up didn't have those metal tokens. We had these wooden ones.
monopoly wood pieces.jpeg
So I looked up the history of the wooden tokens. My mom inherited this Monopoly set from her parents that she played with growing up. The wood tokens were used in Monopoly games sold during WWII because they needed the metal for supplies and weapons to fight the war. Immediately after WWII, Monopoly returned to the metal tokens everyone knows. This game is still at my parents house. What I read said these wooden token can be collectors items but a quick look on eBay doesn't make me think they're super valuable. But that's why I don't really know all of my Monopoly game pieces!

That is interesting history! I love monopoly but had no idea they used wood pieces for a while... too bad they aren’t worth a secret fortune!

I’m dieting atm (intermittent fasting) to try and get my bodyfat % down by around 5%.

But wow damn all I want now is some tasty freshly fried slices of bacon from the butcher’s and locally sourced from a nearby farm.

So hungry right now...

jajajajaja very funny your bacon story, in venezuela is very expensive but I love it I like toasted or even raw, your child's pajamas is very original and he is beautiful, thank you for brightening my day with your story

wow eating 50 pounds of bacon a year and staying in shape is a challenge! Anyway, I would not stop eating them and for breakfast they are great, I love the interaction with your child, I am sure that your child grows up very happy with that environment, I invent a game every time I can and he really enjoys them! enjoy it

In the United States where you eat more bacon, I especially love it with you the smell and the taste is incredible, it's so expensive in my country but every time I have the opportunity like a little bacon that is toasted, I think fun the bacon game hahaha is something original

The experiences that most mark a person are the originals... With my dad and my sisters to pick up the leaves of the yard we played with a stick to puncture the leaves and he told us that the leaves are fish, it was our fishing game Hahaha we made competitions to fill the bags. It was so much fun that he I loved to clean me garden... I always said that when I have children I will teach him the same game.

That sounds like a good time and I hope you get to teach your future kids the same game! Thanks for stopping by!

I loved your story. I used to view driving my 15 year old daughter to soccer games and practices (usually 1-2 hours away) as a chore. I switched my thinking on it, and now it has hers and my favorite part of our week. It's really our time alone to connect.

your post always perfect and real..your boy really very cute.. I have the opportunity like a little bacon that is toasted, I think fun the bacon game hahaha is something original.. the baby running around the house, his laughter imbeding the whole house, and happiness reigning. ¡God bless your home and your baby.. thanks to sharing for your great history.very well done..my dear friend.. @brian.rrr keep it up..best of luck of your great work...

hahahaha, because I sleep my daughter I have to bathe her, feed her and sing her little by little until she sees that she falls asleep, although many times she only wants me to carry her to sleep, she does not have a specific way but I love to see her asleep, I imagine you will feel that explanation that I tell you as none since they look extremely beautiful.

You are a super dad who always plays with his son, especially that game hehe. regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17