Daily chicken September 18

f47a39d3-9405-4b5b-8cee-6bebc2810726.jpeg

0031e3ed-40b0-4a20-8c58-3bb428d76db3.jpeg


This is Big Red. She's a Gold Sex Link chicken, or GSL.

Their breed from what I've read is a mix between a Rhode Island Red and a Rhode Island White. They're called sex links because their colors are linked to their sex. Males in this breed are lighter colored than females.

Big Red is our biggest GSL. She and Koekoek seem to spend time close to each other, being the two biggest of the half dozen chicks we bought. The second picture is of them on a little foray outside the run. As the smaller ones get less skittish, they'll be allowed out as well. Until then, I don't want them out and about because they may run off when I go to put them back in.

Today's comfrey count is ELEVEN. We had another one sprout overnight I guess, which is super exciting to me. It's cool to see things so vivdly and progressively paying off.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-18T15:29:54
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 32.50/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

My dad used to pick our rooster up and feed him hotdogs. Lol It was black and named Terminator and I was very afraid!

Posted using Partiko Android

Aaaaahahahha!

Did he ever chase you? I love the YouTube videos of chickens chasing kids!

Yeah man I tried throwing small rocks at it but that just pissed him off! So I ran and I ran... those were the days. Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

My buddy at work tells me stories about their chickens growing up. Talks about hand raising roosters to be awesome birds and harvesting and all kinds of cool stuff. Hope my kids can have similar stories when they grow up.

Chickens are a great part of my childhood. That evil rooster we had got its head chopped off by my aunt in the end. We gave her the bird and it tried to get her daughter. Shoot, my brother rode a headless Turkey when he was in middle school! Haha

Posted using Partiko Android

What! How'd he do that? Was it a giant monster turkey?

I think they were about 60 pounds after being dressed. My brother was a big middle schooler too. Blood got everywhere. Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

That's called an ostrich fam. WOW, a 60 pound turkey is massive! I bet there was a ton of blood hahaha

haha! howdy sir nateonsteemit! those dang chickens are looking better and better! lol. yeah don't let those guys escape, that would be terrible. great photos bytheway.

They are getting big!!! I lost one of my babies while I was gone. I am pretty sure it was a hawk...

Oh no!

Time to start shooting hawks? Ours seem to have gone elsewhere, as I haven't seen them in a few weeks.

They are safe as long as they stay in the enclosure. If they get out - they are on their own. I like hawks, they also get a lot of rodents - and they need to live too....

Indeed. I guess they're not really threatening your livelihood. They're kinda pretty to look at too.

I'd take it personal if a hawk got one of my beloved chicky-poos though. I'm getting pretty attached to them lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63202.55
ETH 3085.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85