Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 10/06/18> I have some “es plaining” to do… plus SBI Saturday

in #dailydose6 years ago

Most of the week...

Seeing how I spent most of the week along the Texas / Mexico border I kind of got that Mexican lingo working right now. For those of you who might not recognize “es plaining” it is simply "explaining", with my best Mexican impersonation. So I do really have some explaining to do and we are giving away some SBI shares today so hang in there while I get the explaining out of the way.

First let me say...

First let me say “thank you” to all of you who congratulated me both on my poker win Thursday night and the awesome Curie upVote that the Friday Daily Dose received. I have to tell you, that Curie was very much unexpected for sure. The fact is that Curie has some pretty high standards that they hold too and that Daily Dose from Friday was right on the edge of the line of crossing those standards.

Normally you won’t find words like damn or the mention of being pissed, as in pissed off, in a post that Curie places their stamp of approval on in the form of an upVote, but those were in that edition. The other thing you won’t find Curie touching is political stuff.

I would have...

I would have to think that my criticism of the border patrol agents and their immigration check point and also bad mouthing the Johnny Law,( aka: the sheriff) would have to be considered political. If not political, it was at least anti-government. I intended it to be that way in case it didn’t come across as such.

I also ragged...

I also ragged the public education system here in the USA. When you start adding all those things up and looking at them it makes you wonder if the folks at Curie haven’t lowered their standards. That would really be great for folks like me; I crank out stuff just like the Friday edition of the Daily Dose on a pretty regular basis. Could there be several more Curie upVotes coming my way in the not too distant future?

I know what it takes...

So now let me get that “es plaining” out of the way. I know what it takes to get Curie upVotes, this latest one makes my seventh if I remember correctly. The thing with Curie, at least for me, has been BBQ. Good old slow smoked Texas BBQ has gotten me three of those upVotes, the other thing they must be into over there is NAKED men, or at least stories about naked men at church.

The truth is...

The truth is that the Friday edition of the Daily Dose didn’t win that Curie upVote. So for those of you who were scratching your head about how did that piece of crap Daily Dose win a Curie, you were not alone, I was scratching my head as well.

The truth of the matter is that a Curie curator submitted my Daily Dose from 10/02/18 which was the story of the naked man at church. The Curie curators approved that post for a Curie upVote and placed in their spot where all approved submissions go and wait for whom ever actually applies the vote to upVote it.

Still sitting there...

That Daily Dose is still sitting there waiting to be upVoted. I only know this because on Friday morning I went over to the Curie discord channel and thanked them for the upVote and asked if they might be able to give me the name of their curator who submitted my post. I can’t remember who it was that actually replied to my question but they replied with a link to a sight that has all the information on who submitted it and it also shows just how much percentage of upVote the post received.

Surprise, surprise...

So, I went and looked and you can’t imagine how surprised I was to see that the post that was approved was the naked man at the church story and not Friday’s Daily Dose. So “thank you” to @buttcoins for submitting that story, and my thanks again for the Curie curator community for approving it as well. Now if they will just upVote it I will be really sitting in high cotton this week. You can take a look for yourself, here is the link. You will have to scroll back a page or maybe more but you will see it.

Speaking of high...

Speaking of high cotton, I don’t normally mention stuff about agriculture but I can tell you that this cotton season in south Texas has produced what is known as a “bumper crop”. There are round bales lined up all along the cotton fields all the way down US Hwy. 59 and Hwy.77, more than I have ever seen it my lifetime. So there shouldn’t be any shortage of cotton underwear this winter and next spring.

One last thing...

One last thing and we will get on with the SBI give away. As most of you know, if you actually read paragraph two and didn’t just skip down here to be close to the SBI give away part, I did win the poker game over at the Steem Poker League Thursday night and when I announced that win I said nobody cares who finishes second. Then I kind of went back on that statement and did mention the second place finisher which was @missypurple. Well the second place finisher in the Friday night game was one of my team mates from back when the league was having the Team Up series event, his name is Loquedog21 and I think he might also go by the name @gamesandcrypto.

You read that right...

We really could have used that first and second place finish we had had last night back when the Team Up series was going on the Friday night poker games. You read that right, first and second place, which makes back to back wins for this old man.

Except when I...

One thing I have noticed is that it seems that they always have pictures of the tournament the next day in the @spl write ups and almost always showing the winning hand, except when I win. I wonder if there will be a picture today of my winning hand, there wasn’t one on Friday, but don’t take that as complaining by me, just an observation. Friday night’s win got me slightly over seven SBD and I damn near have given it all away already and I have even named this week’s winners of the SBI shares.

SBI Saturday is now...

So let’s do that now. @thekittygirl is number one, she celebrated her one year anniversary here on steemit recently and she does a hell of lot for all the communities she is involved with and I have had the pleasure of knowing her on here since her very first day. If you don’t know her and if you know of her but aren’t following her you are missing some great posts, so go check her out.

I'll kiss your ass...

Second on the list this week is @janton, this guy has a way of getting me to write things that really shouldn’t be written about myself. Just this week our little back and forth in the comments of one of the Daily Doses had me ending up telling the story of how I lost a bet years and years ago to a really good looking cow girl who actually could piss over the hood of a Ford pickup truck. If you want to know that whole story you will just have to find that on your own.

I owe her...

Last but not least is @mattifer, I owe her a post over on WeKu that I have promised to do and I just haven’t gotten around to yet. She is a hell of lot better at grammar than I am and she has taken me task a couple times on word usage. So, it is kind of refreshing that we actually agree on what name people should use to identify with over on WeKu. She and I have decided that going forward the term for WeKu users will be WeKuzees. It is a hell of lot better sounding than some of the names I have been seeing around there like Wekuians and WeKuists. Wekuzees just has a good sound to it and it is easy to say and type, so if you are on WeKu feel free, no don’t feel free, just use the damn term and let’s get it accepted over there. WeKuzees. WeKuzees. Say it with me, WeKuzees.

Just like always...

Just like always, all people mentioned in the Saturday edition will receive a share of SBI, not just those who are featured.
Okay friends, that wraps it up for this SBI Saturday edition of the Daily Dose, I’ve done enough “es plaining’ for one day.
Until next time,
@sultnpapper

Photo Credit: All photos are the property of @sultnpapper

Lunch on Friday was at Mustang Creek BBQ, it is fast becoming where the truck just pulls in there automatically.

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Well, hell. I learn something every day. I didn't realize that 'splainen was really two words. I'll write it es plaining from now on. Wouldn't want to slaughter a language that is so prevalent around here....

Oh, I knew that John Law wasn't your friend, I was just giving you a little goose to see what happens :) Those super plain vehicles just irritate me. State of Arizona has 'E cars' on the freeways at least. They are rolling along about 5 over in their Ford Explorers that don't have a single mark on them but the license plate and an antenna cluster near the rear. They aren't just IDing speeders for the waiting wolf pack, they are checking ownership and registrations for EVERY CAR THEY SEE going both ways.

Looks to me like the cotton crop was pretty good in this part of the world this year too. I judge from a gin that I drive by routinely and how many bales are in the 'holding pens'. I'm going to go by today and see if any of the 'auxiliary lots' have water damage. They grade those things just level and we had enough rain for there to be some rouge water.

So we get down to the congratulations point. I reckon three. 1 the poker tourney. Back to back is seriously cool. 2. The cow girl clearing the hood of a pickup. I've heard of that, and from trusted sources, but I've never been a witness or judge. Congratulations for doing something most never get to see. 3. The SBI giveaway. That is just so cool, I really appreciate that you do it every week.

That is about it from here. Sam and I are going with our friend Erv (Sam's co dad) to check out some canyons and back country to see how much the rain changed things. The weather has cooled enough that we can spend a few hours at it. I'm excited and Sam will be out of his mind with miles of fresh dirt to sniff.

Thanks Big Tom, I hope the adventure is a safe one for you, Sam, and Erv. Maybe the rains will have unearthed some old hidden gold from a stage coach robbery that had been hidden by the robbers.
Last year the cotton crop took a real beating with the hurricane a lot that had been harvested ended up ruined by flowing water tearing the plastic off of the round bales and the bales just dissolved. What hadn't been harvested end up falling off the plants from the pounding rain and high winds and ended up in the dirt, which might explain why the crop was so good this year, plenty of seed in the fields plus the seed that was planted.
It will be a day of rest for me and I guess I need to check what time the poker game is today and see if I can't pull off the hat trick, that would really be something if I could do that.

Well, the adventure was fun. We didn't go past the Gin (as it turns out, we should have) but they were ginning this morning by the time we got near enough to see. Looked like a local fog before sun up, but it was just cotton dust:)

I don't think anybody got caught with their cotton in the field, but maybe a few did. They are supposed to be finished with picking here by the 15th of October. A lot of the equipment is rented so the cotton association makes everybody in the same area be ready at the same time. The trucks that handle those bales and other stuff. Anyway, they start south and east of here and want to be done in Yuma County by October 15 then move on to Maricopa and Pinal Counties (Phoenix and Tucson) Those guys could have gotten hammered.

We have a cotton gin museum in Burton, Texas not far from Brenham and the Blue Bell Ice Cream place, I need to do a Daily Dose some day on that place so people can see just what cotton ginning is all about. Thanks for making me think of that, I will put it on my to do list.

Your posts always make me smile :D I LOVE the way you write......so no more talking about how you can not cuz you CAN and DO write a fine tale for all fo us to read every day!!

Thank YOU for that!!

Writers create stories in my book of thinking, I don't create this stuff, I am just an old man telling stories over a cup of coffee at the kitchen table, minus the coffee and table of course. You are more than welcome to call it writing, to me it just doesn't seem like it.

Thank you, kindly, for the SBI and for those wonderfully sweet things you said about me! You're pretty darned awesome, yourself! 😊

You are most welcome and those things are very easy to say because every one of them are true. Thank you as well.

Congratulations on the @curie upvote mr Papper, feels like winning the lottery not so ;)
I thoroughly enjoyed that daily dose so it was well deserved, I think you gave all your followers a good chuckle :):) Nice ending the week on such a high note!
@buttcoins sent me to your page way back when you were speaking of our friend @simplylizelle, eagle eyed indeed!

Thank you Lizelle, the only thing better would be winning the lottery and I have a ticket too. The jackpot is $405 million so I need to check my numbers in the morning.

Now if you win that lottery, remember I'm your friend ;);)

I was really glad seeing that you got such attention.
But now,since you explain it
..it kills it, because, it makes me think of politics& lobbying kind of thing ..
It takes away the innocence you use to write with... 'will see..
At least we know you got a pimp..:)
Posted using Partiko Android

I am not changing my writing or my topics just to try and get an upVote from them. I will continue to do things my way. It just so happens that they like the style and content that the BBQ post seem to have. I will continue to blast all the things I have blasted before and even some more I am sure. Thanks man.

I upvoted your post.

Best regards,
@Council

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

I like how you are putting more images in your posts now, it really takes them to another level. I remember congratulating you for winning your game but I just realized that I have failed to congratulate you for the curie upvote. CONGRATULATIONS! The story about that "wrong" post being upvoted is adorable :)

Well thank for the compliment and the congratulations. I wonder how often that ends up happening, I would have to think that is pretty rare seeing how efficient those folks are usually.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 14 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 148 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06