Daily chicken November 2

I'm sick today. Woke up with body aches and a fever. Ew. Who's idea is that? They need thumped on the noggin.

I did get up and let the girls out though and feed and water them. No digging or big projects though, which is a downer. Hope it doesn't ruin the whole weekend.

Koekoek and Soul Sister were especially sweet, taking their little dirt bath. The GSLs didn't seem to have any interest in such matters. Wonder if that's a "heritage vs hybrid" thing...

Anyways, here's today's girls!

IMG_20181102_180919807.jpg

Time spent with chickens, is better for the soul than chicken soup.

IMG_20181102_181006056.jpg

Koekoek, my sweet, was down to be petted while she took a dirt bath. Soul sister, not so much. She's kinda shy, and that's how I tell them apart.

The punks ate all my comfrey too. Well, not all of it. But all that was meant for them to eat. The small plants had their leaves beat down by recent rains, and then the chickens finished them off. It's okay though, I'm sure it'll grow back. It's comfrey. But I'm still glad they haven't eaten the really pretty comfrey plants in the south project. If their thrivng is any indication that our soil stuff is working, I think we're gonna be having some awesome planting next spring.

I think being sick has motivated me. I'm gonna go order some herb seeds. We need to make some progress.

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

@rawutah, any idea if chickens have a good bond with fungi? I remember some months ago finding mycelium right in exactly this spot on the surface of the soil.

Wonder if my chickens are permaculturing harder than I can currently understand...

ya know..i've never had chickens. i can't in my urban neighborhood. it's a huge gap..in my full circle of life here lol. i've kept rabbits though. now...i just grow worm poo...for my poo needs. just missing good eggs!!! :) @gardeningchannel keeps chickens...so he would be much better to ask that question.

Get you some chickens man! They're really the engine of my entire system right now, with all the compost they're constantly making. Really, they're the only part of this whole project that we've actually completed so far. Everything else is still a work in progress.

I tend to tell folks to get some birds whether they're legal or not lol. I discovered shortly after getting ours that they're illegal here, and I still have em. But that thug gangster geurilla life of illegal chickens ain't for everyone lol 😂

Feel better soon!

Thanks! Fever has broken, and I'm gonna be doing some light "work" today.

That's good! Stay hydrated

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71