Dad Tip of the Day: Nice Things

in #dad6 years ago

Dad Tip of the Day: Kids will likely destroy your house, so get the good house and nice things once they are out of the house.

I don’t know about your kids, but my kids can destroy things. The floor, the kitchen table, the walls, you name it. The key is to not have too good of a house or too nice of things so that you are sad or angry when the stuff gets ruined.

Honestly, I am still learning this. When my beautiful hardwood floors started getting scratches from the ride on Lightning McQueen, I was not happy and promptly made the toy an “outside toy” only. Of course, pretty much any wood or metal toy that falls from a kids hand can make a significant dent or ding, so I have come to realize that I will just need to sand down the floors and refinish them once the kids get older.

This situation though was something the kids did not intend to do – it just happens when they play. There are other times when they do things on purpose or aren’t old enough to fully understand – those are certainly “no-no’s” with some potential form of discipline! Like this time when a green crayon was used on the cabinet:

6200817A-C518-426F-B83E-46B9DBC3DA45.jpeg

Or how about the time they hung from the towel rack and pulled it off the wall - breaking it in the process. I had then had to put my handyman skills to work to put in a new one – things will just need to be replaced sometimes.

34BF6EBD-31F4-47B3-9062-17C8CA14B5CC.jpeg

82B7D56E-9537-4B78-83FA-79567BC16C1D.jpeg

4DDCAC02-AC98-4801-B450-1B30BCD3BB8D.jpeg

So know that things will get worn, broken, scratched or ruined, but that is OK and things can be fixed or replaced – just learn to take it in stride and enjoy the parenting journey!

Do you have any stories of things your kids broke or that you broke as a kid?

Take care,
Brian

Sort:  

You mean this?
IMG_20180808_020230_465.JPG

Or this
IMG_20180808_020253_449.JPG

I once had a Nokia phone, and a fruit blender. My little cousin thought of a special juice with orange and silicon. Now I neither have the phone nor a working blender.

Kids are so amazing at times. But the clean up could get overwhelming but their faces and love demolishes every bit of mess.

🤣🤣 exactly like that! Wow, crazy pics!

When I was kid i broke my many things from our house. My mom always be angry when me or my sister broke something but dad take it easy. Your beautiful kids are doing the same. Actually kids are innocent so they do anything with fun as all love them.

Hello Friend how are you? that of destroying things at home seems to be part of the growth of children, there are some more tremendous than others but none escapes any mischief

Mine are already big but small gave me many headaches, you'll have to take it with some calm and fix their antics when they grow up enjoy their childhood that you and your wife are excellent parents and know how to cope with those situations

Greetings to your beautiful family

You are absolutely right my friend the children are not to blame and they do not do it with intention when they are little they are beginning to know the world, things and what is good and bad

Something they love to do is fill the walls with crayons they are happy doing that I think for them that is a big blackboard and if they are white much better for them my sister used to scratch the walls to make dolls and those things

It's also helpful for their development to have them "help" fix things after they've broken them. Having them help fix things is often more frustrating than when they originally broke the thing but it helps them develop an understanding of responsibility. They begin to understand that if they break something it's their job to fix it. This is a mindset that many adults lack because it was never taught to them growing up.

I certainly second the idea of waiting in the nicer things in life. Not just to avoid breaking nice things but also because it's wiser to put extra money into investments during your parenting years to get some of that compound interest early. Then, once your kids head off to college you'll have way more resources to play with. :)

What a problem when there are children in the house is impossible to have everything in order and beautiful they just want to play and as they are children and they are small they believe that everything in the house is to play besides that has a lot of imagination, they are looking for everything a function hahaha

The problem of the wall is normal you can give them many coloring pages but they will always want to use the wall

Brother, how are you? I do not have children yet but I have nieces and I do not know where they get so much energy to do so many things, what I have seen the most is that the walls scratch with colors one of my aunts opted to leave it as if they were some murals and says he paints later when they are bigger

I had two daughters and girls are much more delicate than boys, when they are playing. Girls also listen to what Dad is telling them not to do, most of the time...I don't remember any occasion when they broke something that should not be broken.

We have come to the understanding long ago that our choice to have kids was also a choice to not have "nice" things until our kids are gone. Getting nice things is only asking for disappointment. lol. Now that our kids are getting older it is much better. There is hope.

i have my stuff hidden and congrats on 70 rep

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04