Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 08/12/18> Now for my answers… and thank you for yours too.

in #dailydose6 years ago (edited)

Lots of questions...

I’ve been asking a lot of questions lately but I haven’t been giving very many answers of my own so I thought that today I would just go ahead and get to the story that prompted all those questions about your shopping habits done. It hasn’t been a week but there isn’t any need on waiting until the post has earned all it can earn, I think we have all the answers to the questions that we are going to get.

Should have been an E...

So, that daily dose was 08/08/18 and question number one my answer is all of the above, A,B,C, & D. I guess I should have put an “all of the above as “E” but hindsight is 20/20 and I guess I was just a little blind at the time I did the questions. I think that the different types of the items we shop for should make for a direct impact on what makes it important on choosing a place to shop.

Screwed it up again...

I also kind of screwed up question three as well. Who would ever think that I could screw up a question that only required a “Yes” or “No” answer, but I damn sure did, because some folks thought I was asking if they could identify the brands I was talking about in the second part, when actually I just wanted to know if you could associate the alligator or the beaver to the products, BBQ and gasoline, that each sold and not a specific brand name. So my bad on that as well, I trust that each could after I clarified it with a few of you.

Finally got it right...

That leaves question number 2.)”* What would be “the straw that broke the camel’s back” that would make you quit doing business with a business you like and enjoy shopping at or doing business with?*” This is the question I was most interested in and I explain shortly.

Notable answers...

There were some real good answers for this question #2, ” Don’t insult the customer is number one”, came from @cecicastor and I surely agree whole hardheartedly on that. Another person, @klynic responded with, ” Lack of excellence: I am sure this pretty much sums up everything bad the business can really do to me.” I can’t argue with that either, in fact I think excellence is very important. Excellence in not only how you treat your customers and employees but also your competitors as well.

Never another nickel...

So let me tell you about one of my formerly favorite places to stop at when I travel and just why it is that they will never get another nickel from me, period. I actually had done a daily dose on them earlier in my time here, I thought that highly of them, and it’s the only place I know that sells beaver nuggets, that place would be Buc- Ee’s.

Buc- Ee’s claim to fame is that they have plenty of gas pumps and plenty of clean commodes, and they don’t allow semi trucks and trailers so you won’t have to encounter any of those “truck driver” types of people. They also have a store that sells all kinds of overpriced stuff with their bucked toothed beaver logo on it and they do sell food.

One of the food items they sell is BBQ, it is nothing to write home about and that is why you would never expect to find it featured in the “Will Eat BBQ 4 U “ BBQ review that I do on the 15th of each month. Their BBQ just really isn’t any good in my opinion.

So this begs the question from you of, “just what did Buc- Ee’s do to piss you off so bad @sultnpapper?” I am so glad you asked.

It involves lawyers...

That daily dose from 08/08 also had some mentions of lawyers, well Buc- Ee’s has 33 locations and is doing quite well business wise so they have some lawyers on staff I would imagine or at least they can afford some. Lawyers for Buc- Ee’s filed suit against a small startup company that is a BBQ restaurant company, no if’s ands or buts’ about it. This company, Choke Canyon BBQ with two locations, has decided to open some of their restaurants in conjunction with some Exxon gas stations. The suit involves trademark infringement and the suit was filed in the federal court house in Houston, Texas.

Buc- Ee’s lawyers went after Choke Canyon, sued and won the lawsuit, the trial was held back in May. Let’s take a look at some of the evidence.

You be the judge and jury...

Buc –Ee’s trademark is obviously the circular one with the yellow background and the big bucked tooth beaver in the center. It makes no reference to any product or services.

Choke Canyon on the other hand says clearly the name of the company and BBQ. Yes, it is circular in shape and it also has a yellow background. But if a person has half a guzbucking brain there can be no confusing one company for the other and I would bet that a kid in first grade would be able to identify which logo belongs to Buc- Ee’s if they have travelled anywhere in this state in their short lifetime.

There are several things that are disturbing to me about the lawsuit and the outcome.

First, I find it to be a case of the all powerful Buc- Ee’s wanting to crush any competitor that even thinks about doing something as well as they do it. That is what this lawsuit was actually all about, the CEO of Choke Canyon had previously been quoted praising Buc- Ee’s on their business model of, gas , grub, and plenty of clean potties. These big service station / food places are known as travel plazas and the CEO of Choke Canyon said that Buc- Ee’s is the clear leader in the travel plaza industry in Texas but that he felt that Choke Canyon could also do well since this is a big state and there is plenty of room out along the freeways for more businesses like Buc- Ee’s.

Compliments scared the beaver...

Rather than take the compliment and continue on about being the leader of the pack the beaver got threatened by the existence of some competition and took Choke Canyon to court on the ridiculous premise of trademark infringement. I say “ridiculous” because that is how I see it, but a jury comprised of my fellow Texans didn’t see it the same way as I do.

The attorney for Choke Canyon, said in an interview after the trial that the entire jury panel knew of Buc- Ee’s and were fans of Buc- Ee’s and loved Buc- Ee’s. He said he knew it was going to be hard to convince the jury to find in favor of Choke Canyon based on the jurors selected but he couldn’t disqualify the entire jury panel. I have to agree with the attorney on this, I don’t know that you could find 12 jurors and 3 alternate jurors in this county who aren’t a fan a Buc- Ee’s or least know the logo and what Buc- Ee’s business is.

Very disappointed ...

I have to say I am extremely disappointed in my fellow Texans who made up the jury on this case. Jurors take an oath to listen to the evidence and base their decision based on the evidence and the law that the case is being tried under. I wasn’t at the trial but the attorney for Choke Canyon says that Buc- Ee’s lawyers could produce no evidence that confusion about the two logos had ever occurred in the market. A survey found that 99% of 300 people surveyed by a defense expert witness said that those surveyed were not confused between the two brands.

The jury themselves should have known no confusion exists, they themselves had no trouble knowing Buc- Ee’s as they are fans and customers. The main thing in a trademark infringement lawsuit is that the logos are created in such a way as to cause confusion in the market due to similarities, no confusion exists here. Yes, there are similarities like both are round and have yellow background, feature a cartoon styled animal but there are several other logos that are round and yellow. I am sure there are other logos that feature some type of animal as well in a cartoon form.

If anyone it should be Izod...

If any company should have a beef with Choke Canyon it might be Izod, since they have a gator and sell clothes, Choke Canyon does sell shirts from what I have seen from being inside their place on Blanco Road in San Antonio. It appears to me that brand loyalty ruled the day in that court room and not rule of law. That isn’t supposed to happen in a court of law, but the suit was in federal court so that might explain something right there.

It ain't over 'til it's over...

Choke Canyon is going to appeal the verdict but the lawyers for Choke Canyon should have been smart enough to know they couldn’t get a fair trial in Texas knowing just how well Buc- Ee’s is loved here. They should have moved for a change in venue and asked for the trial to be in Louisiana or Mississippi where alligators are popular and loved and beavers are hated because all they do is chew down trees and block up water ways with their beaver dens.

Excuse me your honor...

Now, as you can tell, Buc- Ee’s has seen the last of me, unless I get called for jury duty and end up in the same court room as them. But even if I ended up in the court room I would not end up on the jury, because I know that if a juror can’t set aside what they know about a case or if they have a bias for one party or the other they need to let the judge know and be excused from the jury pool and I would do that, it is too bad and so sad that others evidently can’t either be honest with themselves or honest with the court.

Guzbuck the beaver...

Buc- Ee’s made it where I will never give them another nickel as I have stated. They sure as hell have insulted me with this lawsuit and definitely have shown a lack of excellence, two very good reasons as given by you the readers on when to give a company the boot up the rear end. Guzbuck the beaver!
Until next time,
@sultnpapper

All photos are the property of @sultnpapper.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 225 (8/13/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Similar Logos? They are both 2 dimensional and use primary colors to go with the previously mentioned round with yellow background. Uggghhhh.

I couldn't say that I'll never go to Beaverville, as I occasionally get into 'see gas-buy gas" mode on the motorcycle. But I'll remember and the next time I'm in Texas I'll look out for them.

I get to rate 'travel plazas' and gas stations more often than most as I only carry about 6 gallons and need to stop for gas at least every 200 miles. I very rarely (like not once on this last 6 week trip) eat at a restaurant in one of those places. I do eat from the 'hot case' from time to time. A good corn dog tends to endear me as much as anything.

The best one I found this trip was in Castle Dale, Utah. A Maverick station that was open and had coffee at 0500 when I was in desperate need. They had a meat filled pastry in the case, I chose 'sausage' and walked back to my motel room with both. It was so outstanding I stopped and had another about an hour later as I got on the road.

The old adage about 'don't trust the coffee in Utah' pretty much held true, but I expected that. Castle Dale is a little mining town that had a big Mine Disaster in the 80s and a really attractive monument to the 28 people that lost their lives there. It's on the courthouse lawn.

Anyway, it's a clear cut case of the 'big dog' trying to use it's clout to eliminate the competition. I just never like that. Last time the Olympics was in the US the committee decided to sue everybody that used 'Olympic or Olympics' in their name. Somebody didn't do much homework because they ended up filing over a thousand suits in Washington where the Olympic Peninsula, Olympic Mountains and Olympic National Park reside. One company, Olympic Paint (a relatively large regional paint and stain mfg) had a little fun with it, pointing out in their ads that the company was in business before the modern Olympics started in 1896. That suit didn't go far there, needless to say.

But the fact that they even tried it really pissed me off.

Thanks. I'm glad you gave us an 'splainen. I didn't see that coming.

I can see how being on a bike would more than double your travel stop experiences since I get a little over 400 miles out of a tank and since I travel my area regularly it won't be any trouble for me to make sure they never get another nickel from me.
It sure appears to me the "big dog" doesn't want any pups growing up and challenging them to be the leader of the pack. As far as I am concerned the big dog now has rabies and I am steering well clear of them.
Was that meat filled pastry called a "kolache", those are really good, especially the ham and cheese ones.
The Olympics and their law suits reminds me a lot of the NFL and suing people over the use a the name Super Bowl in sales advertising, they even gave the local food pantry in Houston some static over their use of "Souper Bowl" in their campaign to get people to donate cans of soup.
Since I wasn't on the jury and couldn't vote on this suit, I will just vote with my wallet and you can damn sure bet that Choke Canyon will get more of my votes in the future.

This sounds like a case where "the fix was in"! I don't see how in the world it is an infringement of any kind. I'm glad to hear you are boycotting (guzbucking) them. I had a bad experience with a small store that I used to frequent a lot and stopped going almost 10 years ago over bad customer service. I saw how they were treating customers and even employees and could no longer give them my business even though it inconvenienced me to go elsewhere. Btw..you have a slight misspelling in @cecicastor 's name. Take care and enjoy your Sunday!! xoxo

Thanks for the catch on the name, I have fixed it now, and sorry @cecicastor, I was tired and steamed as I wrote this daily dose.
I don't know that a person could say "the fix was in" but it seems that the people of Texas that were on that jury must have been hypnotized or something to rule the way they did. I had been a big fan and supporter of the Beaver but I also can see that this was just fear of competition and nothing more.
My boycotting of them is just my way of expressing my disappointment with their decision to file suit and for the jury decision.

You're welcome and I do that quite frequently myself. I agree that it was done out of fear of competition and didn't mean to infer anything else. I'm going to bed now! :)

Sleep tight, sweet dreams.

I can't believe that Buc-EE's won that cast! Wow. Stacked jury much? I would definitely challenge this one and would want of change of venue. They wouldn't be getting a dime from me. Think of the money they spent to take the little guy out? Petty if you ask me.

The good news, if there is any in this, is that the appeal will be tried in the U. S. Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals in New Orleans, Louisiana which is an area that is more gator friendly than beaver friendly for sure.
I am certain there are people over there that have seen and heard of the Beaver but I know that they will be able to at least find enough to fill a jury that hasn't heard of them and in love with them.

Big Corp taking out the little guy. Welcome to America land of opportunity for the wealthy.
Very petty.

I will remember this and will not shop at the beaver should they expand to my area.

Shop local buy from people in your community stop approving permits for these Corp to come to town and kill your town so you call all be slave employees.

Don't even get me started!

The Beaver is a family run corporation but gigantic in comparison to the Gator. I think the thought of real competition scared them and the law suit is a panic reaction. Pushing the panic button just sent me over the top though and I hope others as well. There is nothing wrong with good clean competition in the market place and it is definitely needed in order to keep people honest.
Thanks for stopping back by here, very much appreciated.
I didn't realize you are friends with @cecicastor , why did you not mention that? She is a real special lady and a favorite of mine here on steemit. If she sent you by here I need to thank her for sure.

Sorry, I'm still learning my way around. She is a favorite of mine as well. If she resteemed a post or you commented on one of hers that might be how I found you. But I don't remember 😌

The big guys do the same to the little guys here in SA, as if they're not making enough money! There really is no justice in this particular case!

I agree and it just might be that the Beaver has leveraged themselves pretty good with opening so many locations so quickly and now some panic might be setting in, knowing that competition is eyeing them.
The Beaver isn't a mega-corporation company but a wealthy family run outfit that is used to being the king of the hill so to speak.

Frivolous lawsuit on Buc-Ee's part, that is wasting taxpayer dollars. 😠

Yes it seemed frivolous to me as well, but the jury saw it differently which is extremely disappointing me. It will be interesting to see how the appeal goes since that will be tried in another state that has no Buc-Ee's .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10