Daily chicken October 1

bda36143-b843-404a-b213-3e226f0608d2.jpeg


Happy October everyone! 2018 is coming to a close.

I'm having some alone time with chickens, sweet tea, and mosquitoes.

It's an exciting time on the homestead. A few leaves are starting to fall, along with lots of acorns. The compost piles are building, and I've started pruning trees. I think the next hugel bed will be in the shape of an "E" to maximize ease of harvest.

Just some quick quiet time thoughts. Y'all have a good evening!


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

sir nateonsteemit! hey do you guys have mosquitoes very bad over there? Ever since we got here we've been amazed that there are almost never any of those dang things and I have no idea why.

They've really not been bad this year! The last month or so, the rain brought em out but comparably they've not been very bad.

sir nateonsteemit! well that's good, I was wondering if those chickens could make a difference, I just assume that chickens eat mosquitos?

I imagine they do, but I'm not sure to be honest. I'm about to put up some bat boxes to attract some bats to eat em up. Wife said I can't put em in our yard though. But she didn't say I can't put em in the easement. :)

sir nateonsteemit! haha..oh man really? that is a great idea I suppose, get them for the sole purpose of eating mosquitoes? well as long as they don't try to bite anyone, they probably don't do that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87