My cheetah blacklist. My apology to the Steemit community

in #dadjoke5 years ago (edited)

Morning children, today is a different kind of day. Today we sacrifice your daily joke in place of an apology.

Due to a cheetah blacklisting i have to provide a public apology to you all. Please read on if you wish:

  • Include links to all abusive posts made by you.

I dont know about abusive, but 90% of the jokes that ive ever written on here were sourced from http://icanhazadadjoke.com with good intentions. There are too many to list so please if you wish to see them just search through my previous posts.

  • You must write what you did wrong and why it was wrong.

Well, it turns out providing jokes and puns on a daily basis are classed as spam and/or plagiarism, simply because they were not mine (well, most of them). My posts were honest in providing the source, and the link at the bottom of the majority of them (excluding posts with my own made up jokes) were straight to the source http://icanhazadadjoke.com/, however the bots used by steemcleaners etc. were picking up the same jokes from other websites (this is understandable, why would anyone want to keep a crappy joke when they can share it with the world?) however, i have always only ever used one source, providing the joke is not my own.

I wanted to keep my posts minimal, fun and ironically avoid spamming - so even though it was suggested to me when i first created this account to post 3 jokes every day, i just posted once every 24hours. So when i was picked up by the @steemcleaner bot i went to the discord chat and was told that i needed to add more content and write the correct source - i dont think there was much understanding with the source as http://icanhazadadjoke.com creates a random joke every time you go on the site so its very hard to prove that it is from there. Once again though, i only ever used this one site providing the joke wasnt my own. It was suggested i start to illustrate the jokes to satisfy the @steemcleaner team, however im no artist and never had an intention to illustrate the jokes. The only illustration you will have seen was the grumpy old bastard you see in every post - and he was designed by myself.

I still wanted to make the joke the highlight so i changed some of the text around it. But alas i was banhammered again for not providing enough original content, and this post is the result of that.

In my defense;

Dad jokes are short, simple, and only borderline funny - which in my eyes makes them absolutely world class, especially if its your own dad telling them. I always wanted to keep everything short and sweet here, one joke everyday with no bullshit explanations or addition writing - just like you would tell a joke in real life (who wants to hear your opinion of a joke after youve told it?)

Although i feel that writing extra content and explaining things takes away a bit of the magic, its something i have to do if i dont want to get flagged any more. I feel i was honest providing sources and structured all my posts in a professional manner with a well branded illustration. I always looked forward to the comedy community providing jokes back too me in the comments, and i still look forward to it now.

However this is only my opinion, and one man on steemit has really no chance against an army with +1 million SP.

  • Finally you must apologise to the community.

Sorry everyone.

  • On a final note:

No hard feelings to the @steemcleaner community. They do a good job overall?

Sort:  

!cheetah unban
Plagiarism, Copy/paste

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75