Dad Tip of the Day: Reading

in #dad6 years ago

Dad tip of the day: Kids love books so read them early and read them often!

It may not come as a surprise to you, but many kids love to read. They engagement in the story and characters is entertaining to them, in addition the many benefits, such as expanded vocabulary and imagination. I did a quick search and there are many “top 10” type lists of benefits to reading. Here is one such list that I thought was pretty good:

  1. Children who read often and widely get better at it
  2. Reading exercises our brain
  3. Reading improves concentration
  4. Reading teaches children about the world around them
  5. Reading improves vocabulary and reading skills
  6. Reading develops a child’s imagination
  7. Reading helps children develop empathy
  8. Reading is fun
  9. Reading is a great way to spend time together
  10. Children who read achieve better in school

Source: http://www.cameverlands.org.uk/10-benefits-of-reading/

Out of this list, the ones that resonate with me the most are improving vocabulary and a great way to spend time together. My kids love being read to, as they often find it more entertaining than watching TV. My wife and I often read story after story and it is never enough for the kids – they always want more! It truly is a great way to bond as well! Jacob uses words that surprise me all the time – an example is when he said his pet caterpillar “emerged” from the cocoon and turned into a butterfly… haha! Not bad for a 3 year old!

Here are a couple of pictures:

4F6AF2F2-64A9-4190-BCB3-B893B92D2BAD.jpeg

C101B6AC-8691-4829-926F-E5CD5BE65D3C.jpeg

As you can tell, the book shelf in Jacob’s room is stuffed full of books and there are many others that have spilled into other locations in his room and the house… he loves reading!

Even if you don’t have kids yet, if you get the chance to be around some (maybe a niece/nephew of friend’s kid), take the time to read them a story… they will love it!

Thanks for reading,

Brian

Sort:  

wow,my dear friend.. @brian.rrr you are really very best father in thw world.because every time giving alots of good idea of every child.i am a one mother.i am always following your instruction for my child teaching.because your teaching very perfect for every children to doing bright future.this is a very best advice.. your best guideline to doing your children beautifull future.i pray to god for your child great future..thanks to sharing for your great post. very well done..take care yourself and best of luck of your great work.may god bless you and your good family..my best wishes anytime with you.. best of luck..my dear friend.. @brian.rrr

This is truly awesome view, and good to see that your Son is engaged in reading stuff from an young age and i hope and wish that these reading aspects will push him to great heights and also help him to become his better version.

Yes, in my opinion reading first of all increases the aspect of understanding and relation means, when we read, we try to relate with story and also we try to understand what's going on in the story, and in life understanding and relation plays vital role.

Awesome book shelf and reflecting as so much reading collectibles are their and i can say that it's treasure of knowledge for sure.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

Yes turn off the tv and have the little ones read a book before bed. If done every night you will see your child reading levels exceed tremendously.

I have always surrounded my kids with books and immersed them in reading form a very young age. I would even read to my son when he was a couple weeks old. To this day at 16 years old, he is an avid reader and plows through books. Reading is such an important skill and one that can bring so much pleasure as well. As parents, we must make reading a part of our kids lives so that they will hopefully adopt it as a part of who they are. As a teacher, I spend a great deal of time encouraging parents to read with their kids and set the example for them.

That's great you spend so much time reading to your kids and that Jacob is learning to read himself. That will open up a whole lot of doors for him as he gets older. I don't know how people can manage getting through life without knowing how to read.

I remember that caterpillar book! Glad to hear that it's still around.

I like the books are the best there are very edicativos I am a teacher so it is like this the children love books, listen to stories and see some drawings that they bring back there is nothing more educational than a book

Of children and adults I think it is the best gift a book

Hello my friend @brian.rrr how are you today?

As always you give us these good advice you have the whole reason the children love the books I have been able to see them as they are distracted seeing the drawings that those books bring so colorful also if they know how to read they can spend hours reading, there are children who like reading more than others there are some who love to hear the stories that these books bring

You're right the children love the books I think it's because of the amount of colors and drawings that these bring my little sister she learned to read practically she just loved to always have a book until finally she learned to read

Thanks for the tips they have fun with the books they also love to listen to the stories

Great dad tips. Your beautiful tips and guideline makes your kids great person. Really Jacob is very lovely boy. I pray to God for his bright future.

Wow Jacob's room looks like a mini library! I've also two kids (girls), one is 6 and another one is 3 like Jacob. My kids also like reading books and they enjoy to me reading book. Really you are doing very well arranged lot's of books and encouraging him that really appreciate you. Thanks for good tips about reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62726.25
ETH 3050.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81