Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 08/09/18> Talk about perfect timing… “get me a guzbucking sledge hammer”.

in #daikydose6 years ago (edited)

On the road again...

It never fails that when I am on the road it seems like there is always a little problem that pops up. So after celebrating Blondie’s birthday on Monday evening, Tuesday morning had me leaving town for a few days down to Victoria, TX. I like Victoria, it is not a small town by any means but it isn’t some massive place either and the people there are all pretty friendly.

Anyway, Tuesday was the day that my father in law was supposed to get his vehicle back from the mechanic shop, he had to take it in on Monday and by the time they figured out the problem and got the parts delivered there just wasn’t enough time for the shop to get them installed so the work carried over until Tuesday.

Tag, you're it...

That meant that on Tuesday someone was going to have to take him to pick it when it was ready. Well, I wasn’t able to since I had left town bright and early and the wife works at the church on Tuesdays so that left only one person, the oldest boy. Tag, you are it son, enjoy the company, he is your Grand Pa.

The mechanic shop is less than a mile and half from Papa’s place so it isn’t like the boy was going to have to chauffeur him all over kingdom come, but anytime you ask these kids to do something it is like you are just inconveniencing them to no end.

I warned the boy that scenario might take place and so I told him to make sure if he had to do it, to take his IROC Z to haul his Grand Dad over there. The reason is; I have been telling him for a couple weeks now to stop by there and talk to Bob about the issue his car is having with not cranking every so often and he just never seems to find the time to stop there.

He damn sure has plenty of time to do everything else a twenty year old has on his schedule but doing something that would actually help himself seems to be pretty far down the list except for his going to the gym everyday and working out.

Another daily dose...

I will give him credit on that; he has his own daily dose going on with the gym. I think there are a couple hot chicks that work out in the evenings over at that gym so that might have something to do with his “motivation”. But I will give him credit, he has lost in excess of 100 lbs since he started working out over there and he is really getting to be in great shape.

As luck would have it, he took the Z and he said it was quite a sight watching his Grand Pa trying to get in to that low slung car, he isn’t the most mobile old guy you will come across, but he did manage to get in.

Buckle up...

So off they went, the boy said he decided to show his grand pa just what his little IROC Z was capable of doing so when he left his drive and got it out on the road he put the pedal to floor and smoke the tires all the way through second gear, he left a pair of black tire tracks for about 150 feet according to him, I haven’t seen it yet. He did also say he thinks he might have scared his Grand Pa.

Utt Ohh...

Getting Pa Pa out of the car at the mechanic shop wasn’t an easy task so he shut his Z off while he helped extract his grandpa from the passenger seat. When he went to start the car back up it was dead, it wouldn’t do anything. Now he was forced to talk to Bob.

So he went inside and when Bob finished collecting his money from Grand Pa the boy asked if Bob could take a look at his car. The boy explained that he could unhook the battery for five minutes and hook it back up and it would crank right up, and Bob said he thought he might know what the problem was.

Hammer time...

Bob got a floor jack from the shop and drug it out to the Z and jacked up the passenger side of the car and then he hollered to his young teenage son to bring him the big guzbucking sledge hammer. Bob crawled under the front of the car and gave the starter one good whack with the hammer and then said. “Crank it over now.”

You don't say...

My boy got in and put the key in and it cranked right up. No disconnecting anything, just one good solid hit on the starter with a big hammer did the trick. The boy was excited as hell that Bob was able to diagnose the problem so he called me just as soon as he got back home. It didn’t surprise me one damn bit that Bob was able to figure out, hell ,I had been telling him to go by there for a couple weeks and talk to him.

Of course I would...

So my boy asked me if I could help him fix when I get back in town, he even asked me if I could go online and check and see if I could find the exact part he needed and how much it would cost him. Of course I would do that for him, he is my son.

So Tuesday evening I called the boy up and told him that I had gone online and looked for the part, but that I wasn’t sure so I called Bob and left a message to see just how many pounds that guzbucking sledge hammer was. He wasn’t amused and didn’t even say good bye, just a click and he was gone.

He's learning...

About ten minutes later I got a text from the boy with a picture of the starter from the local auto supply store, and asking me if it was the correct one and if the price seemed fair. It was on both counts and it has a limited lifetime warranty. I texted him back telling him to buy it so it looks like I will be putting a starter on the Z this weekend or at least I might just supervise.

The real battle is over...

Either way, it really doesn’t matter to me, the good part is I no longer have to try and figure out the problem; that has been done already and to me that was the real battle. I would have never thought it to be the starter since when it cranks it cranks strong and starts right up. I was inclined to believe it was in the security system or the damn ignition switch and I really didn’t want to have to tear into that.

So a big thanks to Bob, he doesn’t “practice mechanics” he knows what he is doing, big hammer and all.

Until next time,
@sultnpapper

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 222 (8/10/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Reminds me of that story of the guy who fixed an expensive yacht by whacking it with a hammer. It takes a lifetime of experience to know where to hit so that it works :)

Just a heads up, your post is tagged as Daiky dose and not daily dose :)

It might just be Daiky, good catch , but it can't be changed now. Thanks. Good to see you again, hope things are well in your new world.

You can still change any tag as long as it's not the first one, that way it can still be filed under Daily dose :)

Thank you, Really enjoying living here. I would snorkel every day if they'd let me hehe.

yea, you were right, I went and dropped the "new" and added "dailydose" thanks again. Snorkel til your fins fall off is all I can say.

When he went to start the car back up it was dead, it wouldn’t do anything. Now he was forced to talk to Bob.

Hilarious. lol! And the hammer fix? Priceless. Your posts are always fun to read. ;)

I couldn't make this stuff up if I tried, it just seems I always have something going on that turns out funny or half funny anyway. Thanks for dropping by and all the support.

Huh. Flat spot in the starter. Nice catch by Bob.

My best buddy had a '64 El Camino with 327 cid motor and factory 4 speed. It was the nastiest thing around for a couple of years, but had a weakness. That Muncie trans had external shift rods and they would need to be 'readjusted' every now and again. He carried the right sized hammer in the little tool tray right behind the driver. As the linkage was on the right I probably adjusted the rods more often than he did.

We spent a fair amount of time trying to get better traction for that elky. All the early speed just went up in smoke if you didn't feather the clutch something awful. Never did quite get it right. But it was still bad fast.

Anyway, I'm glad your boy got his problem dx'd, and maybe learned a little something too. That there are experts that can make simple work of a problem that is beyond me. And it goes on forever.

I've got a "Grandpa Out Of The Car" story for another day...

Thanks

I loved the old el camino , Karen, from the rear view mirror story had the "69 SS el camino. triple black with silver stripes. It was the big block motor but an automatic. That was a great car. That back bed was prefect for snacking and watching the stars at night.
Bob has been fixing cars for at least 40 years that I know of and he stays plenty busy. It had been so long since I had run across a starter problem and having to deal with all the comupter stuff on the van recently and his security system on the Z I naturally was going down those paths.
Can't wait for your Grandpa story out of the car edition.

We call that thump therapy. Works for a variety of problems. All teens from time immemorial have been the same. their priority lists are a little different from yours or mine. Congratulations on the weight loss in getting in shape. Something to be said about the incentive that the opposite sex inspires in the young. I have been meaning to ask, did Blondie ever get her paper so wrote back from the youth minister?

No she did not, and thanks for reminding me. I just so happen to be heading back home today, and the youngest boy has a youth group event at a fun center place and I have been chosen to take him there since the Mrs. doesn't like driving on the freeways anymore, I hope the minister is there because me and him are gonna have a little talk if he is.
I'll pass the congrats on to the oldest boy on his weight loss, he has really changed his shape but he buys to many clothes as he is going down in size, and only gets to wear them for a short while and then those are to baggy.
Hammer have been known to fix a lot of problems, I like that term "thump therapy".

Sounds like it all worked out for the best!! Interesting how it turned out to be the starter. Years ago, I had a Tempo with a bad ignition switch so that was my first thought..not that I know a whole heck of a lot about cars..lol! Congrats to your son on the weight loss and I bet he feels so much better without it!!

He does feel better since he dumped the weight.
I was leaning to ignition switch or the anti-theft system but we both were wrong. I am just glad that it is figured out and I'll give Bob all the credit. It did work out for the best. Thanks for weighing in, deerjay, always enjoy having you stop by.

You're very welcome!! xoxo

Good to have a mechanic who knows what to do , but gosh, a sledgehammer! You're describing my youngest to a T when you talk of asking them to do something :)

Getting Pa Pa out of the car

Grand pa or papa?

Take your pick, it is pronounced as "paw paw " but I was tired and sleepy. But I don't know why they (all his grand kids) first came about calling him dog feet, "paw" "paw" . Gramps or Grand Dad or even Grand Father were all available

If we had to say paw paw, we'd be referring to the fruit that most people know as papaya, strange how we all have our own regional vocabularies :)

Not only do we have our own regional vocabularies, but those meanings of words inside the regions change over time so it can really be a guessing game for sure at different points in time.

A sledge hammer to start a car...? Who knew, but Bob...?!?!? 😱

Yes, the sledge hammer is used for "adjustments " normally but can be used as a diagnostic tool in cases like this it seems. @bigtom13 knew and when he read the results of the "test" he even knew the problem.
I thought the car required a hammer, but flat spot on the started is what Bob said also, and it was random because when the started disengaged the spinning shaft could end up landing on the flat spot.

it isn’t like the boy was going to have to chauffeur him all over kingdom come, but anytime you ask these kids to do something it is like you are just inconveniencing them to no end.

If he can't contribute and participate as part of the family, I might just decide it was time for him to be on his own. See how that suits him.

Now he was forced to talk to Bob.

Oh, how my heart breaks for him.

"a guzbucking sledge hammer"

Works great on The Weasel.

(P.S. -- you might try it on the kid.)

He is for the most part a "team player" within the family but he has this thing with thinking that he should be calling more of the shots, We have had the talk about independence and freedom, both which come at a cost, so he is aware that both of those aren't without expense.
It isn't like Bob is unapproachable but for some reason he just wouldn't go stop and ask him. I wasn't going to do it since it is his car and he needed to make some effort on figuring out the problem or continue to be faced with the problem.
I have several hammers but I wouldn't want to risk injuring any of them hitting him in the head with them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84