Daily chicken August 6

11c934a4-8653-45ae-b8f2-9e91cb01b7ad.jpeg


My first post with steepshot! @mariannewest, here's my first daily chicken! This is my hen. The other three are roosters. Gonna have to have @burntoblog and family over for chicken soon... And I need to decide if we're going to go with chicks or older pullets to establish our flock.

The focus this year is water and chickens. It is decided.

Since this is steepshot, I'll keep the post short. ;)


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

She's pretty.
Sorry to hear the others are all roosters.
The hatchery that I ordered my pullet chicks from offered older pullets closer to laying age.
Will you order or buy local

Well I was looking at tractor supply the other day. Supplies and half a dozen sexed female chicks ($3.50 a pop) would be about $65. Larger pullets are $10-20 locally (within an hour). I haven't decided yet. I'm leaning toward 5 larger pullets just to save the time and learning curve of raising chicks, but the economy of the chicks is still really appealing.

I'll need to decide and act within the next few weeks before the store stops selling chicks til spring.

They are easy to raise so don't let that worry you. Even easier if you let the hen do the work. Lol
Benefits to both
The big plus with chicks in my opinion is you can teach them to be handled and friendly. Comes in real handy if you have to administer first aid.
And easier to teach where you want them to roost.
Adding larger birds requires a gradual introduction you can just put them together.
I can't anyway my big bruisers would kill a strange new hen if I just dropped her in there.
They are serious about the pecking order business.
So that's why I chose chicks
But with the larger pullets you will get eggs Alot faster.

welcome to steepshot, nice photograpy

Oh no!!!! They are all roosters!!! If you start with babies - you have eggs in about 6 to 8 month. If you want eggs today, it is better to start with a layer...
But, here is the thing. Lately, there have been a lot of chicken diseases going around.
The least exposure to possible disease the birds you want to bring into your flock have, the better. just saying...

And yay for joining the daily chicken crew. You can get them from many angles LOL - oh, and steepshot lets you use up to 20 tags :)

nice to see you on steepshot nate!!!!! please keep it coming!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84